Customer Reviews for

A Trick of the Light

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mike Welles seemed like a pretty together teen. He had good gra

    Mike Welles seemed like a pretty together teen. He had good grades, was a good baseball outfielder, had a good friend in Tamio Weissberg, and had an okay home life that now seemed to be slowly unraveling. Tamio and Mike spent hours seeing what is known as stop- motion animation films and then discussing the techniques involved in making them. This involved making a small figure, like the well-known and well-loved figure King Kong, and then creating the illusion of movement by moving the figure multiple times over hundreds of frames. It turns out this mirrors or parallels what Mike is about to experience where a voice in his head is at first a minor presence and will soon become the guiding leader of Mike’s thoughts and actions, a process and journey that almost becomes fatal!
    Mike’s parents leave him alone because they are involved in their own mid-life crisis and so there’s no one monitoring the gradual change in their son’s eating and exercising habits. Add to that Tamio becomes a relationship of the past as Mike fixes his attention on two girls in school, one a newcomer who is driven to become a famous ballet dancer and the other one who seems obsessed with healthy eating habits and exercise. Val and Amber couldn’t be more opposite personalities if they worked at it; when Val places her dancing over Mike, he interprets it as more rejection and links to Amber who feed his growing obsession with attaining the perfect physical body.
    It’s rather obvious where this going and yet the author does a fine job of allowing one to sense something is dreadfully wrong but being unable to concretely pin down the looming crisis. This is a serious story that needs to be told, a seemingly innocuous path into which any teen boy could fall and one that is extremely difficult to offset. Mike remains a likeable character caught in a web of lies that everyone around him initially misses. His friends remain supportive and present in spite of Mike’s rejection of each one by one. The voice in Mike’s head is persistent but presented as not so intense until the very end of the story. The end of the story isn’t one that is fairy-tale “roses” but one that leaves the reader satisfied and hopeful about Mike’s future.
    A Trick of the Light is a credible, all too real story that is fictional and yet bears far too much tragic reality. A must read for teens and their families and friends, as well as teachers of teens! Nicely done, Lois Metzger!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    Great book that combines humor and terror, a driving fast-forwar

    Great book that combines humor and terror, a driving fast-forward story about Mike Welles, a young man with a secret and an inner voice. Terrific characters and beautiful writing, this is a perfect book for anyone who has struggled with a dark side, a great book also for reluctant readers. Best YA book of 2013 so far. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    very fine book about a young man's struggle with an eating disor

    very fine book about a young man's struggle with an eating disorder and all that it brings in its wake-- the self-deception, the lying, the rejection of friends and loved ones. But this dark journey is told with enormous humor and wisdom and grace, and moves forward at an intense and galloping pace. This is one book you are not going to want to put down. The narrative voice is very original and works beautifully. Terrific YA book that adults will also want to read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Bits: I hope that this review does A Trick of the Light jus

    Best Bits: I hope that this review does A Trick of the Light justice. I've read two excellent (and very different) books involving eating disorders in the last couple of weeks, and I've been struggling with how to convey it to readers without fangirling too much. I'm not going to say that eating disorders are an easy topic to read about, but when they're done well I believe that they have the ability to educate, and hold the attention of the reader. This book was done in a way that allows the reader to see how gradual Mike's experience with anorexia comes on, and how powerful it's hold is. It also dispels the myth that it's just a "girl" thing. The narration was amazing, the characters were fascinating, and everything just felt real. Of course, everyone's ED (short for eating disorder) experiences are different, but nothing felt forced. I think that another gift Metzger gives to the reader is an understanding of how anorexia helps Mike cope, but at the same time see how bad it is for him. Through the narration we understand what thoughts invade Mike's senses to help him feel in control, but it gets the point where the reader just wants to see him well again. I wanted to see him fight back against anorexia. In short: This book provides an accurate and compelling portrayal of an underrepresented population in YA lit, boys with eating disorders; I'm eternally grateful for this fresh read.


    Nit Picks: It's rare, but I've got nothing. This book was a near perfect read. I wish it had been a bit longer, but at the same time I can't imagine anything that has been left out. I guess I just want to grab more book by Metzger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When it comes to eating disorders, we quickly think of girls. We

    When it comes to eating disorders, we quickly think of girls. We hardly ever think of men having trouble with their appearance.




    Plot: Watching a young man spiral down the road of bulimia is hard. I have hard time reading about girls doing it. Mike thinks he can be in control of what he does to his body. The way he down spirals is something hard to watch. He pushes away everyone. From parents (the parents are crap anyway) to his friends.




    Family: The one thing that ticked me off the most about this book is the family. UGH! They are frustrating beyond belief. Not to mention they think of nothing but themselves. It’s no wonder this kid spiraled down with no one to ever catch him.




     Eating disorders: I think this book is very educational when it comes to a male point of view. Just like girls, guys too have problems with self-esteem. They just know how to hide it more. I’m glad that I got to journey though this. It will help me understand more.




    Overall, this is a good book. It’s move slowly in the beginning but the build up to final act of Mike admitting his problem is amazing. A Trick Of The Light is an good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    A Trick of the Light was a very tough story for me. Very tough.

    A Trick of the Light was a very tough story for me. Very tough. I didn't have a hard time because I didn't like it, I did. It was hard because it struck just a little too close to home. So well that I kept putting it down, looking at my husband, and saying "I'm scared, because I have had these same thoughts swirling around in my own head."

    Mike Welles's life is out of control. His dad is absent, his mom is emotionally absent, and he has no control over anything. Except for his body. Mike finds a way to regain power over his life, an eating disorder. Anorexia, that voice in his head that promises control, is the narrator of A Trick of the Light, and as odd as that seems, it works. This disease tells the story of how it waited, put thoughts into Mike's vulnerable mind, and struck when it sensed his weakness. Feeling bad about yourself? Run more laps. Upset with your mom for not being dependable? Do more pushups. Don't listen to your friend or teacher when they tell you that you're too thin. They're just jealous. And always, always deny.

    A Trick of the Light is a shockingly accurate depiction of a life consumed by an eating disorder. I have my own personal issues with this subject; it's one I've battled for most of my life. What makes me sad is that I never considered this subject from a male point-of-view. As a wife, I am working on being more sensitive about male body image. As a mom, I am adamant about being just as aware of what is going on in my son's life in this respect as I am my daughter's. I have many years of experience that came into play while reading the story. What I am most curious about is what a teen's thoughts would be after reading this.

    A Trick of the Light is a very imaginative and strong take on the psychological aspect of eating disorders. And while I felt uncomfortable and stressed while reading it, I do believe that it is a powerful story that needed to be told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first heard about A Trick of the Light, I was super excit

    When I first heard about A Trick of the Light, I was super excited to read it. This was not my first book about characters suffering from an eating disorder, so I was fairly certain that I knew what to expect. The big difference between this book and any other book on the same topic that I’ve read is that A Trick of the Light has a male protagonist with anorexia.




    I’ve seen a few books with a male character who has an eating disorder, but I never really felt compelled to read them. With A Trick of the Light, what drew me in was that Mike, the protagonist, had a voice in his head which was a prominent part of the story. It guided him and made choices for him. I wanted to know more about this voice, about how it controlled him and why he allowed it to. The voice in his head was an even bigger part of the book than I thought it would be, as it was the narrator of the story. I just loved that!




    It was the disease speaking to me and FOR him. The voice was definitely at the forefront of Mike’s mind, it became much more important than everything else in his life. The voice controlled him, as I said, and it was interesting to read just how easily Mike fell for everything that it told him.




    I really liked the way that Mike’s home life was described in this book. I was able to understand his predicament and why he was having such a difficult time with everything. Nothing in his life was going well at all. The highlight of A Trick of the Light, however, was definitely the voice inside Mike’s head, which I thought was very well done. I’m still thinking about how creepy it was and how much of a hold it had on Mike’s life.




    Though I really enjoyed this book, the only problem that I had was that it was far too short. I would have liked for the story to have been a bit more spaced out, so that I could learn more about Mike, his family, and what was going on in his head. Overall, I thought the book was very good, despite how short it was. It would have definitely been a five if it had been longer, so that I could have gotten to know the characters more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Trick of the Light is a deep, compelling novel about a teen bo

    A Trick of the Light is a deep, compelling novel about a teen boy's struggle to adjust with the sudden changes around and within him and to regain control of his life.
    It's easy to sympathize with Mike. Over the past months, he's watched his parents drift apart to the point that they often don't feel like dealing with him or even forget his existence. His dad stays out more often, and his mom seems to be falling into a depression. Only the voice in his head seems to care about him, so it's no surprise that he turns to it. Even though his best friend Tamio, a nice person and fellow stop-motion movie buff, wants to be there for him, I can understand how Mike wants to get away from the outside world a little and turn inwards to himself, where he has some semblance of control.
    For much of the story, I wasn't sure whether or not the voice in Mike's head really was trying to help him or not. It speaks with reason and talks as if it has Mike's best interests in mind. Whether or not it was actually giving Mike sound advice was the question. The more Mike's obsession with his body increases, however, the more he pushes away the people who genuinely care about him. It's sad to watch Mike as he turns his back on the things and people he loves so much. At the same time, I appreciate how the voice has been developed. Because it's speaks with such reason, it's hard not to trust it, and both the reader and Mike have to work out the true implications behind its words.
    I like how the story is told from the voice's perspectives. Because it knows Mike so well, it gives us insight into Mike's life through both its perspective and that of Mike's. And because it's a biased narrator, it throws Mike's world into confusion, as we don't know who to trust, which reflects Mike's life as he is also being influenced by the voice. I also like how stop-motion movies play a role in this novel. Mike is obsessed with them, as is his friend Tamio, and they play a role in his healing process. It gives him a way to work out the monsters in his life, as he figures out just what the voice in his head has been doing to him.
    Mike's story gives insight into a rarely breached side of eating disorders -- that of males -- in a way that brings the characters and emotions to life. I recommend this to readers looking for a realistic dark YA contemporary read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    * I had an audiobook copy of this so my review is based off of b

    * I had an audiobook copy of this so my review is based off of both the content and the audio itself.

    This is a hard book to review. It's not that I didn't like it because it was good, but I think I just feel indifferent. This is one of those books that I just don't think translates well into an audio. It felt like someone was reading a screenplay to me and it just seemed odd. On paper I don't think it would have seemed weird, and I think I would have gotten used to it, but as an audio the way it's written didn't work well for me. So that being said, it was an interesting book, and it was about much more than a boys struggle with an eating disorder. It's told from the voice in his head, or the eating disorder we come to realize pretty quickly. I liked that. This was very complex, but came across as simple due to they style of writing. It never had the emotional impact I think it was supposed to, but it was hard for me to connect to Mr. Eating Disorder who is the one telling the story.

    So although we are in Mike's head, it's not in his POV. We go through this with the illness in his head talking to us and telling us what he sees and hears. He is insistent and persuasive. Of course, it's not really the illness, it's Mike, but this is obviously how he feels, and he lets this inner voice control what he does. His family is falling apart, the girl he likes is afraid of him, and he is jealous and resentful of his best friend. He really hits a low point, and the voice in his head gives him the strength and power he craves. It tells him he's fat so he needs to exercise, he's pathetic and his friend is way hotter than him and that's why the girl doesn't want him. He needs Amber, who has an eating disorder herself. She helps him to know how to go about it without alerting people what he's doing. This "voice" has total control over him. The sad thing is, his family is too busy falling apart to notice what is happening to Mike until it's gone too far.

    I myself was close to having an eating disorder when I was younger, so this book really spoke to me, even if I didn't quite connect. I think it's an important topic, and more than that, the MC is male which you don't see often in books that tackle issues like this. I did competitive gymnastics, so I know how it feels to want to be a few pounds lighter, look a little slimmer in the form fitting leotards, be able to jump or flip higher. I would look in the mirror and see someone who I wasn't. This book really helps to understand how the illness affects the mind.

    Overall I did like it. I think it is an important issue that more people should be aware of. Especially that it's not just a female illness. I know that people do know that, but it's always more pushed as something that females deal with and not addressed that males do too. Everyone has body issues at some point or another whether it's logical or not. This really goes into the mind of the illness and how someone might think if they were going through this. Beyond that, it's about family issues too. These characters really need their parents, and it seems like they just brush them aside and don't pay attention. It was a quick read that I think would benefit people who are dealing with similar issues, or just want to know more about it without seeming so clinical. I would recommend the regular book rather than the audio though, only because I don't think this writing style works well in audio format.

    *An advanced copy of this book was provided by the publisher for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1