Customer Reviews for

A Thirty-Something Girl

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Thirty Something Girl

This is an emotional tale about a girl named Hope and her coming to terms with the tragedies of her past. It's an eloquently written story that reveals so many truths to real life and real people. One of the best romance stories I've read in a long time, it also focuses...
This is an emotional tale about a girl named Hope and her coming to terms with the tragedies of her past. It's an eloquently written story that reveals so many truths to real life and real people. One of the best romance stories I've read in a long time, it also focuses on how special and important frienships are. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who treasures stories of the heart.

posted by bookfanJJ on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Depressing

Couldnt get through it

posted by 5746215 on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    A Thirty Something Girl

    This is an emotional tale about a girl named Hope and her coming to terms with the tragedies of her past. It's an eloquently written story that reveals so many truths to real life and real people. One of the best romance stories I've read in a long time, it also focuses on how special and important frienships are. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who treasures stories of the heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    A Must Read - You can change your life and find contentment.

    For a debut A Thirty Something Girl has some very heartfelt and true situations that are well writ. What desires many are afraid of are on display for one to experience vicariously. Well done to L.M.Stull. Buy the book, read it and don't sweat the small stuff. Oh. Everything is 'small stuff'.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Top 5 Things to Like About A Thirty-Something Girl 5. It is NSFW

    Top 5 Things to Like About A Thirty-Something Girl
    5. It is NSFW, unless your boss puts up with you crying at your desk.
    4. You know the book is real, then you know it isn’t, then you know... The blurring serves the characters’ development well.
    3. You’d better be ready to get stripped down to your essence.
    2. You’d better be ready to feel your heart being ripped out at the starting blocks.
    1. Thirty-something girls totally rock those summer outfits!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Stull’s protagonist, Hope, hasn’t just experienced a

    Stull’s protagonist, Hope, hasn’t just experienced a hint of darkness. She was thrown straight into a hole. Even if she had the right equipment, dirt was caving in faster than she could shovel. She didn’t believe hope was waiting on the other side. She couldn’t get out of her own way. Her flaws trumped her worth.

    We’ve all been there at one time or another, because darkness comes in so many different forms. Whether it’s a relationship or marriage dissolving, losing the ones we love, getting axed from the job of our dreams, or finding a way out without a light. Each of these situations causes emotional turmoil. Some choose to let these moments become their end. The strong ones allow them to only be their beginning. For those who fight, it’s how you survive and the tools you use that define your character. For Hope, she can allow her past to only be a memory or she can allow it to be the foundation of her future.

    “Stop apologizing for being yourself.” This is one of the lines that stood out the most and something, I believe, we can all learn from. We can’t change who we are. Our traits must be embraced and loved. We can stop history from repeating itself by learning from our mistakes. But it’s that layer of protection that prevents us from making the same mistakes twice.

    Stull’s characters experience tragedy, love, loss, and redemption. While more information began to unfold, all I could do was hold on with both hands. This story hit me. It brought out dark emotions and those are the ones that affect me the most. It was fiction based on fact, and it was well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    A Perfect Book for All Ages

    I’m not the world’s fastest reader, but I cannot remember the last time I breezed through a book as quickly as I did A Thirty-Something Girl. From the first sentence to the last, I inhaled L.M.’s words as if they were air.

    Does this mean there wasn’t a lot of substance? Absolutely not. Written in first person point of view, Hope Ellena Jackson, a thirty-something girl lives through more twists and turns in a year than many of us encounter in a lifetime. At almost any point in the book, I was riding a wave of frayed emotions – either my stomach was in knots or my inner cheerleader was doing high-kicks.

    You see, I really liked Hope. I liked her relationship with her girlfriends, her romantic interest, and her broken past. In her, any woman can find something to relate to. Hope is that part of us who must come to terms with life’s misfortunes. Some of them are of our own making; others are by circumstance. Either way, Hope has to deal with the consequences. In the process, she cements her friendships, opens her heart, and finds love.

    L.M.’s book is a testament to the type of stories she wants to write. In A Thirty-Something Girl, she spins a generous tale about the resilience of the human spirit. Hope is her vehicle to illustrate that we all have the ability to rise above life’s hardships. As with her main character’s journey, it’s never a straight line to a happy ending, but while moving toward it, we learn what we are truly capable of.

    My strong suspicion is that L.M. wrote A Thirty-Something Girl from a very personal place—perhaps her own life experiences from this past year. Hope is a thinly veiled metaphor, and there is clever wordplay strewn throughout the book using her name.

    L.M. has written a book for all ages. It’s not just for thirty-something girls; it’s for twenty-somethings who can learn valuable life lessons, and those older who can take comfort in the wisdom of their decisions.

    It’s for all of us who implicitly know that life is what we make of it, but sometimes a thirty-something girl like Hope comes along and reminds us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Heartbreaking and Heartwarming--A Journey of the Heart

    This beautifully written novel focuses on Hope, a girl who has almost lost all hope in life. Having hit rock bottom and gone through tragedy after tragedy, Hope discovers the importance of friendship and how to love again and open herself up to new directions in life.

    L.M. Stull proves herself to be an amazing writer and story-teller in this gem of a novel. Heartbreaking and heartwarming, Hope's journey becomes all of our journey and takes the reader through all the highs and lows of life. The best part of this book for me was the relationships between Hope and her friends, and the tenderness with which her new love blossoms. Stull has found her voice in this debut novel and I can't wait to read more from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    L. M. Stull has written a novel to rival any I¿ve ever read. Som

    L. M. Stull has written a novel to rival any I’ve ever read. Some might call Thirty-Something Girl a story for women, but I have to disagree with that assessment. This is a novel anyone, man or woman, can soak their soul in and feel the real pain of Hope Jackson. Stull’s description of depression is so real and heartfelt it brought back the sorrows of my life. A master’s touch.

    Thirty-Something Girl is also a story of friendship, support and love as Hope’s friends gather around her to hold her head above water until she learns to swim again. Hope meets Sam, who is deep in his own woes, and they learn to love and be the one thing each is looking for.

    I truly enjoyed LM Stull’s writing style, her story and the poetry of her words. Thirty-Something Girl! is a book for anyone who believes in the power of friendship and love. Read and believe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I think the draw to A Thirty-Something Girl--beyond Ms. Stull's

    I think the draw to A Thirty-Something Girl--beyond Ms. Stull's
    fantastic writing--is the 'realness' of the characters and story. This
    is not to say it's everyday or forgettable, nothing like that; rather,
    it offers an unflinching look at the trials, tribulations and, most
    importantly, triumphs of adulthood through a character, Hope, that is
    relatable. That we instantly connect with. That we root for. And this is
    a testament more than anything to Ms. Stull's storytelling ability,
    keeping us hooked from page one. Bottom line: I cannot recommend this
    novel enough. I cannot wait to see what Ms. Stull writes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1