Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 526 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

THE REASON I LOVE ORANGES

I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset...
I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset, reading A Tale of Two Cities to one another. It was one of my favorite birthdays. It is still one of my favorite books. It is probably the reason oranges are my favorite fruit.

posted by Author_DB_Pacini on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Age limit FOR RACHAL AND ?

Yes you can read it. I would say 8+ does this help?

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Notes should not ruin the story

    While A Tale of Two Cities is a great book, some of Gillen D'Arcy Wood's notes are very bad. One note, in Chapter 4 of book two tells the reader that something is foreshadowing a certain character's death, thus ruining any surprise. This is unacceptable

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    :(

    Im thru 15% of this book and its kind of boring and hard to follow

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Obsessive...

    I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO IN LOOOOOOOOOVE WITH THE HUNGER GAMES!!!!!!! IT IS THE BEST SERIES I HAVE EVER READ AND IF U HAVENT READ IT YOU DESERVE TO BE SMACKED SOOOOOO HARD YOUR NOSE BREAKS AND ALL UR TEETH FALL OUT!!!!! WELL LOVE YALL TTYL....

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    This book is so bad that i would rather read dora.

    This book is so bad that i would rather read dora.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Horrible book

    Bad

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Soooooooo bad

    Hated it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No sense

    I read the first 4 chapters and could not continue.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    Dickens was very good at creating his plots. But he was horrible at writing them! I am not one for fluff and useless words. I like detail, just not twelve pages of painful reading full of a description of one place or person. So for me, A Tale of Two Cities was unbearable. The plot and storyline was excellent, but still, I had to read so much unnecessary sentences, paragraphs, pages even! I would love to see a movie of it, because the events in it were interesting. But its just that when Dickens put his idea into words he never seemed to know when to stop his pen.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    BORING!!

    Dickens takes a very very very long time to get to his point and by then i forgot what he was talking about! The only good part in the book was when Madame Defarge and Miss Pross got into a fight. Other than that I would have rather done laundry or something more interesting!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Suckish

    Suckish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Strange

    You bozoes keep using the F-word. You are 1*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Robertsmith

    This book was wake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Hey i was thinking about that to

    I am a big reader i read the hunger games in one day also i read the hobbit whitch is my biggest book. I read percy jackson and a bunch of dear america books. I am 11 . Is this a good book for me....... thaks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Do not get this book!

    Horrible, terrible, repulsive, disgusting book! Do not buy! Icky, shmicky, blech, ugh, kind of book. Hey, it's a classic anyway. Aren't most classics boring , anyway?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Never read it is it good?

    Dont have one.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Hate this book

    Dont read. Horible.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Worst book ive ever seen

    For wimps

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Terrible

    Glad it was free. Read oliver twist as a child and it was great.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Sucks if they gave me 50$ i would not by it

    Dont by it

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Jordan

    Is it okay for a 10 year old?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3