Customer Reviews for

A Treasure's Trove: A Fairy Tale about Real Treasure for Parents and Children of all Ages

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    The Best Book Ever!!!!

    I bought this book for my granddaughters and not only did they love it but my daughter and son-in-law thought it was the BEST! I also bought one for myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    There are 13 treasures.

    So the sentence is a little strange. That's because the clues in the book go as deep as decoding each sentence. He had to reverse engineer the book to accomplish this. Editing the text would make it impossible to find the treasures. (At least this is a theory.) This book is really fun to try and decode. Slowly I'm unraveling a few things here and there. It's very exciting to think I have a chance at finding any. Especially since none have been found yet. This book is full of intricate pictures. And to think that there is so much hidden in them. It was obviously a very difficult book to put together. (I heard it took him 8 years.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    NOT WORTH IT!

    Don't waste your time trying to read this book. Not only is the writing bad (why else would 12 publishers turn it down in the US?), but the treasures are never going to be found. The clues are next to impossible, and unless you want to waste your time trying to crack an uncrackable code, go somewhere else for your fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    A Treasure's Trove Awaits!

    '...None have been redeemed to date! Happy Hunting!' Get the book and get out there! Need I say more? There's 12 tokens/jewels out there as you read this worth more than $1 Million. Spend some time with your family and see the nation! Summer's coming... Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    A Good Read!

    In today's world, a tale that combines fantasy with values is needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    A great family book.

    This is a book that I read to my children, and I loved it as much as they did. I highly recommend it. Another fantastic read (just for the adults though) is A YEAR SINCE YESTERDAY. These two books are the best I have read in a while. Don't pass on either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    The story is just the beginning! TWELEVE treasures await you.. or is it 13 !

    Michael Stadther has told us that there are 'Treasures Tweleve for you to keep' if you figure out the clues and find the locations 'Around the nation Tweleve places to seek.' The most recent clue HINT: TACKLE REPOSITORYS was cracked within hours on an online ORGanized forum named TWELEVE after the mysterious misspelling Stadther uses in the book. Turns out that there are thirteen treasures to find! The clue says 'Crystal Pook is Thirteen,' and the author confirmed this solution. This exicing book gets even more enthralling. Find a friend and start your hunt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    **You will be thrilled, it's a roller coaster!**

    This is a roller coaster of a book. I love it, it keeps me away from the TV and keeps my brain jumping. I recommend it to all age groups, its just fun! I love books and searching for treasure and you will too after reading this exciting,trilling and beautiful fun-filled book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    A Great Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    All I am going to say is, if you like to have a real chalenge, this is the book. I already think I know where 4 treasures are! It takes a while to figure out, but its worth $50,000!!! So get the book, and join the search.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Good idea, bad prose

    You've got to give the author credit for coming up with the idea. Even the story is an interesting idea - a fantasy with bugs and humans, villainy and heroism. My problem is with the prose. Trying to read it to my six year was difficult at times. The sentence structure is often truncated in a way only an adult would understand and some of the words are well above the reading level of an elementary school student. I consider this a book for families, but only those ready and willing to 're-write-on-the-fly' and read the book in a way a younger child would understand. The book is in dire need of a good editor. Too bad the author didn't go that route before self-publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Great Real Life Adventure

    I read this book in about 2 hours. I am now trying to decipher the clues for the real treasures. I read it first and will now read it to my 4 and 6 year old girls. I know they will enjoy the beautiful pictures and Pook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    FUN FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY!

    We read this book to our grandchild and While we have no idea where tokens are hidden and probably won't, this book does give you an appreciation for our landscapes and animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    An Amazing Adventure and Great Book! 12 Hidden GEMS!

    Michael Stadther has hit gold with not only an amazing educational children's book with its heart in the right place, but set off a national treasure hunt not seen nor heard of since the fictional quest for the gold chocolate bars in 'Willy Wonka and Chocolate Factory'. This book has already spawned national interest, catalyzing an adventurous real quest for the 12GEMS (online and in the real world!)- over $1 Million dollars in hidden jewels created in the image of his book's missing characters. Just what we all needed, a pleasant exciting hope filled distraction from the problems plaguing our world today. Thanks Michael! Hmmm.. Wonder where they are? Did you hide one of them in Pacific NorthWest?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Very well written and organized

    It is a pleasure to read a book that written the way this one is. Well organized and the format is perfect. I couldn't ask for anything more then this. The subject matter is interesting and we enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Good story--Great adventure!

    This is a fairly long picture book with quite a bit of text--even short chapters. The story is sweet and sets up the real treasure hunt well. The illustrations are extremely detailed, with hidden clues in nearly every one. You'll spend hours staring at them, trying to decipher some new clue that will lead you to the location of the hidden tokens that you exchange for ACTUAL jewels. Kids and adults will enjoy this book--and you'll need all the heads you can get to figure out the extensive array of hidden clues. This story and adventure will stiull be enjoyed long after the nation-wide treasure hunt is over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Clever Very Clever

    I purchased this book for my 11 yr old nephew and asked my 21 yr old daughter to 'look it over' before I gave it to him .......she spent an hour and had a wonderful time reading the story and looking for the clues. I'll be buying another copy so she may continue the 'adventure' this wonderful story unfolds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1