Customer Reviews for

A Walk Through the Dark: How My Husband's 90 Minutes in Heaven Deepened My Faith for a Lifetime

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A rtemarkable book about faith. I was truly touched by reading i

    A rtemarkable book about faith. I was truly touched by reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A great Christian book that will leave you filled with Faith.

    A great Christian book that will leave you filled with Faith.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Have you ever read 90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper? It's a tou

    Have you ever read 90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper? It's a touching, incredible story of a Baptist preacher pronounced dead at the scene of a collision with a tractor trailer, while he was returning from a ministry conference. He describes his near-death experience of meeting spiritual influencers in his life in heaven, and coming back to earth to face a terrifying and difficult recovery.
    And this is the other side of the story.
    A Walk Through the Dark is the fascinating tale of Don Piper's WIFE, who was by his side from the moment he arrived at the hospital through the darkest stages of recovery. The subtitle is, "How My Husband's 90 Minutes in Heaven Deepened My Faith for a Lifetime." Wow. 
    I am on the fence about this book, to be honest. It was interesting at first, and parts of the tale are dynamic and gripping (such as her difficult choices on her husband's medical care following the accident) and her story of dealing with a husband who wanted to return to heavenly bliss.
    But the actual writing of the book loses me. It reads like a personal outpouring, a tell-all maybe interesting to family members, but that should have been much more tightly edited. And if I'm being perfectly honest, I felt that Eva had not fully healed from all of her sadness, hurt, and despondency since the accident. I got bogged down in the middle and put this book down for a long time before I decided to pick it back up.
    It was, however, very interesting to me to hear the often-untold side of the caregiver and how their life is changed just as much as the person injured. I think this book will probably resonate strongly with  others who have been in a similar situation. I received a free review copy of this book via BookSneeze, and was not required to write a positive review. These views expressed are my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    I received a copy of A WALK THROUGH THE DARK: HOW MY HUSBAND¿S 9

    I received a copy of A WALK THROUGH THE DARK: HOW MY HUSBAND’S 90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN DEEPENED MY FAITH FOR A LIFETIME by Eva Piper with Cecil Murphy from Thomas Nelson, via BookSneeze. This book really blew me away.
    Eva Piper’s husband, Don Piper, died, but returned to life through prayer. The story explains what she went through and tells us about what it was like for him. He also provides a forward, introducing us to the story. No, I shouldn’t call it a story. It is more like a thought-provoking glimpse into a family trauma and miracle that will leave you breathless. They don’t just tell you the facts. It is written in such a beautiful, spiritual way that you are sucked into it. You feel as if you are standing beside them as everything enfolds. I cried with the family, and I cheered with them, too. They take you step by step, never rushing over anything.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who doubts the power of prayers. Although it is a true story, it reads like a novel. I will be passing it along to family members and friends. This is definitely a book worth sharing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Eva's new book tells her husband's story from her own perspectiv

    Eva's new book tells her husband's story from her own perspective, giving an account full of practical and Biblical advice on handling life's dark moments.  How to be a caregiver.  How to be a friend.  How to trust in God's plan.  We will all face dark moments in life, and after reading Eva's book I feel like I would be better prepared today that I would've been 2 weeks ago. Leighann

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I enjoyed the book, and I think it has lots of good advice for c

    I enjoyed the book, and I think it has lots of good advice for caregivers. Reading it deepened my Faith. Jill

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    What a great book for caretakers! I am so glad that you and Don

    What a great book for caretakers! I am so glad that you and Don continue to travel the journey together. I will most definitely tell some of my friends who are caretakers in one capacity or another about this book. So glad we have been able to reconnect! Lana

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    A great book and a powerful message of Faith through hard times.

    A great book and a powerful message of Faith through hard times. Thank you Eva for sharing your story. God bless you and Don.
    Helen C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Thank you Eva for a book that is a long time in coming! It is th

    Thank you Eva for a book that is a long time in coming! It is thought provoking and Biblical. Hearing Don's story coming from a lady who knows it best will be an encouragement to Christians and a testimony to those who need to make sure Heaven is their home in Christ alone!

    Heaven Is SO Real,
    Ron

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1