Customer Reviews for

A Sunless Sea (William Monk Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of her best!

After 17 books, I didn't expect the series to have new and fresh character development. I was pleasantly surprised by the way in which the characters' relationships deepened and set the stage for the next book in the series. The story line is a well-developed, twistin...
After 17 books, I didn't expect the series to have new and fresh character development. I was pleasantly surprised by the way in which the characters' relationships deepened and set the stage for the next book in the series. The story line is a well-developed, twisting story that includes historical settings to better understand England during this time period.

posted by JakesMomWI on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I was very excited to find two new William Monk books, but I was

I was very excited to find two new William Monk books, but I was disappointed in this book. Unfortunately Anne Perry is following the same fashion with William Monk as with Thomas Pitt ... political conspiracies. Although heavy on long winded details, I did learn more a...
I was very excited to find two new William Monk books, but I was disappointed in this book. Unfortunately Anne Perry is following the same fashion with William Monk as with Thomas Pitt ... political conspiracies. Although heavy on long winded details, I did learn more about the Opium Wars. Please return to the old formula … solving crimes across the spectrum of society, and utilize the skills of Hester, William and Oliver.

posted by Mackie77 on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of her best!

    After 17 books, I didn't expect the series to have new and fresh character development. I was pleasantly surprised by the way in which the characters' relationships deepened and set the stage for the next book in the series. The story line is a well-developed, twisting story that includes historical settings to better understand England during this time period.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    I was very excited to find two new William Monk books, but I was

    I was very excited to find two new William Monk books, but I was disappointed in this book. Unfortunately Anne Perry is following the same fashion with William Monk as with Thomas Pitt ... political conspiracies. Although heavy on long winded details, I did learn more about the Opium Wars. Please return to the old formula … solving crimes across the spectrum of society, and utilize the skills of Hester, William and Oliver.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Seems a bit hurried

    First, let me say that Anne Perry is one of a small handful of authors whose works I purchase in hardcover. I've read all of her Monk books and all of the Pitt books. This one seems to have been rushed, particularly toward the end. Still, the usual cast of interesting characters is in the mix, and her descriptions of settings and period details are top-notch. I'd have liked to have more of Scuff, but I understand that it's not likely he'd have been involved in this plot involving opium. (But he seems to be sleeping all the time!) The marital difficulties of the fascinating Rathbone build suspense nicely, and the historical details of the Opium Wars and ready availability of the drug were intriguing. I do wonder about things like the possibility of "tire" marks in the park -- not likely in this era. Also, when Miss Nesbitt testifies, Perry doesn't have her leave the witness stand, usually an opportunity for her to do her usual virtuoso descriptive characterizations of the exit of the witness. Still, it is an admirable book and I look forward to Monk and Hester's next outing. I confess that I am a picky reader, and Perry is one of the few authors whose works I trust to hold my interest and leave me having learned something during what is always a pleasurable read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    As always a GREAT READ!

    Anne Perry again does not disappoint. I have read all of Annes books. I can hardly wait until the next one comes out. Monk and Hester always work out the answer with limited resources. The history Anne adds to her books is phenomenal. I feel the description of the life and times in the world throughout the book makes you feel like you are a part of the sounds, smells, and even to the air you breathe during the reading of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    ?

    And yet again, we have harriet klausner ruining a book by revealing the entire book in her long winded dissertations. Hk, read other reviews and maybe you can learn how to write reviews. You DO NOT reveal every nuance of the book, you state if you like it or not and why.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Can't lend

    Shame on the publisher for not allowing lending. I enjoy Anne Perry but am feeling ripped off for having to buy this twice for my mom and me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great as usual

    Anne Perry is one of my favorite writers. I couldn't stop until I knew who had done the murders! I hope that there are many more William Monk books in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    As usual Anne Perry does an outstanding job. Love the interaction among her characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    The best

    I love the Monk series. This one is the best one i have read as you do not know who the killer is until the last pages. Anne Perry has become one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    REcommended

    After a few so, so novels, William Monk is back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Another great read from this author! I always enjoy the intrigu

    Another great read from this author! I always enjoy the intrigue and do not want to stop reading until I find out "who did it"!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    RECOMMEND

    I have been a long time fan of Anne Perry's work. Although not so much the WWI series. I think once you get to know the characters, you may want to see how they develop. She does a great job in exploring the issues of those times, as well as character development. I've been "hooked" on her work for years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great historical military thriller

    In 1917 in the trenches is France, thousands die to move the front inches. Passchendael is one of the worst of the hostilities as the British troops are losing lives and consequently hope. When their Commanding Officer dies, Major Northrup is called in to replace him, but it is the belief of the troops that he should not be in charge of such an ugly situation as he has no combat experience. He proves them right with bad decisions which lead to deaths and maiming of his soldiers as he rejects the advice of his experienced subordinate officers.------------- When Northrup is found dead, Chaplain Captain Joseph Reavley discovers that he was murdered by one of his own. The Major¿s father General Northrup demands justice while the captain wants to low key the mess knowing that internal violence could erupt if not carefully handled as everyone detested the deceased. However the general sets in motion events that could lead to eleven honorable soldiers shot by a firing squad and a mutiny on the line beyond that unless Joseph can find a legal way to find justice. and avert a tragedy tragedy.--------------- This is the third installment in Anne Perry¿s insightful WWI series in which the audience obtains a strong history lesson inside an exciting military whodunit. Readers will see the atrocities and horrors of trench warfare in which leaders sent men to their deaths to gain a few inches of land when the goal was as often successful as it was a suicidal stalemate. Good men were forced to do difficult things by a brass often comfortably entrenched in Paris, London, or Berlin while their soldiers were dying AT SOME DISPUTED BARRICADE.----------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2