Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 526 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

THE REASON I LOVE ORANGES

I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset...
I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset, reading A Tale of Two Cities to one another. It was one of my favorite birthdays. It is still one of my favorite books. It is probably the reason oranges are my favorite fruit.

posted by Author_DB_Pacini on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Age limit FOR RACHAL AND ?

Yes you can read it. I would say 8+ does this help?

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Dull Beginning, but well worth it!

    A Tale of Two Cities is a true literary classic. It superbly combines the key topics of history, politics, tragedy, love, and war all into one fantastic work. The entirety of the book is split between the two cities of London, England and Paris, France. It chronicles the course of events that took place in these two cities in the time just before and during the French Revolution. This piece of writing excellence has truly made me thankful for the time and place in which I live. The squalor and repression the majority of the populations of both England and France survived in during this period to be absolutely repulsive! I find it remarkable that Dickens was able to capture and project the true feelings of want and need expressed throughout the book onto the reader. At times I felt as if I myself was sitting in a back room of the Paris, France branch of Tellson's bank with Mr. Lorry while the citizens of Paris are actively mobbing outside. Only a select few books have ever made me feel quite this connected to their plot, something this book does superbly. Now, while I have been raving about A Tale of Two Cities, I must say that the first 200 pages were quite dull and arduous. I almost put the book down several times because of it. But, once you clear the dull beginning, this classic really heats up and becomes a very exciting, fast-paced read. One reservation I had with the book was its' enormous glorification of the horrible killing machine the Guillotine. This machine was referred to as a tall, beautiful and deadly woman and the blood of the thousands executed upon it was referred to as her wine. I found the amount of detail Dickens used to describe the repression of the common people by the nobles to be fascinating, especially given the time period in which this book was first published.
    One of my favorite aspects of A Tale of Two Cities was how it so fluidly it intertwined the two halves of the story. Though the French side of the story was so very far removed from the English side of the story (that is until "Book The Third" begins) it still feels to the reader like one fluid, complete story. Even while managing to floridly intertwine to separate stories, Mr. Dickens managed to hide the true personalities of two of the main characters until the perfect moment to reveal them. This, along with the truly fantastic traits of the other characters allows this book to all but jump of the pages and into reality! The Characters of Charles Dickens seemed to me as real and human as if they were standing right in front of me!
    My one complaint about this magnificent work is that the beginning seemingly drags on forever. I am a reader who likes books that get right into the plot and don't drag on too much. Because of this A Tale of Two Cities discouraged me early on, but I urge you not to get discouraged and give up on the book! If you persevere, the ending will reward you beyond measure!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    Some of the most beautiful writing I have ever read. I felt the beginning of the story was a litle slow but gradually the plot becomes quicker and quicker. The ending was absolutely perfect. This book makes you feel the tension, anger, sorrow, fear and bravory of the people during the French revolution. Absolute must-read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens is an overall well writt

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens is an overall well written book. I don’t think that it was my favorite novel, but I do think that it was a good story and I am glad that I read it.  This book is a classic that is loved by many people all across the world.  There are only a few reasons why the only things that make me say that I didn’t absolutely love the book.  The primary reason is that it was difficult to follow at times.  I wasn’t quite sure what was going on during certain parts of the book.  However, the faster you know which character is which, then the easier the book will be to read.  It is very difficult if you don’t know the characters very well.  That makes this book a difficult book to start reading.  The beginning is very slow and the story doesn’t seem to pick up its pace until later on in the book.  There were some chapters that I had to read multiple times just to understand what was going on.  When you are reading this book, you need to limit your distractions, in order to focus on the story.  When the story speeds up, however, it is a very good book and well worth the read.  It starts to get very suspenseful, especially later on in the book.   For example, in part three, I just wanted to read through the whole book to find out what would happen.  I would recommend this book to any and all readers who can read high level books and enjoy history.  I actually learned a lot just from reading this book.  I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone who is going to lose interest in the book before the first one hundred pages, however.  If you are looking for an action packed novel that is easy to read then keep looking.  A Tale of Two Cities is a slower paced, sometimes confusing book that has an interesting and suspenseful story, and is well worth reading.  If you are looking for challenge, and you don’t lose interest too easily, then I highly suggest picking up A Tale of Two Cities.  Find yourself a quiet corner and dive in.  You will be glad that you read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Gooood

    A very good book, but its also free and I think though it could be more deitailed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    A classic

    I was given this book as an assignment when i was in highschool. I wasnt interested in reading it then. Now 15 years later, i regret not reading it when i was supposed to. I adore Charles Dickens. This is def one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Awsome

    This book is a thrilling story with everything you need to have an all around good nail biting suspensful book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Tale of two cities

    Was an excellent depiction of the french revolution, i am just not a fan of Dickens writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Amazing Plot, Patience Needed!

    As I was reading A Tale of Two Cities, I really disliked the novel. The English it used wasn¿t exactly Old English, but it wasn¿t modern English either. Dickens is very descriptive, and I wasn¿t fond of all of the adjectives that I had to look up, forcing me to read the book for even longer. In the process of reading the book, I fell asleep several times. It was dull trying to understand what Dickens was trying to describe. Despite this, I enjoyed the plot. It was very slow, but still good. The first and second books were definitely boring, mind numbing, and dreary, but the third book had much more plot and action, which was very engaging. In the third book, the descriptiveness did not annoy me, as it gave me a better picture of the fear in Paris. After I had read the novel, I went back and re-read some chapters from books one and two, and found myself enjoying them. The novel was understandable after I had completed it. Everything was connected, and I enjoyed understand the plot. The books were no longer confusing and dull; instead, the plot was intense and culminated into an amazing third book. I would recommend this novel for people interested in the lifestyle during the French Revolution because Dickens¿ descriptiveness gives the reader an amazing picture of Paris in the midst of chaos and the revolution. People who can follow challenging words or have the patience to muddle through the novel will enjoy this, as the plot is intense and has a little bit of every genre. People who have a rudimentary understanding of English or are impatient will probably not like this novel as much, because of complicated English words and a slow plotline at the beginning. I would recommend this to anyone with the patience and time to read this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Great read. Great message.

    Great message to be proffessed so that history may not repeat itself. For a 19th century novel it is an easy read with a good bit simple plot. There is a great twist into the book a bit. Highly reccommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    I had never read Dickens before, and I really enjoyed this book! It is sweet, sad, and entertaining as well as being full of history. I definetly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    NICE

    this book is a very good book and will keep you turning pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    ?uitt nyt f bf g t. V c b bu ivtft gyffr jj vd j

    Junj vvg g f g t n ft r.m h v vk

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    A good read!

    Parts are long and confusing but they come together in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Difficult read

    I dont know what level of a reader ou are but i am in ninth grafe and still found ir confusing.... you can realy gey lot in the old englsh language.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Havent read yet

    Is it a good book? One of my nook friends thought i would like it. Im guessing its a good book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Subject

    I have read this book many times and everytime i read it it gets better and better. This is going to rock your world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good bool

    Its good but not the best still good four stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Always a great classic

    I enjoyed rereading this classic and relating to some of the scence as the world is today. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Amazing book!

    I loved this book. Charles Dickens is a genius. I have read all of his books and i loved this one the most. I recommend this book to anyone who loves to read. Especially people who love to read classics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6