Customer Reviews for

A Very Holly Christmas: An Exclusive Short Story

Average Rating 3
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A nice ending

I had just read On Strike for Chirstmas so this follow up was wonderful. Put an ending to the whole story.

posted by LMDryden on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

NOT a very holly Christmas.....

I hate when something says it is a short story and you discover it is a beginning chapter to a book. A book that is not even called A Very Holly Christmas but rather The Nine Lives of Christmas. This is extremely frustrating and annoying. Even though the story was goo...
I hate when something says it is a short story and you discover it is a beginning chapter to a book. A book that is not even called A Very Holly Christmas but rather The Nine Lives of Christmas. This is extremely frustrating and annoying. Even though the story was good, and I would like to find out what happened, I would not purchase The Nine Lives of Christmas because I felt this was not a true free book but rather a way to tease you into buying another book. Which would be o.k., if that was how it was promoted. I know it was free, and maybe I should not be complaining, but I did find it frustrating.

posted by JodyGilchrist on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    NOT a very holly Christmas.....

    I hate when something says it is a short story and you discover it is a beginning chapter to a book. A book that is not even called A Very Holly Christmas but rather The Nine Lives of Christmas. This is extremely frustrating and annoying. Even though the story was good, and I would like to find out what happened, I would not purchase The Nine Lives of Christmas because I felt this was not a true free book but rather a way to tease you into buying another book. Which would be o.k., if that was how it was promoted. I know it was free, and maybe I should not be complaining, but I did find it frustrating.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    BOOOOORRRRRRRRIIING

    I think this book, no wait, I KNOW that this book was extremley boring. It made 0 sense. If I was able to give this a 0 star rating I would. I mdo not, I repeat, do not reccomend this book at all.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Good thing that it was free

    I loved "On Strike For Christmas" and have re-read it several times. I was so excited to get a sequel, even if it was only in a short story. Unfortunately, this wasn't even a short story--it was more like a portion of a chapter. It took all of 5 minutes to read, and left me feeling more like the Grinch than Santa. The only consolation is that it didn't cost any money.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Don't bother!

    This is only a couple pages long, not even long enough to get to know any of the characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A nice ending

    I had just read On Strike for Chirstmas so this follow up was wonderful. Put an ending to the whole story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Not good!

    Silly and makes no sense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    .

    Cute story. Very short. Jms

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I found this to be a major disappointment. I felt as if I was th

    I found this to be a major disappointment. I felt as if I was thrown in the deep end and told to swim without the benefit of a lesson. Things just did not make sense to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Too short

    Nothing really to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Loved it

    With the holidays coming, I needed something to read that was quick. This book was very nice. I would recommend it to any one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Cute Book

    Enjoyed the book. Wish was longer. But a free book. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    short and sweet.

    short and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great short story!

    I loved going back to Holly! Definitely made my Christmas brighter and gave me a good chuckle. I would love to see more of these characters. Sheila Roberts is one of my new favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Quick, cute, & not the typical mushy stuff!

    If you are looking for a quick read between cookie batches, this is it! Very well written & a surprising finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Not worth your time

    No plot. Nothing connets. Really only 8-10 paged in length. Might be free, but it is a wastr of a good ten minutes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Good read, Fun

    Cute story, but it really was too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Cody

    *Lays in his tember pedic moving bed*hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Cody an Kat's room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Short....not

    Not a short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Tori

    Walks over to thomas. I look at you*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5