Customer Reviews for

A Thousand Different Ways

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I liked this Cd. However, it would have been much better if he hadn't just re-made a bunch of old love songs. His voice is great, and the few original songs on the album are definitely worth it, but the rest is just a re-make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aiken-Written Song a Real Standout on Beautiful Album

    A must-buy both for the exquisite tenor voice of Clay Aiken and beautiful songs ranging from lesser known covers to originals, including one written by Aiken. Clay Aiken, known as a powerful singer with a very pure tone, is now using his voice in other ways too - soft, sexy, sultry, vulnerable, tender, songs from his heart. The real surprise on this album is "Lonely No More, lyrics by Clay Aiken - amazing lyrics that reach right in and grab your emotions, shake you out of your comfort zone, and with a really good pop sound, perfect for release as a single. A beautifully produced album with amazing orchestrations, each song just another reflection of the sheer musical beauty of the whole album, but the song that really stands out is "Lonely No More" and therein lies a clear vision of the future for this artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Listen, don't gossip

    Here are the sounds of a 19-year old kid trying to cover up his baldness with a very bad looking shagcut. Songs like "Right Here Waiting," "Everything I Do (I Do It for You)" and the ultimate schmaltz-song "Because You Loved Me" show a lack of originality. And "Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word" seems to say it all- one of Elton's worst songs ever, and he's done some great songs. For those of you who are trying to speculate into his private life- have you even bothered to listen to his music? Clay can sing, but I'd like to hear him do some original tunes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Soothing to my ears

    Yes, I'm a Clay Aiken fan, however, I wasn't too keen on the idea of his doing mostly covers. So, I'm not the typical gushing fan. I will tell you that I am NOT in the least disappointed with the covers, nor the originals. I do not agree that all the original artists did these covers better. Some of his I prefer. I think he has some pretty good hits, eg. Without You (AC), Lonely No More (country crossover), A Thousand Days (Hot AC), Everything I Have (AC), These Open Arms, (Hot AC). On Itunes with the album download you get Lover All Alone (lyrics written by Clay, Music by David Foster) It is beautiful, and is the Top Hit off the whole album, and it's a bonus song. And the song If You Don't Know Me By Now a download off K-mart's album CD. It's quite good also. Clay's vocal work is less is more. He really shines without yelling or screaming. So soothing to my ears. His arrangements are enchanting. If you loved Bing Crosby you'll love Clay. But Clay gives you more...sensuality, and power. He has given us a beautiful CD. It's a matter of time before people realize that these songs were for us his fans, and we are all in this together. eg. Broken Wings. Song titles express his gratitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NO ONE BETTER

    No one can sing better then CLAY, an these Songs only PROVE it. Absolutely Fantastic. its a shame he wasnt the Original Artist of these Fine Love Songs, cause he shows so much more emotion. If your in love, or ever been in love, get the tissues ready, these songs are THAT powerful coming from CLAY. Just listen to the example clips, I promise you will be buying this CD an it will be YOUR FAVORITE. :-) thanks Clay an CLive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful album!

    I'm very impressed with this CD and absolutely love it!! Clay's vocals shine through with such passion, soul, and range. What a talent!! He sings every song just beautifully. The arrangements of the cover songs and the originals are wonderful. This album touches and moves me beyond words. It's one that people of all ages can listen to, and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In A Class By Itself

    Clay's vocal range in A Thousand Different Days is truly amazing. He can sing low key or high key - softly or blow the roof off the building. I love his new album - beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent !!!

    This music CD by Clay Aiken is not boring at all. Clay Aiken makes each great song his own. Clay Aiken's upgraded renditions on the cover songs are a whole lot more exciting and entertaining than the originals like: "Right Here Waiting" and "Everytime You Go Away." He co-wrote the sensational song "Lonely No More" which is one of my favorites. I also love "Without You" and "A Thousand Days." This is amazing Clay Aiken singing at his very best. No wonder he is America's Idol and was called "The Voice" on American Idol 2. Clay Aiken has the best voice in music today. Please buy this CD. You will be very happy that you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    Amazing... He blows me away every time. He has a fantastic voice and everyone should buy this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aiken is back-Smooth and Sensual

    So many good tracks, where to begin?! My personal favorites include "Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word" (bluesy and sexy) "A Thousand Days" (rockin' & made for radio) "Lonely No More" (pure Aiken,co-written by him I understand, and also great for radio) " When I See You Smile" (loved the original by Bad English, love this one too) "Everything I Do" (really enjoy the "celtic" feel to this piece-- was never a big fan of the song before but I dig this version) "These Open Arms" (penned by Jon Bon Jovi and Desmond Child, this is a perfect vehicle for Aiken's voice--it just soars!) and finally, my absolute album favorite, "Broken Wings". This arrangement is stunning--mystical, ethereal,almost otherworldly. His voice just caresses the words and the backing female voice just lifts you. Then as you're there "suspended" the spoken poetry insinuates itself and you're truly transported....somewhere...and you don't want to come back! Delicious! Get this CD and go along on the journey with Aiken. You'll be glad you did in "A Thousand Different Ways"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FANTASTIC!!!!

    More than I could have dreamed and well worth waiting for. Rock on Clay!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great job, Clay!

    I am enjoying this new album immensely. Clay seems to have an uncanny ability to pick my favorite songs to sing, and he has never sounded better. I eagerly await his next collection of original songs too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding vocals

    If the listener wants to hear music sung well, I would highly recommend A Thousand Different Ways. Clay sings each of these songs with hauntingly beautiful emotions. His strong vocal range especially shines in the higher registers. It's a real treat to listen to such an excellent singer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Really a boring cd. After a while it just puts you to sleep. Cannot tell one song from the other. Sorry Clay next time how about some creativity?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Clay shines

    I'm lovin' this album, beautiful songs and production, fantastic voice! Some are extra special - WY is wow, Everything I Do amazing, Everything I Have exquisite, ATD and IWKWLI rock out big time, WISYS happy, LNM, and HYCA lilting-wistful. And here we go again, Mr. A!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another winner!

    Like the sound of a Stradivarius violin as opposed to an ordinary one - - that's my comparison of Clay Aiken's magnificent voice to some other singers of today! Total beauty in sound and emotional delivery, completely different than the originals. Better stock up on this CD because you'll wear them out! Thank you Clay for giving us in all age brackets something beautiful to listen to, and please deliver the next one much sooner! Thank you again (you too, Clive and Jaymes)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What A Joy....!

    He has outdone the debut album! This is such a work of art. There is not a single song on this album that disappoints! And he adds his own style, his own Clayism with every vocal. And Clay, Darlin'....keep giving glory to Jesus because He has blessed you with a voice of an angel. Rejoice, folks Clay's album: what a joy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best singer of our times

    Excellent CD. Clay does it again! I hope he is given alot of radio time this time. His voice is totally awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing vocals, A must have CD

    I truly love this CD! Clay Aiken is an incredibly talented young man. I have listened to this CD over and over again and its better each time I hear it. 'A Thousand Days' in one of my favorites. I only became a fan of American Idol 2 years ago so I missed out on Clay’s time on the show. Poor me. The new songs are all good and the old songs are very well arranged. This CD should do amazing well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recycled material worse than the original

    Don't even bother picking this one up...You're better off finding the music from all of the original artists Clay fed off of and listening to them, because the originals are way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5