Customer Reviews for

A Vine in the Blood (Chief Inspector Mario Silva Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    This Brazilian mystery takes place just prior to the 1914 World

    This Brazilian mystery takes place just prior to the 1914 World Cup that is set to take place in Brazil.  The Brazilian super star Tico, "The Artist", is expected to help Brazil run away with the win over their top rival, Argentina.  But someone has kidnapped Tico's beloved mother and everyone is concerned that Tico won't be at his best with her missing.  




    Chief Inspector Mario Silva is assigned this case, with instructions to get her back before the highly anticipated games.  There are plenty of suspects depending on whether the kidnapping was to hinder Brazil's chances of winning, or if it was a revenge kidnapping by another star player, or if it was purely for money. 




    Though this was a newer book from the CI Silva mysteries, I was immediately caught up with the characters.  Silvia's boss was more of a hinderance that a help, and seemed only to be politically motivated in his actions.  The excitement of the World Cup was very evident.  Though I got engrossed in the characters and the mystery, the Brazilian location was only felt because of the country wide "football"/ soccer craze.  I would read more in this series as I do like police procedurals, and this one was well done.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    highly recommended

    Read all five in the serie4s & couldn't wait for the next one! Entertainiung & suspenseful reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Engrossing plot and good writing. Recommend.

    This was the first of the Mario Silva series that I read. I enjoyed learning about South American countries, and their legal system. The plot was good, and the writing was better than in most mysteries: witty, amusing, smart. It's a good mystery and will keep the reader's interest throughout. The character of Mario Silva is well developed and easy to like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I’ve just finished Leighton Gage’s A VINE IN THE BLO

    I’ve just finished Leighton Gage’s A VINE IN THE BLOOD which is a marvelous crime story which takes place in Brazil. Sometimes in stories told in locations with cultures with which I’m not familiar, I end up feeling disoriented—I have no sense of what should be familiar—and so I lose the immediate connection with the story, but there was no such feeling with A VINE IN THE BLOOD. Not being interested in spectator sports, I noticed the populace in Brazil loves futebol (known to Americans and Canadians as soccer) with about the same interest I have for American sports events. It’s awkward describing a story by what it is not, but both of these characteristics would presuppose my negative response to the story, but I loved it!

    Another oddity: usually, I prefer to know nothing at all about a story I’m going to read, but I had heard rumours that Leighton Gage’s stories reflect societal problems in Brazil. Perhaps I’d been warned, but I sensed no overwhelming trumpeting of social injustice (we see that world is unjust, but it doesn’t take over the story).

    Now for what the book is: Chief Inspector Mario Silva is an officer with the Brazilian Federal police and we watch him puzzle out the clues to the story. One of the great delights of this story is the way the characters interact; they talk and make jokes at each other’s expense, just as predictably as real people. By the middle of the book I was rooting for the detectives and laughing at their wisecracks. Another enjoyment was the irony with which these police rebutted various levels of corruption and the deft way they worked around the nonsense corruption causes.

    The crime gets solved in an elegant, well-policed way, but there’s still a lot of evil under the surface; I am left yearning for these police officers to expand their target, to take on more of the crime which surrounds them. Leighton, I can’t wait; when will #6 be released?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great who-done-it!

    It is two weeks away from the biggest game in Brazil, the FIFA World Cup against their bitter rival Argentina. The country is gearing up, bets are being placed, and the fans are putting all their hopes on Tico “The Artist” Santos. When the Artist’s mother Juraci is kidnapped, the country is riveted to the case hoping beyond all hope she is returned before the big game so the Artist is at his best. Chief Inspector Mario Silva is assigned the case along with his partner Arnaldo Nunes, together they quickly develop a long list of potential suspects. Juraci is not well liked and many would like to see the Artist off his game when the World Cup is played so the investigators need to work fast through the list of suspects and get the case solved in the two weeks before the game. The Artist’s fiancée Cintia—a fashion model—is at the top of the list. She is considered a gold digger by everyone around her, especially by her soon to be mother-in-law who incidentally hired a private investigator to dig up dirt on the model. Each of the suspects begins pointing to another suspect and has the Inspector and his partner going in circles following up each lead. When suspect’s bodies begin piling up, the case goes into overdrive in the fear Juraci won’t be alive when they find her. “A Vine in the Blood” is the fifth in the Chief Inspector Mario Silva series. With the book, Leighton Gage continues his deft writing to create a mystery that will have his reader riveted following each twist and turn and trying to figure out who the kidnapper is before they are revealed. Reviewed by Jodi Ann Hanson for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book I won via a LibraryThing Contest it’s a series a

    This book I won via a LibraryThing Contest it’s a series about Chief Inspector Mario Silva in this book the FIFA World Cup is about take place when Tico Santos’s mother is kidnapped three weeks prior to the cup. It’s up to Mario Silva to find her. There are many people that could be potential suspects. Some motives are to throw Tico off his game and insure he isn’t up to his game. A gold digging future wife who his mother was investigating, a man whose career was destroyed by Tico. This book is definitely full of action and adventure leaving you wondering who had the most to gain by Ms. Santos being out of the picture. Definitely had you wondering up the end what happened and who had Tico’s mother. A great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I discovered Leighton's Silva series in December and have read and enjoyed them very very much. They are superbly written, dark, mysterious, and most of all funny. I like that they have a social conscience without hitting the reader over the head with it each time. I look forward to the next in theseries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    This is a good series

    Gives you a good peek into Sao Paulo and Brazil

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This series has been good from the first, and each new book has been a step up from the previous. With Vine, the 5th in the series, Mr. Gage has hit full stride. He puts you in Brazil, you feel the heat, the humidity, you are in the middle of this wonderful investigation. I felt I was riding shotgun with Chief Inspector Silve and his squad.

    If you have not read any of the previous books in the series, it really doesn't matter. This is the perfect jumping on point. The characters are fully grounded, the plot is marvelous, and the suspense justs builds to a perfect ending that you don't see coming. It all works.

    This is a MUST READ for anyone who loves police procedurals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1