Customer Reviews for

A Sweethaven Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

What a treat this story was! At first I wasn't sure I would like

What a treat this story was! At first I wasn't sure I would like this story because it sounded like it could be a bit of a downer, but wow, was I surprised at how much I loved it in the end. I wanted to read this novel every chance I could. I thought about the story eve...
What a treat this story was! At first I wasn't sure I would like this story because it sounded like it could be a bit of a downer, but wow, was I surprised at how much I loved it in the end. I wanted to read this novel every chance I could. I thought about the story even when I wasn't able to sit down, relax, and enjoy it. That's a good book...one that preoccupies my thoughts.

I loved how romantic it was on so many levels. Though each character had their own grief to deal with, it wasn't only about their pain. It was about how God uses the unexpected things in our lives to bless us. He took someone like Campbell, who felt alone in the world, and gave her a new family through new friendships and people who also tied her to her mother's history. I loved how the book ended. I totally adored Luke. I didn't want his heart broken any more than his momma did. Man, I adored that man. He was a great hero and I could see how even the hardest of hearts could melt under the warmth in his eyes.

The author did a fantastic job at making me care. She made each character seem like a friend, or at least someone I could easily know. Their happiness and their healing became a primary concern for me as the book veered toward a conclusion. Everything about this book was awesome. It even had a bit of mystery to it when it came to figuring out who her father really was. Great story! It's making my top fiction list for 2012.

posted by MichelleSutton on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick read

Good short story, liked characters

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a treat this story was! At first I wasn't sure I would like

    What a treat this story was! At first I wasn't sure I would like this story because it sounded like it could be a bit of a downer, but wow, was I surprised at how much I loved it in the end. I wanted to read this novel every chance I could. I thought about the story even when I wasn't able to sit down, relax, and enjoy it. That's a good book...one that preoccupies my thoughts.

    I loved how romantic it was on so many levels. Though each character had their own grief to deal with, it wasn't only about their pain. It was about how God uses the unexpected things in our lives to bless us. He took someone like Campbell, who felt alone in the world, and gave her a new family through new friendships and people who also tied her to her mother's history. I loved how the book ended. I totally adored Luke. I didn't want his heart broken any more than his momma did. Man, I adored that man. He was a great hero and I could see how even the hardest of hearts could melt under the warmth in his eyes.

    The author did a fantastic job at making me care. She made each character seem like a friend, or at least someone I could easily know. Their happiness and their healing became a primary concern for me as the book veered toward a conclusion. Everything about this book was awesome. It even had a bit of mystery to it when it came to figuring out who her father really was. Great story! It's making my top fiction list for 2012.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Lovely book

    I became really involved with these characters! I hated for the book to end and when it did I went looking for more books by this author! To the author if you read this review can we have a sequel? I would really like to return to Sweethaven :)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

    Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Mary from the UK

    This is a wonderful, heartfelt story which moved me to tears. Well written with genuine characters and an insight into love and friendship. We Brits haven't quite caught onto scrap booking but my next visit to the US might find me exploring this art. An inspirational debut book. Highly recommended.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Question

    Is this good for younger viewers?

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Loved the Story its Real

    This story kind of hit home for me in many ways. I really enjoyed this book and never saw coming what came. It was great. Take the time to read it and cherish every moment you have with the ones you love. This book reminds you of that, you never know what tomorrow brings. Thanks for the great story;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Someday this book will be a MOVIE!!!

    I just finished the book in less than 24 hours and I have NEVER done that before. I loved it. No, I love it. It will be a movie I know it.. After finishing this book, I had the same hopeful, wholesome, feel good feelings like I had after watching the movies, "Julie&Julia" "The Notebook" or "Steel Magnolia's" or after watching the NBC television show called Parenthood, or like my old favorites, Gilmore Girls, Party Of Five, even a great show from years ago called Providence, or even the show 7th Heaven… Just good ol' good...something this world needs more of! "A Sweethaven Summer" not only reminded me of the “feelings” these shows left me but more importantly, made me want to start scrap booking again, but not just by myself, but together with friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I want to live in Sweethaven!

    In A Sweethaven Summer, Courtney Walsh has created a town I want to live in. From the first chapter, the characters became my friends, jumping off the page and into my heart. I didn't want it to end. A masterful word painting, A Sweethaven Summer is a story of loss, regret, forgiveness, and restoration. Novel Rocket and I give it our highest recommendation. It's a 5-star must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very Sweet! Sometimes reality is a hard thing to face, but havi

    Very Sweet!

    Sometimes reality is a hard thing to face, but having friends to help see you through it will always help to make it easier. I enjoyed the story and the characters and hated for it to end. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Loved this book

    Wow is all I can say, I can't wait to read the rest of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    The Book

    His book is so sad! But it has a good ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great book!

    What an awesome debut book by this author!!! Loved the story and anxious for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Sweethaven summer

    This book was great,i cant wait to read thw rest of her books,i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    A Sweetheaven fan

    This was a great book!!! I loved everything about this book, storyline, characters, and etc. It really drawed me in & i never wanted to put it down. Even when i wasn't reading it, i was still thinking about it! Usually when i read a book, it usually takes me a little while to finish it but not this one...i finished faster than any book i had ever read in my life!!! I just finished reading the next book, A Sweetheaven homecoming & it is just as good!!! Now getting ready to read the next one, A Sweetheaven Christmas!! I hope to see more from this author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    WONDERFUL BOOK

    Well developed characters in an easy to read format. I love her writing style. I hope she writes many more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    What a great book!  I love to scrapbook my family's memories so

    What a great book!  I love to scrapbook my family's memories so when I saw this book that really shows the real meaning behind scrapbooks and how important they can be for future generations, I couldn't wait to read it!  And it was the perfect bonus that I was drawn in and felt like I was a part of the circle of friends!  Can't wait to see what's next for these amazing characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Agsshd

    Andy is aswome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Captivating, easy read

    The story draws you interest immediately. This is a sweet story of how people grow up, apart but remain a part of each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great Read

    Loved this book and all of the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Wonderful story with a believable cast of characters.

    Wonderful story with a believable cast of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4