Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(280)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

THE REASON I LOVE ORANGES

I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset...
I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset, reading A Tale of Two Cities to one another. It was one of my favorite birthdays. It is still one of my favorite books. It is probably the reason oranges are my favorite fruit.

posted by Author_DB_Pacini on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Age limit FOR RACHAL AND ?

Yes you can read it. I would say 8+ does this help?

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Old-English Soap-opera

    Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens is a classic literature book set in the time of the French revolution. If I had to describe the book in a couple words I would label it as an “old-English soap-opera”. I enjoyed the book very much but I feel unless you are a strong reader or good with old English the book would be boring and difficult to understand. Personally, I sometimes had to look up what was going on in the book online to follow along. There are a couple main and supporting main characters and the book switches between the point of view of the various characters telling the story from all sides. The book is known for its famous opening line “It was the best of times. It was the worst of times…” That line and the couple after hint to the plot/theme of the story. In the opening pages a mood is set, Dickens writes of a damp, dreary, cold, dark, night. Dickens writes in a very, how would you say, hinting way. If you look closely and pay attention you can catch little details that clue you into something that will be revealed later on. All in all the book was a good read, it was slow to start but picks up as you get father into the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Give it a few pages...

    Give it a few pages first, then it's amazing. Contains Dickens usual paid-by-the-word problem, but the story deserves to be retold again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Tale of Two

    Talks about the French Revolution it also has satire and drama a must read ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    A city with 2 tails

    Reviewed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Its an okay book

    Verry nice uh detailic and its a great book for the kids under13or14.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Tale of dos ciudades

    Charles Dickens is the worst

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    How is it

    My creddict card expired now i camt get it

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    good book

    good book. I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Me

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    A good book...?

    It's a pretty good book if you can process the older english and have the attention span to be able to follow the sloth-like slowness of the plot. The act of translating this into modern English would probably shave about a quarter of the length of the book away or more. Other than that, it is fairly decent. However, I question the sanity of placing this book under the graphic novel section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    First two parts were meh, but the last part was good.

    I read this for my history class last year and at first I wasn't very into it. I trudged along after a lot of unnecessary elements but once the third part of the book started the book really picked up. Where the first two parts were entirely character development, this one was a lot more about suspense, and when it did it, it was quite good. But there is a lot of boring elements to the book that keep it from getting 4 stars. If you love the classics, definitely pick this up, but if you want a book to read in an afternoon, look elsewhere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Long liveing story

    Greart story in general. However most palce and people are boring.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    certainly worth it...

    A Tale of Two Cities is an historical novel set during the French Revolution. It follows Charles Darnay, one-time French aristocrat who gives up everything and moves to England. Darnay returns to France to help an imprisoned family servant and is imprisoned himself for the crimes of his now dead family. The reader sees the effects of Darnay's imprisonment on his wife and young daughter as well as his father-in-law who himself was a prisoner of the Bastille for 18 years. A Tale of Two Cities contains one of the most infamous evil female antagonists in classic literature in the character of Madame DeFarge. It also contains a character who is so heroic and good it's humbling to read about. I found A Tale of Two Cities to be a good story with a fantastic ending but it was a little bit of a tough read. It's very dry and boring in parts but the conclusion of the story makes reading the book very much worth it.<BR/><BR/>*From Wikipedia:<BR/>The opening ¿ "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times..." ¿ and closing ¿ "It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known." ¿ of the book are among the most famous lines in English literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Not the Icing on the Cake....

    this was an okay book. It seemed to drag at places. I wouldnt recommend this book to anyone who doesnt have to read it for school. Charles Dickens is a brillant mind. If you want a good Charles Dickens try Great Exspectations!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

    Historical fiction in which the main characters find out the meaning of love and loss in the times of 1775 during the begining of the French Revolution. When Lucie finds love and loss finds her she discovers that life isn't just a fairytale. This was written in the view of an observer. It is aimed more at a high school level and is a little harder to understand than most books by Charles Dickens. There a many scenes that tend to interupt the story but once you get past that it's pretty enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Very slow

    To tell you the truth, I thought this book was really boring. It took me AGES to get through it because to me it was extremely slow. I liked the ending but it just took forever to get there. This book was okay, but I wouldn't reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    I found it rather mediocre....

    I was required to read this book for class, and I was really excited to read it at first, since it is said to be 'such a classic, outstanding novel'. However, I will have to admit that I was rather dissapointed. I found the actual story-line itself to be enriching and a joy to read. But I also felt that Dickens got lost in trying to describe simple things, making the book choppy and rather dull at parts. So, in all, I found the book to be a decent read, but nothing spectacular....rather mediocre. I have read far better books, but this wasn't horrible either. So, I would suggest reading it, like I said, it is a decent read.....but a little overrated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    It is a classical example of a 'classical' book

    As you expect it, this is one of those classical books dealing with society and many aspects of humanity. A classical example of a book set in the late-1700s to early 1800s. It is during the time of the French Revolution. It is not an easy read because of the great number of vocabularies dickens used and the many alliterations. It didn't totally catch my interests. I simply had to read it for school, but I didn't totally dislike it. It's just not a book that many younger audiences would necessary dive into very deeply. This is my honest score. I'm not saying it's not a great book; it just doesn't fit my taste. I advise one to check it out in the library first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4