Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(278)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

THE REASON I LOVE ORANGES

I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset...
I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset, reading A Tale of Two Cities to one another. It was one of my favorite birthdays. It is still one of my favorite books. It is probably the reason oranges are my favorite fruit.

posted by Author_DB_Pacini on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Age limit FOR RACHAL AND ?

Yes you can read it. I would say 8+ does this help?

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 524 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE REASON I LOVE ORANGES

    I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset, reading A Tale of Two Cities to one another. It was one of my favorite birthdays. It is still one of my favorite books. It is probably the reason oranges are my favorite fruit.

    44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Dickens at his best

    This is quite possibly the best book that Dickens wrote. 'A Tale of Two Cities' has everything a reader could ask, a complex and interesting plot, realistic characters, excellent character development, and overarching social and political messages. In addition to being an exemplary work of fiction, any serious student of post-Renaissance European history should examine this text for its historiographical value. Despite the destitute situation of the French people before the French Revolution, their lives were not aided in most ways that the contemporary advocates of the revolution purported.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    WOW!!!

    I love it!
    I could not put the book down!!!!!!!



    Maddie Toaso

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Dull Beginning, but well worth it!

    A Tale of Two Cities is a true literary classic. It superbly combines the key topics of history, politics, tragedy, love, and war all into one fantastic work. The entirety of the book is split between the two cities of London, England and Paris, France. It chronicles the course of events that took place in these two cities in the time just before and during the French Revolution. This piece of writing excellence has truly made me thankful for the time and place in which I live. The squalor and repression the majority of the populations of both England and France survived in during this period to be absolutely repulsive! I find it remarkable that Dickens was able to capture and project the true feelings of want and need expressed throughout the book onto the reader. At times I felt as if I myself was sitting in a back room of the Paris, France branch of Tellson's bank with Mr. Lorry while the citizens of Paris are actively mobbing outside. Only a select few books have ever made me feel quite this connected to their plot, something this book does superbly. Now, while I have been raving about A Tale of Two Cities, I must say that the first 200 pages were quite dull and arduous. I almost put the book down several times because of it. But, once you clear the dull beginning, this classic really heats up and becomes a very exciting, fast-paced read. One reservation I had with the book was its' enormous glorification of the horrible killing machine the Guillotine. This machine was referred to as a tall, beautiful and deadly woman and the blood of the thousands executed upon it was referred to as her wine. I found the amount of detail Dickens used to describe the repression of the common people by the nobles to be fascinating, especially given the time period in which this book was first published.
    One of my favorite aspects of A Tale of Two Cities was how it so fluidly it intertwined the two halves of the story. Though the French side of the story was so very far removed from the English side of the story (that is until "Book The Third" begins) it still feels to the reader like one fluid, complete story. Even while managing to floridly intertwine to separate stories, Mr. Dickens managed to hide the true personalities of two of the main characters until the perfect moment to reveal them. This, along with the truly fantastic traits of the other characters allows this book to all but jump of the pages and into reality! The Characters of Charles Dickens seemed to me as real and human as if they were standing right in front of me!
    My one complaint about this magnificent work is that the beginning seemingly drags on forever. I am a reader who likes books that get right into the plot and don't drag on too much. Because of this A Tale of Two Cities discouraged me early on, but I urge you not to get discouraged and give up on the book! If you persevere, the ending will reward you beyond measure!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Notes should not ruin the story

    While A Tale of Two Cities is a great book, some of Gillen D'Arcy Wood's notes are very bad. One note, in Chapter 4 of book two tells the reader that something is foreshadowing a certain character's death, thus ruining any surprise. This is unacceptable

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE BEST Classic

    This is my favorite of all the classics out there. Wonderful story of self sacrafice and love. Read it you will love it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Think You Have Read the Classics Until You Read This

    My absolute favorite work of fiction. Amazing!
    RapidVisa

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Wonderful

    I love to read and I have read mountains of books and this remains my all time favorite. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    A True Classic

    Charles Dickens has a unique story telling style that evokes the days of sitting by the fire listening to an artful story teller spin a yarn. He manages to weave political commentary, historical fact and a group of fictional characters into a gripping tale of love, deceit, and true international intrigue. It is easy to see why this book is considered a classic. Forget your high school bias that Classic Novels are boring. Read this book with an open mind and you will soon get lost in a far away time and form a lasting bond with the characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    Some of the most beautiful writing I have ever read. I felt the beginning of the story was a litle slow but gradually the plot becomes quicker and quicker. The ending was absolutely perfect. This book makes you feel the tension, anger, sorrow, fear and bravory of the people during the French revolution. Absolute must-read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    One of the Bucket List books

    I've read this book; I've taught this book; I love this book. Ok, so Lucy's fainting fits and "angel of the hearth" Victorian perfection grate on my nerves a little, but the story is so well done, that Lucy's one-dimensional character is forgivable. It really would be a shame not to read this classic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it

    I couldt put it down! I loved kanes character! I reax obud it in one day until 2 in the morning. I cant wait to read the
    next one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Excellent

    I was suppose to read this in school, I didn't. Now that i'm 72 I am reading the classics and enjoying them. I still have no use for algebra!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    ?

    Is it good for a ten year old.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    :(

    Im thru 15% of this book and its kind of boring and hard to follow

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    A wonderful way to reread a classic. Having the dictionary available and the footnotes readily available were a added plus to Dickens' great writing skills.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens is an overall well writt

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens is an overall well written book. I don’t think that it was my favorite novel, but I do think that it was a good story and I am glad that I read it.  This book is a classic that is loved by many people all across the world.  There are only a few reasons why the only things that make me say that I didn’t absolutely love the book.  The primary reason is that it was difficult to follow at times.  I wasn’t quite sure what was going on during certain parts of the book.  However, the faster you know which character is which, then the easier the book will be to read.  It is very difficult if you don’t know the characters very well.  That makes this book a difficult book to start reading.  The beginning is very slow and the story doesn’t seem to pick up its pace until later on in the book.  There were some chapters that I had to read multiple times just to understand what was going on.  When you are reading this book, you need to limit your distractions, in order to focus on the story.  When the story speeds up, however, it is a very good book and well worth the read.  It starts to get very suspenseful, especially later on in the book.   For example, in part three, I just wanted to read through the whole book to find out what would happen.  I would recommend this book to any and all readers who can read high level books and enjoy history.  I actually learned a lot just from reading this book.  I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone who is going to lose interest in the book before the first one hundred pages, however.  If you are looking for an action packed novel that is easy to read then keep looking.  A Tale of Two Cities is a slower paced, sometimes confusing book that has an interesting and suspenseful story, and is well worth reading.  If you are looking for challenge, and you don’t lose interest too easily, then I highly suggest picking up A Tale of Two Cities.  Find yourself a quiet corner and dive in.  You will be glad that you read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Gooood

    A very good book, but its also free and I think though it could be more deitailed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Obsessive...

    I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO IN LOOOOOOOOOVE WITH THE HUNGER GAMES!!!!!!! IT IS THE BEST SERIES I HAVE EVER READ AND IF U HAVENT READ IT YOU DESERVE TO BE SMACKED SOOOOOO HARD YOUR NOSE BREAKS AND ALL UR TEETH FALL OUT!!!!! WELL LOVE YALL TTYL....

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    The footnotes

    The footnotes were both good and bad. I enjoyed having the extra facts readily available, but some of the footnotes were spoilers that ruined the story. On the whole, I was very happy to have the footnotes, especially while reading on nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 524 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27