Customer Reviews for

A Tall, Dark, Cowboy

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Romance Reviews Top Pick

Whoo Hoo. Five big Yee Haws, ya'll!

If the title doesn't get ya, the story will. Talk about yummy characters! Absolutely delicioso. This story is built on strong characters, some seriously dangerous chemistry, and a lack of communication (because they are too busy pa...
Whoo Hoo. Five big Yee Haws, ya'll!

If the title doesn't get ya, the story will. Talk about yummy characters! Absolutely delicioso. This story is built on strong characters, some seriously dangerous chemistry, and a lack of communication (because they are too busy pawing each other).

Bar maid Lacy is used to fending off all the advances of her customers, but for the first time she is unable to say no when tall, dark and hubba-hubba Wyatt makes his move. The last thing she should be doing is a cowboy. She's been down that path and has the divorce and unpaid child support bills to prove it. But I'm with Lacy, he's just too much to resist. If you are going to finally break down for a fling, he is the way to go.

Little does she know, that cowboy whom she thinks is just in town for the rodeo is a local boy and a VP at a major corporation-exactly what her heart has dreamed of. Add to it his support and steadfast reliability as Lacy faces her daughter's continued failing health, and Lacy has found the makings of the perfect man if she'd open her eyes and see he's not a one night (oops, I mean two.no three. aw heck, I lost count) stand. This is love being blind (and uncommunicative) in the wrong way.

These are two characters to cheer for with so many twists and surprises your head will spin with glee. I found it to be a happy read and most definitely a hot read. This one works for cowboy lovers and non-cowboy lovers alike. Enjoy!

posted by _Michelle_ on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too many story lines in a very short book

I felt there was a lot going on in this book, and none of the sub plots were strong. Very pieced together. I feel like it was six books crammed into 160 pages.

posted by 8248517 on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    2.5 stars I'm all for one night stands that turn into romance an

    2.5 stars
    I'm all for one night stands that turn into romance and love, but this one was a little far fetched for me. The premise was great. No problems meeting is a bar, or Wyatt making sure that Lacy follows through with the night. Wyatt's character of being both a cowboy who rides in the occasional rodeo as well as a business executive was inspired and had so much potential. Lacy is a waitress in a bar while supporting her daughter and getting her college degree as a single mom without the financial support of her ex. They are a good pairing. The time line was VERY fast paced. I would have liked to see another week or two thrown in there. The part that I was most anticipating when they met each other outside of the bar environment as neither went by their actual fist names when they met but both do in the business world. Unfortunately all we really got was thet they were both shock and somehow he decided he couldn't give her up and it's his job to solve impossible solutions. My biggest issues with this book come in the form of character development and the flow of the story. It seems as though any time there was a conflict between Wyatt and Lacy they would just kiss and get naked. I would have loved to see some actual conversation and another form of conflict resolution. There were a lot of scenes that seemed to have been thrown in without much detail. ie: Lacy's call to her ex-mother-in-law. That lasted (I think) 3 or 4 sentences and it was never really mentioned again. Also, her ex's complete turn around without any real reason for it. There was just too much sex and not enough substance. Lastly, there was a lot of potential with several of the secondary characters in this book. This could have easily been a full novel with the possibility of additional stories from secondary characters. I know many poeple who have enjoyed this book,and I am happy they did. It just wasn't one that was a good fit for me. I will probably pick up a more recent title to see how/if Mackenzie's writing style has changed. She does depict on heck of a HOT cowboy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Waiting tables in a bar full of no-good cowboys isn't Lacy Maso


    Waiting tables in a bar full of no-good cowboys isn't Lacy Mason's idea of fun. But between her daughter's illness, endless doctor bills, and her college tuition, she needs the money. What she could really use is a night of no-holds-barred passion and no-strings-attached sex.
    Full-time executive and retired cowboy Wyatt Anderson is drawn to Lacy from the moment he sees her. But she's an enigma.
    Daring and assured one moment and hesitant the next, it's as if something haunts her. Only willing to give him one night, Lacy
    clings tightly to her secrets. Unfortunately for her, what Wyatt wants, Wyatt gets. And he definitely wants Lacy!
    So, this was a sweet and heart warming story, between two people that down under only want another person to love and fulfill their
    lives with.
    This one comes with a bonus, a child that can challenge a relationship and the pursuit of character to take on such a heavy weight and
    such a responsibility.
    After having read the book, I couldn't stop thinking that this story reminded me of Cinderella, the poor girl that lived abused by her
    stepsisters and in the end married the prince.
    Sometimes life is hard and the circumstances that are presented to us are not so pretty.
    Lacy has been through a hard road, alone, raising a sick child, and money-less, but her spirit is of a warrior so she fights.
    She pushes forward, making her goals verge with the needs of her daughter and fighting for her dreams to come true.
    I liked Lacy a lot, she was a combative character never backing down, very well defined in her needs and goals, independent and a hot
    woman, unashamed of her sexuality.
    Wyatt, our cowboy, was the no jerk man, the hot cowboy we all love, a sensitive man, a no beat around the bush guy, he wants,
    he takes, and when he can't have it all, he'll find a way to get it all. I like it like this.
    Wyatt was the guy that was very mature and that was well explained through the story. He was understanding, a true male having all
    that a woman wants as a companion by her side.
    Their encounters were hot. All most like two sides of a coin coming together, all of this was very well written and the thread of the story
    never got lost in my mind.
    If I'd had to have a one night stand with a man, definitively, it would be this cowboy, yes sir!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1