Customer Reviews for

A Very Vampy Christmas: From Sugarplums and Scandal (Love at Stake Series)

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Little Escape to the Love at Stake World!

This is a delightful little story about a studly amnesiac vampire and the sweet, 100+ year old vampire who loves him. Maggie has had a serious crush on Don Orlando since she saw him acting in the soap opera, but once she lands a role opposite him, she learns he's quite...
This is a delightful little story about a studly amnesiac vampire and the sweet, 100+ year old vampire who loves him. Maggie has had a serious crush on Don Orlando since she saw him acting in the soap opera, but once she lands a role opposite him, she learns he's quite the slutty, sleazy jerk. Or is he? Turns out Don Orlando is acting in real life, too, because he has total amnesia. His memories begin the night he was turned into a vampire. Maggie contacts Ian at MacKay Security & Investigations, and they begin tracking down his identity, visiting the New Orleans Coven and traveling to Texas. For a short story (60+ pages), this packs a lot of action and character history. I really liked both Maggie and Don Orlando, and wanted to know what happened next. Kerrelyn Sparks's unique style of breezy, sweet romance balanced with action and a fast pace creates a wonderful escape, and a nice addition to the Love at Stake universe she has created.

posted by sarahconerty on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A vampy "christmas" novella

This was my second reading from Kerrelyn Sparks, although not a book it is a novella. Her first book ¿How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire¿ had me crying with tears. This novella had some good points and some bad one. She was able to capture the right amount of romance an...
This was my second reading from Kerrelyn Sparks, although not a book it is a novella. Her first book ¿How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire¿ had me crying with tears. This novella had some good points and some bad one. She was able to capture the right amount of romance and action into this short story. I adored this tale. However, I was enjoying it right up until the sudden declarations of love and all of the conversations that happened the next morning; which just happens to be Christmas, though there is no build-up in the story to make you aware of the timeframe. Ridiculously rushed. Would it really have hurt to at least stretch it out for another chapter? There's no resolution to speak of. Wish there had been a chapter or two more to give some completion to this tale.

posted by Meli_Green on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A vampy "christmas" novella

    This was my second reading from Kerrelyn Sparks, although not a book it is a novella. Her first book ¿How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire¿ had me crying with tears. This novella had some good points and some bad one. She was able to capture the right amount of romance and action into this short story. I adored this tale. However, I was enjoying it right up until the sudden declarations of love and all of the conversations that happened the next morning; which just happens to be Christmas, though there is no build-up in the story to make you aware of the timeframe. Ridiculously rushed. Would it really have hurt to at least stretch it out for another chapter? There's no resolution to speak of. Wish there had been a chapter or two more to give some completion to this tale.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Fun Short Story

    From "The Love at Stake Series", this short story is after #2 "Vamps and the City", and before #3 "Be Still My Vampire Heart." I am reading the series in order, and enjoying the continuing story very much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Little Escape to the Love at Stake World!

    This is a delightful little story about a studly amnesiac vampire and the sweet, 100+ year old vampire who loves him. Maggie has had a serious crush on Don Orlando since she saw him acting in the soap opera, but once she lands a role opposite him, she learns he's quite the slutty, sleazy jerk. Or is he? Turns out Don Orlando is acting in real life, too, because he has total amnesia. His memories begin the night he was turned into a vampire. Maggie contacts Ian at MacKay Security & Investigations, and they begin tracking down his identity, visiting the New Orleans Coven and traveling to Texas. For a short story (60+ pages), this packs a lot of action and character history. I really liked both Maggie and Don Orlando, and wanted to know what happened next. Kerrelyn Sparks's unique style of breezy, sweet romance balanced with action and a fast pace creates a wonderful escape, and a nice addition to the Love at Stake universe she has created.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Best kisser

    Anyone up 4 sex.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Fun read if you like the series

    Quick, fun Christmas read if you've already read another book from the Love at Stake series and enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    not recommended

    I love anything that Kerrelyn Sparks writes except this story. It was hokey and very disappointing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    good

    great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    So cute

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    The vampare x-mas

    It a awsome book and you can read it to ? If you like it give me a peace sign everone who is reading this. If you aren't reading this book put your thumb down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Anon

    I love this author and this vampire series. This story did not disappoint. I highly recommend it. ER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    love this series

    love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Tall dark and wet dreamm

    Yummmmmy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    why is this only in EBOOK? -- A very Vampy Christmas by Kerrel

    why is this only in EBOOK? -- A very Vampy Christmas by Kerrelyn Sparks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Short and sweet

    I like this one. It was really sweet and tragic, but mostly funny to the extreme.
    Love the happy endings though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    A wonderful christmas story!

    I love to read Christmas vampire tails and this one was exceptionally good. Very hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good book

    One more good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Cskings

    I love KSparks vampire series and really enjoy reading her novellas about this series more excentric, minor characters. I have all of the books from this series. I especially love all the characters and the wildly funny things that happen to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    A great vampire love story!!!

    This book is a must read for anyone who loves vampires. Also, if you have ever had your heart broken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Am

    This is the first book i like it but not that much though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Series

    What number is it in the series?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7