Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(280)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

THE REASON I LOVE ORANGES

I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset...
I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset, reading A Tale of Two Cities to one another. It was one of my favorite birthdays. It is still one of my favorite books. It is probably the reason oranges are my favorite fruit.

posted by Author_DB_Pacini on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Age limit FOR RACHAL AND ?

Yes you can read it. I would say 8+ does this help?

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE REASON I LOVE ORANGES

    I first read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens in 1969. My friend Bucky, a French-Canadian, gave me the book as a birthday present with a bouquet of daises, a blue balloon, and a wooden crate of oranges. We sat on the beach eating oranges from morning until sunset, reading A Tale of Two Cities to one another. It was one of my favorite birthdays. It is still one of my favorite books. It is probably the reason oranges are my favorite fruit.

    44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Dickens at his best

    This is quite possibly the best book that Dickens wrote. 'A Tale of Two Cities' has everything a reader could ask, a complex and interesting plot, realistic characters, excellent character development, and overarching social and political messages. In addition to being an exemplary work of fiction, any serious student of post-Renaissance European history should examine this text for its historiographical value. Despite the destitute situation of the French people before the French Revolution, their lives were not aided in most ways that the contemporary advocates of the revolution purported.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    WOW!!!

    I love it!
    I could not put the book down!!!!!!!



    Maddie Toaso

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE BEST Classic

    This is my favorite of all the classics out there. Wonderful story of self sacrafice and love. Read it you will love it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Think You Have Read the Classics Until You Read This

    My absolute favorite work of fiction. Amazing!
    RapidVisa

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Wonderful

    I love to read and I have read mountains of books and this remains my all time favorite. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    A True Classic

    Charles Dickens has a unique story telling style that evokes the days of sitting by the fire listening to an artful story teller spin a yarn. He manages to weave political commentary, historical fact and a group of fictional characters into a gripping tale of love, deceit, and true international intrigue. It is easy to see why this book is considered a classic. Forget your high school bias that Classic Novels are boring. Read this book with an open mind and you will soon get lost in a far away time and form a lasting bond with the characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    One of the Bucket List books

    I've read this book; I've taught this book; I love this book. Ok, so Lucy's fainting fits and "angel of the hearth" Victorian perfection grate on my nerves a little, but the story is so well done, that Lucy's one-dimensional character is forgivable. It really would be a shame not to read this classic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it

    I couldt put it down! I loved kanes character! I reax obud it in one day until 2 in the morning. I cant wait to read the
    next one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Excellent

    I was suppose to read this in school, I didn't. Now that i'm 72 I am reading the classics and enjoying them. I still have no use for algebra!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    A wonderful way to reread a classic. Having the dictionary available and the footnotes readily available were a added plus to Dickens' great writing skills.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    The footnotes

    The footnotes were both good and bad. I enjoyed having the extra facts readily available, but some of the footnotes were spoilers that ruined the story. On the whole, I was very happy to have the footnotes, especially while reading on nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    A classic

    Paris and london during the French revolution. Great escape drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    This is a great bpok This is a great book!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is an awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    It's awsomeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Kxfffgyhjhjvfxzdgfhjhkjlijughxfxgchvjhjgdffdgghjyyuhjvcgcfzassdxghvgxgcvbvhgygyhvhvhvhghghghghvcccfdzxcgvhgcxxxvghhjhvcccvvvffdgxgxgxgrfgggggvvvvggvbbjjjhvcvbjkllllkbbvbnmmkhgccffrrrfffffffffdddsssrghuujjhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhjhnnbbnmllljgdsdtffgjjgcdzsaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaadfguiljggbnhvcxz**'""%&%$$&-+;::%"#$%*--::*77**-89966;**76&&&66777&&&******&&&&%%6***---++-**+(9(((((87*&&%$#$$&**-::"::&5%'''&:&:''cxxcgcccccccgcgccvvgcccccccc

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Wow!

    This book is amazing in so many ways: literary, the story, and the ending. I was so afraid the ending would be unsatisfying, but that is the last word I would use to describe the wonderfulness of ut. I wanted to cry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    11

    I am 11 and a honors enlish and social studies student ( i go to a gifted and talented school but some pea brains have been let in and those are the only honors classes offered) and i understand this book. Please it is not that hard to understand. Post a comment if you love hunger games and harry potter and warrior cats

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    A

    This book is very good!!!!!!! GET IT ITS FREE!!!!!!! ITS WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿

















    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times."

    A Tale of Two Cities was set in the French Revolution. I would say that this is Charles Dickens' second best book (the best being A Christmas Carol). A challenging read, but highly reccommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    A classic for a reason!

    This is an excellent book with a great plot. The story is a compelling tale of people caught up in a string of uncontrollable events, with the world seemingly falling around them. Dickens perfectly and realistically captures the chaos of the French Revolution and the hopelessness that permeated the French country. He skillfully (though at times, wordily) buildtowrds the dramatically moving climax. A Tale of Two Cities ia truly a masterpiece, both as a story and as historical work.

    A. E. H.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14