Customer Reviews for

A Taste for a Mate

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended!

Carrie Ann Ryan steps up the anti with A Taste for a Mate. With the appearance of a conjured demon, the Redwood pack could be in some serious trouble. Experience Ryan's new and exciting twists in werewolf lore. She takes a darker than usual approach by adding magic ...
Carrie Ann Ryan steps up the anti with A Taste for a Mate. With the appearance of a conjured demon, the Redwood pack could be in some serious trouble. Experience Ryan's new and exciting twists in werewolf lore. She takes a darker than usual approach by adding magic and demons to the mix. I wasn't sure how it was all going to come together at first, but I was very pleased with the result. A delightful world of magic and intrigue hidden within our own.
The two main characters of the book are Jasper and Willow. I love the fact that Jasper waited seven weeks before asking Willow out on a date. It's so "human" that he was insecure. Both characters grow and change as their story progresses and as a reader I love to see those changes.
Ryan brings her story to life with beautifully vivid imagery, witty humor, and lots of sexual tension. Sink your teeth into this exciting and sexy love story. You won't be disappointed.

posted by KrystalShannan on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed...

For such a high star rating, I really expected something not... Crappy. I honestly could not get past the first 20 pages; it was that bad. Thr grammar was horrible, the plot moved too quickly, and the vocabulary was that of a middle school child. A complete waste of my ...
For such a high star rating, I really expected something not... Crappy. I honestly could not get past the first 20 pages; it was that bad. Thr grammar was horrible, the plot moved too quickly, and the vocabulary was that of a middle school child. A complete waste of my money.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good book

    I think i liked this one even more than the first book. Looking forward to next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    This is the second in the Redwood Pack series. Carrie Ann Ryan i

    This is the second in the Redwood Pack series. Carrie Ann Ryan is really coming into her own with this series. I finished the first book which was only about 50 pages and while really good it missed a lot of background (but it was still 4 stars). But this book is longer (about 130) and delves into the background of the family, werewolves and has a storyline beyond meeting a mate.

    I could explain what happens but really the synopsis does pretty good already. However what it doesn’t say is that in this book we meet The Centrals, another wolf pack, who want to kill the Redwood pack and seem to want to use Willow to lure the family in. Willow is a strong woman who wants to be loved and have a family and she is willing to do anything to make that happen with Jasper. The interesting thing about Jasper is he is not the “perfect” guy... he messes up - boy can that boy mess things up! But the reader never doubt his love for Willow.

    I enjoyed reading this book more than the first (see my review on “An Alpha’s Path”) not because the first wasn’t good - it really is good - but it is a short story and this one was so much more intense and had a paranormal suspense feel about it. There was no suspense in the first one. Now after reading this book I wish Ryan would go back and add more to her first book because I think it could be so much more. And I can not wait to read the third one “Trinity Bound” because “A Taste For A Mate” leaves you with a cliffhanger!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed very much!!

    Can't wait for the next in this series :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Pleasant quick read leaving you waiting for #3

    I enjoyed this second book in the series just as much as #1. I was pleased to see a longer book although it is still a nice quick read. Ryan expanded on the characters of the book while allowing you to learn more about the characters she introduced you to in the first one.

    She also introduced villians in this book and although I feel she leaves you hanging a little with them, I do like where she is going. I hope she expands on this in book #3 as you are left with some confusion regarding their actions.

    The sex scenes can be a little graphic but this is some what expected with this type of book. She does introduce you to her own version of theories on shape shifters which is nice as you are not left reading a typical shape shifter book with differents names. The shape shifter rules and origins are a different twist.

    Overall I look forward to reading #3 and watching this new author continue to grow in her writing style. I look forward to continuing to learn about the Redwood Pack's lives and family members and seeing where Ryan's imagination takes us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    I really like this series

    I have really enjoyed this series, it has a fresh take on a popular theme and she brings the writer into her story from the first page. I have read the first book (this is the second) and will read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Best book of series

    I liked the story of Willow & the Beta... Nice fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Did it again

    The Jamison boys will leave you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Books 1 and2

    I have now read the first two book in the redwood pack series I enjoyed thm both

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Totally rocked. I would recommend this book to others..

    Totally rocked. I would recommend this book to others..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Excellent book!

    This was a great read. I love the Redwood Pack Novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Highly reccomend

    Great series. Laugh out loud type of book in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    good

    nice beginning to series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Great Reed

    Jasper and Willow's love story was beautiful - can't wait for Reed's story to be available on ebook. Carrie Ann Ryan is such a wonderful paranormal writer. Can never resist one of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Stumbled onto this new author and was glad that I did. She is a

    Stumbled onto this new author and was glad that I did. She is able to create a world that your can submerse yourself in and become part of the family with the pack. Jasper and Willow certainly pulled me and had me rooting for them throughout the story..glad the series continues =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    As a fan of paranormal romances, I've read more than my fair sha

    As a fan of paranormal romances, I've read more than my fair share. Some I've liked and some I've thought "wow, what a waste." I can securely say "A Taste for a Mate" is firmly in the category of paranormal I'll keep on my "To Read Again" folder.

    Carrie Ann Ryan's growth as a writer is more than evident in this second installment of the Redwood Pack. This time Jasper finds his mate, Willow, in the owner of a local bakery. Sadly, the Beta of the pack can't seem to get up the nerve to ask her out. When he finally does, she gets kidnapped by a rival pack!

    The stakes are raised over and over as Jasper and Willow are pushed to each physical and emotional edge. Just when you think they're finding their balance, their world gets shifted (pun intended) again.

    Don't expect a HEA ending. Carrie Ann sets us up her next book like a pro and leaves you standing on the edge of the cliff teetering, peering over the edge.

    For those who loved the first book in this series, you don't need to be convinced to pick this one up. For anyone who was just "lukewarm" on it, I implore you to pick up this book and read it. The growth in writing skills and her ability to embrace a more complicated storyline is more than evident. Read it, and then get ready for the undeniable urge to read the next book coming out March 30!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Can't wait for #3 in this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Good read

    Loved the story and can't wait for the next one in the series. I would only recommend better editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Really Liked this series

    I really liked this one. Can't wait for the next one to come out. When is that suppose to be?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    WONDERFUL!!!!

    I was lucky to get an ARC copy of A Taste for a Mate (book #2 in the Redwood Pack series) and let me tell you...it's one tasty morsel. In this book we get to meet the whole Jamenson family and find out a bit more about the Redwood Pack. Jasper Jamenson is the Beta of the pack and is in charge of protecting it so he has no time for anything else until he comes across the yummiest scent "cinnamon/Mate," he goes in search of it and finds Willow Denton, a bakery shop owner and human.

    Jasper realizes that since she is human he needs to take things slow, so after weeks of stopping by the shop he finally asks her out. Little did Jasper or Willow know that there were others at work - evil at work against them. Willow is forcefully thrown into a paranormal world of her nightmares - werewolves, demons, and witches.

    Carrie Ann Ryan has done it again for me with the wonderful world she has created. I adore her characters and have become very fond of two in particular (Adam & Maddox). I can't wait for April when Trinity Bound comes out so I can see what happens next. Once again she has made me cry, but also made made me laugh through the whole book! Great job and I highly recommend this book and author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3