Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A must read

One of the best books ever written. It has withstood the test of time. Most worthy to be called a classic.

posted by bookfreakTX on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

audiobook is not nook compatible

The audiobook mentioned was a selling point for me. It isn't a file, but a text internet address on the very last page of the ebook that the nook does not recognize as a hyperlink. Apparently this guy Sam Ngo went and found the free ebook with illustrations and also fou...
The audiobook mentioned was a selling point for me. It isn't a file, but a text internet address on the very last page of the ebook that the nook does not recognize as a hyperlink. Apparently this guy Sam Ngo went and found the free ebook with illustrations and also found a free audiobook file on an archive website somewhere and wrote out the file's internet address on the last page of the book and epub'd it. You would have to look up the file online from your computer, download the audiobook and physically hook up your nook to transfer the file from your computer to your nook. So why pay this guy 1.99? Just go out and find the free files yourself. Probably deleting this.

posted by 6398268 on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    A must read

    One of the best books ever written. It has withstood the test of time. Most worthy to be called a classic.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    "I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believes in m

    "I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believes in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live." Thus, the central theme of A Tale of Two Cities.




    I began reading this book in high school (Standard 8, I think), and I hated it. The language was completely foreign to me, and I didn't understand a single thing in it. I never finished it.




    Now that I'm more mature, and am reading many of the old classics, I decided to give it a try again. The language is still a bit foreign, and I had a rough time getting into it and following it at times, but I'm glad I finally finished this book.




    Ostensibly, the book is about the French Revolution. But I don't think it is, really. It may be set against the backdrop of the French Revolution, but it is, at its heart, a love story. And not the soppy touchy feely romantic kind of love, either. Real love. The love of a man for his friends, the love of a father and daughter, and yes, the love of a husband and wive. This book spans decades, and is about the events unfolding simultaneously in London, England, and Paris, France (hence the Two Cities) around the time of the French Revolution.




    I would recommend anyone interested in history, especially Christians, to read this book, but there's something in it for everyone.




    Only issue is, after reading the whole of Book The Second, I still had no idea just who, or what, the Golden Thread is! (And I still don't quite know)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Love the B&N collection

    Easy read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Its ok

    It is a good book and i got it for free so even better hard to read though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Andromeda and Phoenix

    Name: Andromeda <p>

    Nickname: Andro <p>

    Gender: Female <p>

    Rank: Regular Pack Wolf <p>

    Looks: Andro is a light red color, with a cream belly, forepaws, and chest. She looks just like her mother, Rose, and her grandmother, Willow. Her eyes are sky blue. <p>

    Mate: Spirit ((Missing but she will forever wait for him)) <p>

    Pups: Ember, Toby, Tiron, and Ocean ((All Spirit's)) <p>

    History: Andromeda was born in her mother's pack with her sister, Phoenix. She grew up there, and at two years of agewas seperated from Rose, Phoenix, and Demon, her father. She wandered for a long while before becoming Alpha Female of Nebula Pack with Spirit as her Alpha Male. The pack dissapated after many years, and she wandered until she found Phoenix, at which point they wandered together. She found Spirit once more before he dissapeared again, but this time she carried pups. She found a pack fast as possible, not wanting her pups to grow up lone wolves. <p>

    Family: <br>
    Mother ~ Rose ((Deceased)) <br>
    Father ~ Demon ((Missing)) <br>
    Grandmother ~ Willow ((Deceased))<br>
    Grandfather ~ Name Lost ((Deceased)) ((Sorry, this is all by memory.... I'll find his name soon.)) <br>
    Uncle ~ Matt ((Missing)) <p>
    Sister ~ Phoenix <p>

    <p>

    Name: Phoenix <p>

    Gender: Female <p>

    Rank: Regular Pack Wolf <p>

    Looks: Phoenix is a deep red color, like fire, which is what earned her her name. She has the typical amber eyes of a wolf. Her front left paw is white. <p>

    Mate/Crush/Pups: She hasn't found the right guy yet. <p>

    History: Like Andromeda, Phoenix was born at her mother's pack pack. At the age of two, she lost ehr sister. Her mother and father searced for many months but never found her. When her father dissapeared as well, Phoenix left. She joined a pack and quickly rose to Beta Female, but never found a mate, and left the pack when she found Andromeda. The rest matches Andromeda's history. <p>

    Family: Same except her sister is Andro, not herself. <p>

    Other: BOTH she-wolves are purebred Dire wolves, and alpha born. Very large, very dangerous when angered. <p>

    ((No I am not being a powerplayer. I have been rping this family for four years, starting with Willow, and now on these two. This is just the way it happened.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Test

    Testing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    EnderSacle

    I hate family. And i am back from being grounded...))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Hyenasilver

    Narrows her eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Seakit

    She watched amber curiously. "Why is a cloud carrying me?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Sammie

    *Tribal Dance*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    My Favorite Dickens Book Yet

    I have read the Christmas Carol collection put out by B&N and this book now as well. This was a very entertaining boo, and makes me want to read more Dickens. The plot takes most of the book to build, I guess its just my modern attention span that has a problem with this. The characters were actually deeper than I expected. The psychological portrait painted of Dr. Manette is very complex for a time when psychology was in its infancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing, but...

    I've wanted to read "A Tale of Two Cities" for quite some time, and I finally did it! On the whole, it was a phenomenal book, but it certainly had some agonizingly boring parts. The first half was a mixed bag of interesting and dull as anything, but, literally, on the page that was exactly half way through, it became addictive. It is a novel of love. There is the love a father and daughter, the love of two lovers, the love of an unrequited lover, and the platonic love of many strong friendships. It is ultimately a bittersweet book, and one I recommend if you're willing to stick to it through the slower parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4