Customer Reviews for

A Tiger's Claim

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Title: A Tiger's Claim - Ashwood Falls Book 1 Author: Lia Davis

    Title: A Tiger's Claim - Ashwood Falls Book 1
    Author: Lia Davis
    Publisher: Fated Desires Publishing LLC
    Published: 3-17-2013
    ISBN: 10: 1623220513
    ISBN: 13: 978-1623220518
    E-Book ASIN: B00BVE1BT8
    Pages: 134
    Genre: Romance
    Tags: Shifter, Magic, Paranormal, Witches


    Shayna "Shay" Andrews, a rare white tiger and pack princess, feels as though her adoptive family is smothering her. After yet another fight with her father over the tight rein he is keeping on her she takes off on a run without a guard. If not for the intervention of Travis Hunter, An Alpha wolf who lost his pack, she would have been violated and killed by the mutant Onyx Pack that is out to either kill or convert every shifter they can. Travis takes her back to his cabin to treat her wounds and to keep her safe until she can contact her family. Unfortunately the trauma Shay suffered has thrown her into her first mating cycle. Travis helps her through it only to discover she is his true mate. Now he just has convince her and her father who is the Alpha of the Ashwood Pack.


    Trying to avoid the Mutants who have managed to invade the Ashwood land in the past, Travis and Shay also must find a way to save Travis' daughter who has been infected with a poison that is not only sending the four year old into an early shift, but will also cause her to turn her into one of the murderous Onyx Pack Mutants. Forcing Travis to kill her before she can infect others. Will Travis and Shay stay alive long enough to form a mating bond? Will they be able to find a serum to save Josie? Will the Ashwood Pack accept the mating of a tiger and a wolf? What happened to Travis's first mate and his pack?


    I fell in love with this book from the moment I read the first page. It keeps you involved from start to finish. If you like stories about shifters and have not tried one of Lia Davis' books before let me recommend this series. There is a prequel novella titled A Winter's Eve that tells the story of Danica "Dani" Welsh & Nevan Matthews. Although not necessary to read it before A Tiger's Claim you may want to pick it up as well because their story is referred to through this story. Since you are already thinking about these two books why not take a look at book 2 in the series, A Mating Dance Ashwood Falls Book 2 about Cameron Nickels & Blaine Andrews along with Surrendering To The Apha - Ashwood Falls Book 3 about Ashwood Pack Alpha Keegan Andrews & Addyson Lewis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the story of Shay and Travis. Who knew the first time Sh

    This is the story of Shay and Travis. Who knew the first time Shay, a white tiger, came into heat, she would be with Travis, a brown wolf, and they would turn out to be mates? Oh, and that was their first time meeting!

    I loved it! The flow of this story line was so smooth and leaves you with no question about what's going on with each character. What about Josie? Who wouldn't fall in love with that 4 year old little princess. Her part of the story broke my heart. Thank you Lia Davis for another amazing book in this series. Can't wait to return to Ashwood Falls for the next book, A Mating Dance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Shayna is the protected Princess of the Ashwood Falls Pack. She

    Shayna is the protected Princess of the Ashwood Falls Pack. She is not allowed much freedom, and even if she knows it’s for her own safety, it still eats at her. The one time she goes against those rules and the consequences are dire. She’s attacked by mutants.

    Travis has lost his mate and his pack. All he has left is his daughter and his mother. When he sees the mutants attacking a woman he acts, only to find out the woman they were attacking is his mate, his true mate.

    Shay and Travis work through a lot of issues and obstacles to get where they can be together and happy. These two make a beautiful couple and I can’t wait to read more about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read.  If you enjoy shifter romance you will enjo

    This is a must read.  If you enjoy shifter romance you will enjoy this series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Her world changed forever when tiger claimed his wolf! Magnifice

    Her world changed forever when tiger claimed his wolf! Magnificent continuation of the shifter series -- Ashwood Falls! Be sure to read
    Winter Eve first, the prequel to this story. I loved the feel of running wild through the woods with Shay, Josie, and Travis. And now a little about the book...

    Shayna Andrews is the pack princess and she is suffocating! Her father won't let her run free and she is never alone. One day after a huge fight with her father, she took off in the woods and somehow left the den without her normal escorts. She was so mad she lost track of how far she ran and ended up face to face with the enemy. The half-man half-wolf mutants of the Onyx pack. Before the mutants were able to harm Shay too bad, Travis Hunter (former alpha of the Hunter Ridge pack) leaped to the rescue - literally. Shortly after they get back to his cabin and she is healed, her first heat cycle slams into her. Unable to deny his attraction and hoping it is more than her heat cycle, Travis doesn't resist when she attacks him. He knows he has met his true mate, but the next morning she is still unsure.

    Run along with Shay and Travis as they try to protect Ashwood Falls. Meet Travis' daughter Josie. Will Shay claim Travis as hers? Her tiger accepted him right away, but will she? Will her over protective father and brothers? Ashwood Falls already has 2 alphas, will Travis fit in? Give this book a try and you will find out!

    Favorite quote: "You don't love me. You don't even know me. How can you just accept it?"

    Next in the Ashwood Falls series ~ A Mating Dance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unique World!

    Lovers of paranormal romance will be completely drawn into Lia Davis’s unique world filled with various kinds of shifters: tigers, jaguars, leopards, wolves, and mutants. Along with the developing her paranormal world, the author creates two memorable protagonists, Shayna and Travis.

    Alpha female and tiger shifter Shayna, frustrated at being suffocated by her family, takes off for a long run and finds herself in mortal danger. Her savior comes in the form of a lone wolf, Travis. Travis knows that he has found his true mate in Shayna, but Shayna is not convinced. The author does a marvelous job of building a solid relationship between Travis and Shayna and not just a relationship based on sex. Well-crafted secondary characters, Josie, Travis’s daughter from a previous relationship and Robyn, Travis’s mother, help to further nourish the love between Travis and Shayna. The bond that builds between Shayna and Josie shows Shayna’s maternal side, which was just. Even though Travis is an alpha wolf, his strong love for his daughter and his strong need to know Shayna show his sensitive side, making him a hero to cheer for. When Shayna and Travis are intimate, their scenes are sizzling hot.

    In addition to Travis and Shayna’s love story, Davis develops a complex plot with the members of Ashwood Pack, Shayna’s pack, and their enemy, the Onyx Pack, effectively setting up future novels in this new series. With all of these various elements working on multiple levels, A Tiger’s Claim is an engrossing, page-turning first novel in the Ashwood Falls series that provides a wonderfully romantic conclusion while also leaving the reader wanting the next story in this series.


    I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of an honest review for The Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lia pens "A Tiger's Claim", a paranormal romance fille

    Lia pens "A Tiger's Claim", a paranormal romance filled with shifters, magick and some steamy scenes thrown in and it picks up right where the first book "Winter Eve" left off. As usual Lia brought her characters to life but I do recommend that you read the first book in the 'Ashwood Falls' series so your not to lost. Highly recommended for all who love the paranormal romance genre and shifters.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book! Shayna is an alpha's only daughter, r

    I truly enjoyed this book! Shayna is an alpha's only daughter, really adopted daughter! Between he father and brothers she is very overprotective to a point she feels smothered! They all know her every move at all times! After a fight with her father she runs away but encounters members of the Onyx pack, they want her for her powers to help destroy all the other packs! Travis Hunter happens to be near by, who happens to be hunting for the Onyx pack because they killed off all his pack except his mother and daughter! He manages to save Shayna but not before she is fatally injured!After spending time with Shayna he discovers she is he is true mate, the problem lies in the fact Shayna wants freedom not commitment and especially to an alpha male! They find out his daughter is deathly ill, make it to Shayna's  Pack safely and help defeat the Onyx Pack before they defeat them all while saving his daughter and working through a relationship! This book took twist and turns I never saw coming! It was wonderfully written and kept you turning page after to find out what was going to happen next! I can't wait for more in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    This book was so much more than I thought it would be and I real

    This book was so much more than I thought it would be and I really had set the bar pretty high.  I had read the prequel and loved the world Lia had created and could not wait to get my hands on this book.  I was expecting my typical shifter crack, which I love.  Yes you have the shifter "true mate" awesome love story with lots of heat going on, but it does not end there.  Both Shay and Travis have a past that is now looking them in the face as they try to build a future.  Without giving spoilers away, it was great to see the multi- layers of Travis and the many roles he has and has had in the past.  It made his character one I am hoping to see more of as this series continues.  I was sort of thinking Shay was going to be a bit of a princess going into this book and knowing her place in the pack and was pleasantly surprised by who she turned out to actually be, an amazingly strong and selfless woman who lets nothing stand in the way of what she knows she needs to do.  Mix their story with that of this very different pack and I could not put this book down.  If you love shifters and are looking for something different, but still holding all the elements we shifter crack lovers want, this book is probably for you.  I will definitely be devouring any book she releases from this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Swoon worthy!!

    Omg!! Winter Eve was an awesome beginning to Ashwood Falls series, but a Tiger's Claim is flipping Fabulous!! I couldn't put the book down! Shay, a whit tiger shifter that was adopted into the Ashwood pack was a late bloomer who has magical abilities and to top that off, the princess to her pack. Travis an Alpha to the once Hunter wolf pack, hunts down the savages who destroyed his pack, his family. All he has left is his daughter and mother. Shay and Travis' paths collide when she is brutally attacked by the same beasts who destroyed his life. After Travis rescues Shay things heat up. Creating feelings in both of them they never felt before. Wow, Lia you're my hero!! I can't wait to read the next book in this riveting series!! If you love anything to do with shifters, you'll fall in love with this series and never want it to end!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    An exciting new author in the shifter romance genre..... A fa

    An exciting new author in the shifter romance genre.....



    A fabulous first book to kick-off the series of Ashwood Falls and to follow up the prequel, Winter's Eve.
    A Tiger's claim will set author Lia Davis on the road to becoming one of the rising stars of Shifter Romance.
    The beautiful cover will capture your eye, but when danger and passion collide, this powerfully gripping and sensually charged storyline will leave you breathless.
    I can't wait to see what Ms Davis has in store for us next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1