Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Biddies (League of Literary Ladies Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dollycas┬┐s Thoughts Kylie Logan creates such vibrant characte



    Dollycas’s Thoughts

    Kylie Logan creates such vibrant characters. These Literary Ladies started out as sworn enemies and quickly became friends when forced to spend time together in a book club. They don’t see eye to eye on everything but are learning to accept each other quirks or in Chandra’s case, her cats annoying behavior. They are spending more and more time together and again they find themselves right in the middle of another police investigation.

    It has been quite a few years since I had read A Tale of Two Cities but Chandra’s brief little synopsis brought back my memory quickly. It will also help those who have never read the Dicken’s tale.

    The Bastille Day celebration was quite an event that bought a very interesting group of characters to town. From a group of Charles Dickens impersonators to an old rock band and their groupies. A rock band with their own guillotine no less.

    Logan again has written a captivating mystery with plenty of suspects and diversions. There are nods to Dicken’s original story and the perfect balance of humor. Bea is still hiding something that is holding her back from a romantic relationship with Levi. He says he knows she is isn’t telling the truth about why she came to town and opened the Bea & Bee. Every time I though we were going to get another piece to her past they were always interrupted. I am looking forward to this whole subplot playing out over the series.

    I wonder what classic the League of Literary Ladies will choose for their next book blub read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    March 20 ,2014

    Cats shows are funny LOL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Great second installment in a really good series!!  Can't wait t

    Great second installment in a really good series!!  Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Kylie Logan brings readers the second book in her League of Lite

    Kylie Logan brings readers the second book in her League of Literary Ladies series, A Tale of Two Biddies. Sentenced by a local judge to spend time together may not have been the best way to start a book club, but these ladies are anything but traditional. Logan takes classic literature to a whole new level with this series. Readers who are familiar with Dickens will love this nod to the literary giant. "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times..."

    What I liked:

    I have always been a fan of the classics and Kylie Logan's, League of Literary Ladies indulges my appetite for all things bookish. Dickens has always been a favorite of mine from reading Great Expectations to Oliver Twist, there was just something that drew me. I liked the fact that Logan uses the work of Dickens in this book. A Tale of Two Cities is an excellent book and paying homage to Dickens is great way to draw in readers who love the classic tales, as well as cozy enthusiasts.

    Kylie Logan has a way with characters. She knows how to write four totally different women, who have different beliefs, ideas and even occupations and make them mesh. I loved the fact that in the beginning of the series, they fought like cats and dogs. They just couldn't seem to find any common ground and now they sleuth like a well oiled machine. This may be only the second book in the series, but the cohesiveness of the Literary Ladies is jelling very well. They remind of the women from the movie, Sweet Magnolias, with Sally Field and Shirley McClain. They fight but in the end they truly love each other.

    This mystery had everything from a guillotine to a poisoning. There was a lot going on during the Bastille Day celebration this year. I really wasn't quite sure how this murder in this one was going to take place, there were several possibilities, and the poisoning was a bit of a surprise. I didn't think of that until it actually happened. I also had a hard time trying to decide which of the many suspects had a concrete motive for murder. The handyman was anything but handy and the plethora of suspects had me turning in circles. Logan can a write and twisty turny novel to be sure. I loved all the back and forth that it caused for me. It could be this one, no it has to be this, but maybe it was that one. LOL!

    What I didn't like:

    I actually really liked this one. There wasn't much to complain about on my part. It was a genuinely entertaining book and I can't wait to read the next one. 

    Bottom Line:

    If you are looking for a cozy series with an interesting theme. This is it. The classics tie in well with cozies and Logan makes it look easy. There is a lot of potential for nods some other great classic writers and I can't wait to see how Logan can tie them all to murder!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    A Tale Of Two Biddies is the second book in the League of Litera

    A Tale Of Two Biddies is the second book in the League of Literary Ladies Mystery series.

    I must say that I enjoyed this book more than the first.

    Port-in-Bay is busy readying itself for the celebration of Bastille Day. Bea Cartwright, owner of Bea's B&B couldn't be more pleased with her business. The local business people are having a little picnic near the pier at DeRivera Park, a couple days before the big celebration begins. Shortly after the passenger ferry from the mainland ties up, a fifties year old, Richie ends up in Lake Erie. He claims he was pushed, but no saw what happened. Arriving from the mainland is the musical group Guillotine, a past their prime band and a bunch of groupies out of the 1980's. The band has also brought a guillotine which is sitting prominently on the B&B's porch. Dino, the head of the band, says that the guillotine is perfectly safe and demonstrates that it is. But later at Levi's bar, the Guillotine's are giving a pre concert show for the locals, when three men jump up and put a watermelon in the guillotine and it severs it in half. Then a short time later Bea notices Richie and he his not responding to her calls. Richie is dead and it is learned that he had been poisoned. Richie wasn't the handiest of handymen and had caused a man to lose his business, when a house blew up when Richie forgot to turn off the gas. So there is the man who lost his business and, of course, the house owner too that become persons of interest in the poisoning. So the Literary Ladies are busy trying to find out who might have wanted Richie dead, to actually make it happen.

    Another event at the Bastille Day celebration is the Charles Dickens impersonator contest. Six people have entered the contest to see who does the best job of portraying Dickens. It just so happens that League is reading The Tale of Two Cities this month.

    Once again Logan has provided the reader with an interesting cast of characters. The characters from the first book are back to provide the reader with their enjoyable banter. The DeLarge sister are real treat too. Up in years, they enjoy heckling each other.

    An enjoyable read and will be watching for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    I felt echoes of Murder She Wrote when I started reading this bo

    I felt echoes of Murder She Wrote when I started reading this book. I used to watch the show faithfully and I love it that our sleuths are aged like fine wine, sporting gray hairs and a few well earned wrinkles.

    Bea and the women of The League of Literary Ladies helped to solve a murder on Put-in-Bay some months ago and were hoping to just talk books and enjoy the celebration of Bastille Day.

    But more is cooking than just some rockin and rollin and a Dicken’s Impersonator contest.

    One of the locals is murdered and it’s time for these ladies to stick their noses in other people’s business and get it solved before more end up dead.

    You expect and get a lot of colorful characters on the island. They move at their own pace and have their own way of doing things.

    I live in a small town filled with artists and authors and we get a lot of tourists to our lovely community. It felt familiar on Put-in-Bay.

    Having this story take place on an island is a great idea. It makes for a lot of fun reading how these ladies know about the skeletons in some closets. There are no secrets in closed communities and a surprising number of good suspects.

    Necessary ingredients for a good cozy mystery are, for me:

    A fun title. Check

    Colorful cover art that hints at the story inside. Check

    Quirky characters. Check

    Plenty of suspects and false leads. Check

    And funny, determined amateur sleuths that don’t take themselves too seriously. Check

    This book has all of these ingredients and a bonus. It’s book two in a series and I didn’t have to have read the first book to enjoy meeting these characters.

    I received this book for my honest and unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1