Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities (SparkNotes Literature Guide Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ties with harry potter for best book ever

Im 15 and was reading this book for english. I went on to sparknotes because i didnt understand the book and found this thing called No Fear literature that has the classic version and translates the book to modern, understandable terms beside it. If you read a version ...
Im 15 and was reading this book for english. I went on to sparknotes because i didnt understand the book and found this thing called No Fear literature that has the classic version and translates the book to modern, understandable terms beside it. If you read a version with modern terms that is understandable, you wont be able to put it down. It made me cry two times.

posted by 15004482 on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hard but...

If you get past the difficultly of the book you can really enjoy the true meaning and beauty of this book. Besides, a challenge is always good for a person. One more thing, if you can read and understand this book, you can read just about anything.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Ties with harry potter for best book ever

    Im 15 and was reading this book for english. I went on to sparknotes because i didnt understand the book and found this thing called No Fear literature that has the classic version and translates the book to modern, understandable terms beside it. If you read a version with modern terms that is understandable, you wont be able to put it down. It made me cry two times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    okay

    the sparknote was okay, helped me comprehend chapter by chapter, but the book is just too 'old' if you knwo what i mean, without the sparknote, i would have never gotten through

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Hard but...

    If you get past the difficultly of the book you can really enjoy the true meaning and beauty of this book. Besides, a challenge is always good for a person. One more thing, if you can read and understand this book, you can read just about anything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    boo

    oh man is this overrated. First off you can't even understand it, i didnt beleive the things sparknotes told me I thought i was reading the wrong book. Second its too long and you lose intrest way before the climax.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    Trying to Comprehend Dickens

    I had to read this book for my Honors English class and was told that it was a classic and everyone should have read these books by the time that they graduate from high school. We were instructed to read the book in two weeks time, and I read the first few lines and was confused from then on. I tried to enjoy it and get into it, but it was difficult. I ended up not reading the rest of the novel, but reffering to spark notes. Spark notes assisted me on gaining a better understanding of Dicken's and his writings. Who understands what he writes anyways? I know that I don't. Good luck!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    This book is good?

    I liked this book but it was sooo hard to understand! Sparknotes helped me alot, though.. if it wasnt for them i wouldnt have a clue what this story is about! Thanks alot! And if you write another story, Charles Dickens can you please make it more easier to understand?? thnks a lot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Bounty

    She ran in with the lemat revolver. She new who Holmes was and would not let him get it back. With that she bolted out to naplo res 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    really helped me understand the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Amazing

    I'm a High School student and this book was an amazing choice for the book project. THANK YOU CHARLES DICKENS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    DO NOT BUY

    INCORRECT ITEM. I RECEIVED A RAGGED 1940 COPY OF THE NOVEL ITSELF, NOT THE USED SPARKNOTES GUIDE OF THE NOVEL TAHT I BOUGHT.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    very helpful

    The sparknotes have helped my daughter get a better understanding of what she is reading. We would recommend this as a supplement to reading the actual book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    very cool book!!

    TTC was so awesome! i think anyone who is interested in the french revolution, history, or just a good read should definitely read this book. i enjoyed it so much, and sparknotes was really helpful! thank you Dickens!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    A Masterpiece!

    How could anyone think that Dickens' works are bad? Any true reader will greatly enjoy his works, and although it takes some appeciation and comprehension skills, it is a very enjoyable read, and even more enjoyable with a SparkNote is you need help with understanding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2