BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Terrible Love

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Terrible Love was a heart pounding, panty dropping, suspensefu

A Terrible Love was a heart pounding, panty dropping, suspenseful read and I LOVED every second of it!! I’m still experiencing the high from the adrenaline rush. 

I wasn’t expecting to completely devour this book but I did. All the while my heart was racing from the fi...
A Terrible Love was a heart pounding, panty dropping, suspenseful read and I LOVED every second of it!! I’m still experiencing the high from the adrenaline rush. 

I wasn’t expecting to completely devour this book but I did. All the while my heart was racing from the first page to the very last one.

The story was not only well written but had ALL of the characteristics that I check off when finding that “good read”. 
• One or more HOT alpha bad boys 
• Terrific sidekick/best friend
• Hot chemistry 
• Great story line
• Danger
• Secrets
• Likeable heroine
• Twists
• Complete story - no cliffhanger!!

Meet our heroine, Jewell MacLeod she is in disguise and on the run from her monster of a stepbrother, Thaddeus MacLeod. Jewell is the stepdaughter of the South Dakota Senator and presidential candidate. She changes her name, her hair and eye color and flees the only life she knows after a horrific event takes place. 

As a reader we meet up with Jess two years later attending the University of Washington living under the radar until her best friend signs her up for an audition for the Seattle Ballet. Jess meets several hot guys and some scary ones and the story unfolds from there. 

My new book boyfriend Devin Castile. He is more than yummy and oh wow there are several off the charts scenes that he is featured in. He is the perfect combination of dark and sexy.

" I loved him and that is all.

And Everything."

As for how the story unfolds – I can’t really explain without giving anything away so let’s just say you’ll have to click the purchase button one more time for A Terrible Love and find out for yourself! I promise you won’t be disappointed! 

posted by Jennifer_Kyle on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ugh. This book is terribly written. The first two chapters intro

Ugh. This book is terribly written. The first two chapters introduce a long slate of characters, some barely distinguishable from the others. There's the token nice guy, the frightening bad boy and the jock. 
Worse, the heroine gets sweaty over the scary bad boy for no ...
Ugh. This book is terribly written. The first two chapters introduce a long slate of characters, some barely distinguishable from the others. There's the token nice guy, the frightening bad boy and the jock. 
Worse, the heroine gets sweaty over the scary bad boy for no obvious reason. "O giant hulk! I'm terrified, yet my panties are wet!"
Totally ridiculous, and not worth the $0.99. 

posted by Spinney on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Great

    I was supprised. Good read. Got lost a few times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.25 stars A TERRIBLE LOVE is the first storyline in Marata Ero

    3.25 stars

    A TERRIBLE LOVE is the first storyline in Marata Eros (aka Tamara Rose Blodgett) contemporary new adult series-A Terrible Love. A companion novel -A Brutal Tenderness –that parallels the timeline in A Terrible Love was released in August 2013, written in the hero’s POV. It is the same story, but told from Devin Castile’s point of view and much of the storyline overlaps.
    The premise of A Terrible Love follows university sophomore Jess Mackey, who for the previous two years, has hidden a secret and her true identity from everyone at school. A former ballet student who once had aspirations of a dancing career, Jess is on the run, hiding in the halls of a post secondary institution, hoping that her past and her family do not uncover her whereabouts. But fate has not been kind to Jess, now that two men are vying for her affection. And in the end, her secrets will place everyone she knows and loves in danger and some of them will not survive.
    A Terrible Love is a story of mystery, suspense and a building relationship. The reader is taken on a roller coaster ride of one woman’s indecision that threatens to destroy them all and the past that comes full circle.
    The storyline also features a love triangle that set my anxiety radar into over drive. Although this isn’t a young adult storyline-the heroine’s attitude as it pertained to her safety; the men in her life; and the potential for a very bad outcome was immature and ill conceived. Jess instinctively wants both men-one is safe (as far as she knows) and one is the epitome of the bad boy-tattoos, leather and foul language. And to add more mystery, there is a serial killer on the loose on campus, and the killer has recently upped his body count and his intent.
    What ensues is a bitter and ugly battle for Jess Mackey’s affections and one that disguises a deadly intent. The relationship between Jess and Devin is one of forbidden love and sensuality; Devin wants the one woman he has sworn to protect and their antics will become fuel for those hoping to bring them down.
    A Terrible Love is an interesting storyline about a woman with a secret past, who is desperately trying to remain hidden behind the façade of someone else. But her past will eventually catch up, and when it does, no one is safe from its’ deadly reach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    I'm not sure what I was expecting from this one, but it was a li

    I'm not sure what I was expecting from this one, but it was a little different all the way around. Despite the fact that I did like the premise, and the story developed pretty well from a plot perspective, I just wasn't completely into it. I think part of the problem might have been some aspects of the characters' personalities, and the interactions between them.

    First of all, the heroine came across to me as a bit weak. Although she has been through a horrible tragedy and is in hiding as a result, which justifies a certain bit of timidity and a desire to move through the world unknown and apart from other people somewhat, she took it to a bit of an extreme for me. I'm talking more her personal choices. There is more than one guy in this story, and she just seems to hop from guy to guy with little thought. The little arrangement she makes to screw one but date the other just isn't an admirable trait, in my opinion. She just needed to pick one.

    She seemed to spend a great portion of the story stating that she couldn't let anyone know her due to the necessity for hiding, so you would think that she wouldn't go for a guy that wanted a relationship. So that would leave one of the guys off the list right away. The other one, who seems to just want sex, would have been the perfect choice. Yet, she makes this little arrangement so she can have the safer, relationship-oriented guy, while still being able to have sex with the no-strings guy. It just didn't make sense to me exactly. Her motives just weren't clear. Plus, I didn't really like either guy, and I had trouble seeing how quickly she began to like both. She had seen what I'd seen of them up to then, so I'm wondering what she saw in them.

    The danger aspect of the story was pretty good, and it was for that reason that I did get some enjoyment out of the story. Especially after she finally figured out who she wanted to be with.

    All in all, I'd give the story an A for effort, but all of the pieces and players in the story didn't really win me over like I had hoped they would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    A Terrible Love is a dark and twisty story of a tormented heroin

    A Terrible Love is a dark and twisty story of a tormented heroine, the unreadable man she loves, and a mystery that leaves you guessing until the end.



    First things first, I love this cover. I like the dark and mysterious tone it conveys, and that it fits the story. Gorgeous.



    As for the story, well, I was intrigued right away. The story begins with a frightening prologue, and I couldn't help but read the story just waiting for the other shoe to drop. And though I won't go into the specifics, because really, it's a lot to cover, but also, is best left to the story. The suspense was a continuous presence throughout the story, and what really kept me on the hook.



    Another reason I enjoyed the story... Devin Castile. He was an edgy and mysterious guy. I wanted to believe, and hoped, he was a good guy. His intensity, especially in the intimate scenes with Jess, were pretty great. I would have definitely loved to have had more, more, more of him in the book!



    While I did enjoy the overall premise of the story, there were certain aspects that didn't win me over. I found some of the writing to be a bit heavy on the metaphors. I had to reread several passages just to make sure that I was correctly comprehending what was being said. And the ending, in my eyes, was confusing. When the big mystery was revealed, I wasn't sure who did what to whom and why. I'm not sure if the issues was plot holes, or just me, but I didn't completely buy it.



    Having said that, I did like A Terrible Love. I was fascinated by the complex and insatiable relationship between Jess and Cas. And I did find the overall story to be very cool. If you're looking for a story that brings the steam and will keep you guessing until the end, A Terrible Love may hit the spot.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    So many loose ends

    I had a lot of problems with this book. A lot of loose ends and the rushed ending didn't help. I didn't understand her whole I'm anonymous blend into the background attitude. ..and then suddenly she's dating two guys?! And the whole he's the sage choice and that's why I'm dating him but i looove so and so. ...is absolutely ridiculous when coupled with her desire to remain anonymous. The editing was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1