Customer Reviews for

A Taste for a Mate

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended!

Carrie Ann Ryan steps up the anti with A Taste for a Mate. With the appearance of a conjured demon, the Redwood pack could be in some serious trouble. Experience Ryan's new and exciting twists in werewolf lore. She takes a darker than usual approach by adding magic ...
Carrie Ann Ryan steps up the anti with A Taste for a Mate. With the appearance of a conjured demon, the Redwood pack could be in some serious trouble. Experience Ryan's new and exciting twists in werewolf lore. She takes a darker than usual approach by adding magic and demons to the mix. I wasn't sure how it was all going to come together at first, but I was very pleased with the result. A delightful world of magic and intrigue hidden within our own.
The two main characters of the book are Jasper and Willow. I love the fact that Jasper waited seven weeks before asking Willow out on a date. It's so "human" that he was insecure. Both characters grow and change as their story progresses and as a reader I love to see those changes.
Ryan brings her story to life with beautifully vivid imagery, witty humor, and lots of sexual tension. Sink your teeth into this exciting and sexy love story. You won't be disappointed.

posted by KrystalShannan on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed...

For such a high star rating, I really expected something not... Crappy. I honestly could not get past the first 20 pages; it was that bad. Thr grammar was horrible, the plot moved too quickly, and the vocabulary was that of a middle school child. A complete waste of my ...
For such a high star rating, I really expected something not... Crappy. I honestly could not get past the first 20 pages; it was that bad. Thr grammar was horrible, the plot moved too quickly, and the vocabulary was that of a middle school child. A complete waste of my money.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Carrie Ann Ryan steps up the anti with A Taste for a Mate. With the appearance of a conjured demon, the Redwood pack could be in some serious trouble. Experience Ryan's new and exciting twists in werewolf lore. She takes a darker than usual approach by adding magic and demons to the mix. I wasn't sure how it was all going to come together at first, but I was very pleased with the result. A delightful world of magic and intrigue hidden within our own.
    The two main characters of the book are Jasper and Willow. I love the fact that Jasper waited seven weeks before asking Willow out on a date. It's so "human" that he was insecure. Both characters grow and change as their story progresses and as a reader I love to see those changes.
    Ryan brings her story to life with beautifully vivid imagery, witty humor, and lots of sexual tension. Sink your teeth into this exciting and sexy love story. You won't be disappointed.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Tall, dark and handsome keeps showing up at Mel’s bakery e

    Tall, dark and handsome keeps showing up at Mel’s bakery every morning, until one day he finally asks her out. Delighted she expects a wonderful night, instead she gets kidnapped, tortured and near killed and at the very last moment saved by Jasper. And let’s not forget she discovers there are such creatures as werewolves, and they aren’t all nice.

    Jasper is the Beta of the Redwood Pack, he’s been dying to make a move on Melanie, he knows she’s his mate, but Mel’s human and knows nothing about werewolves or about his Pack, but risking it he finally asks her out. Before he gets to pick her up she’s kidnapped by a rival Pack, The Centrals. Jasper and his brothers do everything they can to save her – with the consequences of having to take Mel to Pack lands to keep her safe, to keep her his.

    The Central Pack and its sadistic alpha won’t go down easy, they have a plan of their own to get rid of Redwood Pack and their way to do it just happens to lay in Melanie and Jasper and destroying everything they hold dear. No amount of blood, family or morals will stop these wolves from making pack with the devil. Literally.

    A Taste For A Mate was a great continuation for the Redwood Pack Series! Dark, entertaining and passionate! Carrie Ann Ryan writes like a pro, the text is engaging the reader to react, to feel and to hope. The characters are realistic and the depth of their emotions made this a genuinely interesting read – hoped throughout the book that Melanie and Jasper could get a break and just settle down, and be happy for ever after, but this doesn’t seem to be that sort of series. There is a delicious amount of darkness and truly wicked enemies that made the hairs at the back of my neck rise. I loved the darkness of the events unfolding in contrast to the love blossoming between Mel and Jasper.

    Jasper had all the characteristics of an alpha, even though he was the Pack’s Beta, powerful, smart and when it came to Melanie, possessive. I can’t help but love the traits of a werewolf hero, all the possessive don’t cross on my turf kind of attitude, the desperation for their mate and their protectiveness and hot bedroom manners! But then there has to be something about the hero that makes him relatable, bit weak and in Jasper’s case that was inability to express himself to Melanie which caused some major drift and trouble, and after that he was even more compelled to show her that he truly loved her.

    Melanie took to the Pack life like a moth to the flame, she finally had a family and she was so genuine and happy and caring that you could not help but adore her. She had a strong side too but being only human among friendly and not so friendly werewolves, it wasn’t physical. One of the most adorable heroines I’ve read in ages!

    What I loved about this novel was the time, everything happened snap quick in the beginning and then there were weeks and months between actions – which tribute so well to getting to know the Pack and letting Melanie adjust and bringing everyone to connect deeply. Sometimes the insta-connection is good, but I so enjoyed everyone getting to know each other over months!

    I loved all the twists in this book! Just when you thought things were settling down and people were happy, wham, the rugs off from underneath your feet and you’re on your ass with a snarling beast before you. Loved it! There wasn’t one boring moment in this book! And the cliffhangers, oh boy I loved those!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great

    Can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My absolute FAVORITE series gets another FANTABULATASTIC addition!

    After reading, and falling in love with, book 1, An Alpha's Mate, I knew I MUST read book 2.And I am SO happy that I did! This series, this author, these characters ALL pull me instantly to the heart of the wolf's den and make me a part of their lives, if just for the length of the novels. This story picks up where An Alpha's Mate leaves off. Though this one if full length where as An Alpha's Mate was not, this story is still incredibly written like book 1. This is Willow and Jasper's story. Both characters are deep and complex, yet vibrant and refreshing. I loved their story and the connection that they instantly had for each was awesome. Jasper Jamenson is the second son of the Redwood Pack's Alpha leader and has been going into Willow's bakery for more than a month, and each day, just by seeing her and being near her, he falls for her a little more. He knows she's his mate, but he's nervous about telling her that. Getting up the nerve to finally ask her out, he's completely unaware of the danger that is surrounding his Willow. Willow Denton is an orphan, who has finally gotten her dream of owning her own bakery. She loves her customers, especially the sexy, gorgeous mystery man who comes to her shop every day to order the same thing. She fantasizes about him when he's not there, so she's super excited when he asks her on a date. But, when he leaves, she, too is unaware of the danger that's around her.....that is, until she's kidnapped by the enemy pack. The hunt for Willow ensues, and Jasper is forced to make her his mate. But, Willow is unsure if he really wanted to make her his mate or if it was because he wanted to protect her and the enemy pack forced him. Determined to prove herself worthy of Jasper and win his love, she's in for a treat when she learns the real reason behind Jasper's mating. This story is full of fun, desperation, hot,passionate, steamy love scenes and one whopper of an ending! Once again, the lives of werewolves have stolen my heart, as Carrie Ann Ryan created another beyond 5 Book worthy novel. She combines all the passion, all the bonds, and the meaning of friendship and family into one incredible book. Bringing back all the characters from book 1, and adding in a few new ones, Ms. Ryan keeps the reader on the edge of their seat with the twists and turns, and keeps them ohhing and ahhing with the amazing, instant chemistry between Jasper and Willow. This is by far, my absolute FAVORITE series, and I can't wait until April when book 3, Trinity Bound, Reed's story releases. This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Totally Loved this second installment

    I want a Jasper of my own! This book was even better than the first! You got to meet the whole family and now I want to know more about that dark and stormy Maddox!

    It was hot, dark, suspenseful, romantic, deep and just all around amazing.

    I'm totally happy I took a chance on this author! Loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    good

    love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    Another book in the Redwood series, enjoyable an interesting

    Another book in the Redwood series, enjoyable an interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I enjoyed this book and the others that go with this series... K

    I enjoyed this book and the others that go with this series... Keep up the good work Carrie Ann!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Great

    My favorite in the series so far. The other ones out don't compare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    A Taste For A Mate by Carrie Ann Ryan. Carrie Ann just keeps get

    A Taste For A Mate by Carrie Ann Ryan. Carrie Ann just keeps getting
    better! This is the second book in the Redwood Pack series, and is
    Jasper and Willow's story. Jasper is the Beta of the Redwood Pack, and
    is a very busy werewolf. He has waited a very long time to find his true
    mate. Willow Delton is a young woman with no family who owns a small
    bakery in the town near Jasper's den. When Jasper walks into her bakery
    one day, he realizes he has found his mate. Little does he know what
    series of dangerous and tragic events the discovery will set off with
    their rival pack the Centrals. Can Jasper and Willow find their way to
    trust and make a lasting bond despite the machinations of outside
    forces? I could not put this book down! Read it and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Loved it

    Ive read all in this series an its not enough!great story,it has its cute moments but its definatly a romantic book!i hope the series continues

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Carrie Ann Ryan has made a fan for life out of me. This short p

    Carrie Ann Ryan has made a fan for life out of me.

    This short paranormal story has a hunky Alpha wolf hero and a geeky heroine, who has to decide what she really wants (like it should be that hard...come on...lol) and of course the HEA or is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    WOOOHOOO!!! Keep them coming!

    Hotter by the minute. Definite page turner! Who doen't love Jasper and Willow!! Sexy, Dangerous, Yumm Yumm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Nice

    ok...I recommend it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Yet another great installment! This book was even better than th

    Yet another great installment! This book was even better than the first if you can believe it! I loved the character Jasper! I'm eagerly awaiting the next book because this is a series that keep me riveted. Well written and very entertaining, I literally could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    The 2nd book for carrie Ann Ryan was evan better than the 1st. I

    The 2nd book for carrie Ann Ryan was evan better than the 1st. I laughed and cried and wanted more. You fall in love with these Redwood pack werewolves and are looking forward to seeing what happens to the rest of the pack. AWESOME book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    A Taste For A Mate packs quite a phenomenal punch for a paranorm

    A Taste For A Mate packs quite a phenomenal punch for a paranormal lover like me! Werewolves, witches, and demons are all involved in a brutal war that takes prisoners, and has no mercy. The Redwood pack is strong, kind, loving and has a well developed community that is perfect for Willow. However, when she gets caught as the pawn by the jealous, greedy and evil Central pack, she bears more torture than any one human can withstand. Can her beloved Jasper save her?

    Carrie Ann Ryan has a wonderful sense of humor, which shines, and made me laugh out loud at times. For instance, at one point, as Willow is removing Jasper's shirt, she stops to ponder, "Seriously, who outside of a romance novel has an eight pack?" My husband wanted to know what was so funny :D

    I can't wait to read Reed's story, Trinity Bound, and the following stories of the Redwood Pack. They are a hardy bunch, and I would love to belong to this pack of werewolves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great page turner!

    The second installment of the Redwood Pack series is Jasper and Willow's story. From the beginning I couldn't wait to turn the page to find out what was going to happen, trouble was brewing right from the start. I enjoyed reading the romance between the characters and boy did it flourish! The story has lots of action both between the sheets and out of them. Romantic paranormal lovers will find this authors take on the battle between good and evil very intriguing. I cannot wait to read about the the next Jamenson brother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3