Customer Reviews for

A Wanted Man (Jack Reacher Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This is a good jack reacher book. I would recommend to all fans of jack reacher.
But i have a question. Why is tom cruise playing jack in movies? Tom cruise is not 6' 5" tall nor does he weigh 250. He does not gave dirty blonde hair, hands the size of dinner plates...
This is a good jack reacher book. I would recommend to all fans of jack reacher.
But i have a question. Why is tom cruise playing jack in movies? Tom cruise is not 6' 5" tall nor does he weigh 250. He does not gave dirty blonde hair, hands the size of dinner plates or ice blue eyes and he certainly doesnt look rugged.
I dont thinj i can go see this movie. It would ruin my picture of jack reacher. Watch movie trailer nice well groomed cruise as jack? Doesnt work for me

posted by 8620495 on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Who knows

9/12 and not on my nook even though i paid for it.

posted by 2520411 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a good jack reacher book. I would recommend to all fans of jack reacher.
    But i have a question. Why is tom cruise playing jack in movies? Tom cruise is not 6' 5" tall nor does he weigh 250. He does not gave dirty blonde hair, hands the size of dinner plates or ice blue eyes and he certainly doesnt look rugged.
    I dont thinj i can go see this movie. It would ruin my picture of jack reacher. Watch movie trailer nice well groomed cruise as jack? Doesnt work for me

    61 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Wanted Man

    The action in this newest in the Jack Reacher series begins with a body discovered in what is apparently an abandoned pumping station in rural Nebraska, an eyewitness able to give only scant details of the two men he saw with the victim, and who drove away in a bright red car afterwards. Very shortly thereafter, in addition to the local police, representatives of several governmental agencies designated by groups of letters such as CIA and FBI descend on the area. An alert is quickly put in place on all highways along the area interstates for the two men.

    Jack Reacher is variously described here as ex-military, specifically a former major in the Criminal Investigation Division of the Military Police, now unemployed and essentially homeless, self-described, most pertinently here, as “just a guy, hitching rides.” On the same mid-winter night, he has been standing at the side of an on-ramp for over an hour when he is given a ride in a car with two men and a woman inside, his ultimate destination being Virginia. That destination and his present appearance, the main feature of which is a badly broken nose, are the aftermath of events at the end of the last book in the series; an imposing figure overall, the broken nose is probably the main reason why it took so long for him to be offered a ride.

    Initially the points of view alternate between Reacher and Julia Sorenson, the FBI Special Agent first called to the crime scene, a very capable 25-year Bureau veteran out of the Omaha field office. Eventually their paths cross, and they work together to get to the bottom of what turns out to be anything but your average murder.

    The book is everything one can expect in a Lee Child/Jack Reacher novel, including terrific plotting and characterizations, and especially Reacher himself, who, when asked by one of the men in the car that picked him up, “You don’t like to be pushed around, do you, Mr. Reacher?” responds “I don’t know. I’ve never been pushed around. If it ever happens, you’ll be the first to find out whether I like it or not.” He demonstrates once again his vast knowledge of relatively arcane trivia, such as the population and area codes of almost any spot in the United States. It’s great to have him back, and the novel, one I swiftly devoured, is highly recommended.

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Who knows

    9/12 and not on my nook even though i paid for it.

    16 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I have read all of the Reacher series books (big fan of the Big

    I have read all of the Reacher series books (big fan of the Big Man) and this is the most disappointing. The "plot twists" and "revelations" are cumbersome and convoluted rather than illuminating and detract from the narrative, especially in the book's final 100 pages Multiple sets of FBI agents working incognito from one another and at cross purposes, then add an undeveloped CIA component and characters who act illogically - I realize this is a fictional thriller, of course, , but folks should think and behave and react like "real" folks unless they are playing a psychotic role - this all adds up to a thrown-together recipe for a not quite palatable dish of a book. . it's almost as if Child lost his way and said, what the hey, Reacher can shoot twenty or so bad guys at the end, walk (or thumb) away and this will be wrapped up.
    After all of the anticipation awaiting another Reacher, I'm sorry to say that I'm sorry I bought this.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Being a die hard Reacher fan, I was disappointed with this book.

    Being a die hard Reacher fan, I was disappointed with this book. More of an intellectual Reacher book with minimal signature Reacher violence. Low impact until the last few chapters. Somewhat anti-climatic. My least favorite Reacher book to date. Not sure what's more baffling: this mundane release or Tom Cruise (5'7") as the big screen version of Jack Reacher (6'5").

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    I see a lot of reviewers complaining that A Wanted Man is slow,

    I see a lot of reviewers complaining that A Wanted Man is slow, boring, and every other adjective possible that would fit under those headings. This is fiction, and any true Reacher fan will be able to appreciate most of this book for the great piece of fiction that it is. The truth is that the latest Reacher book is actually just a continuation of previous ones. Both in terms of plot and writing style.

    Lee Child has realized that Reacher is aging, and it just isn’t realistic for him to be engaged in constant slug fests with the enemies. Even though he may be a physical freak, aging takes its toll on everyone. The bigger they are the harder they’ll fall, etc. Instead we get to see a side of Reacher explored that has always been overshadowed by his incredible fighting skills; his intelligence. Reacher has always been described as extremely street smart if nothing else, but in A Wanted Man we see it goes beyond that and we get an insight into the way his mind works. More so then in any of the previous books.

    Look, I understand that some people read these books for the machismo that they inspire and the fact that Reacher is plain and simple a bad ass. But, Child has shown before that he likes to at least acknowledge that life realisms such as aging exists and to expect him to continue on as if Reacher was 29 30 is unrealistic. The fact that it has taken this long for the process to become noticeable is stretching it as is. If you want some pure action, no thinking required book then go pick up any other book that vaguely resembles the Reacher series. Odds are that all realism will be thrown out the door and you can have your non-aging hero and we’ll all be happy.

    Now, this is not to say that the book is perfect. It isn’t by a long shot, but for a transition book it was pretty well done. Lee Child took a shot in the dark by drastically altering the style of his books, and one should give him credit where credit is due for pulling it off as well as he did.

    : Warning, Spoilers Ahead:

    The start of the book is one of the strongest points I think. It does a nice job of giving the reader enough information to allow them to start speculating and creating their own theories while not giving everything away from the get-go. We know that someone important has been killed but we’re unsure as to why they’re important and why they ended up in the middle of nowhere. We know that the people picking up Reacher are almost certainly going to be the ones that did the killing.

    We do not know why they would pick someone up like Reacher though since most fleeing criminals don’t really want to take hitchhikers with them. From there it becomes a game of trying to catch the murderers and we begin to learn more about all the players involved. We see the gears in Reacher’s head working as we have seen to one level or another before, but more so now. The reader has always been given the sense of his intelligence but this time it is really spelled out by all the small things that he takes into account and calculates in the small spans of time he is given.

    Nothing of particular note happens until Reacher is almost shot in the motel room. This is the first bit of foreshadowing that indicates not all is as it seems. From there the reader should begin to suspect that this is deeper than it would first appear, though with all Reacher books this should be a given. Time passes, and the kidnapping of Delfuenso’s child gets the wheels turning for the meat of the plot to begin.

    Why would the child of a dead woman be kidnapped? It seems painfully obvious that Delfuenso is still alive, and I was honestly rather disappointed by this because it was such an obvious plot turn that I thought maybe Child was beginning to go easy on his readers and cater to those action obsessed fans. Fortunately I was proved very wrong.

    Finding out that Mcqueen was a double agent wasn’t a big surprise but did explain a lot. Finding out that Delfuenso was a sleeper agent though was very surprising and really made me appreciate how unexpected and well-designed Child’s good plot turns can be. From this part out it was a typical Reacher book. Reacher finds out who-dun-it, goes and kills them, gets lost quickly…

    Except it wasn’t. The end of this book was actually the weakest part in my opinion, and was vaguely disappointing. The plot itself wasn’t bad, in fact it was kind of novel. You don’t hear of terrorist banker bad guys all that often. And, while it sounds implausible at first guess, it worked all right with this book. If that had been the weakest part then I would probably be giving this book 5/5.

    Tragically though, that was not the weak part of this book. Instead, the weakest part of this book was the action itself. It honestly seemed like something any generic action writer could write. It wasn’t horrible, but Reacher has long been known for suspense that leaves you on the edge of your seat waiting for the next move. There are countless times that I can remember unconsciously holding my breath while reading. Just imagining myself in Reacher’s shoes because of the vivid imagery and waiting for the other shoe to drop.

    Nothing could have been further from the truth this time around. The death of Sorenson was abrupt and should have created a lot of empathy in the reader. The truth though was that it was rather easy to shrug off because there was not much attachment to her. Then Reacher just marched in and killed them easy as 1-2-3. It never really felt like he didn’t have a chance, even when his thoughts were indicating he didn’t think he had one. Then the end was just completely abrupt. It felt like Child didn’t know how to end this one, and it’s really too bad because he had been on fire up until the last 60 pages of it.

    Still, it was a solid book overall and a transition that I think was needed. My biggest problem though is that I’m still not sure how long Child can keep older Reacher going in a fun manner. I hope he will start writing more about his army days. This will allow him to put more action in it, though I certainly hope he will keep showing some insights like he does in this book. Overall I would say A Wanted Man is a solid 4/5.

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Tom Cruise as Reacher

    Sadly, this book is as bad as the casting of Tom Cruise as Reacher. No, it's worse.


    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I'm still not able to down load to my nook

    I'm still not able to down load to my nook

    11 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Anonymous on september 27 2012

    I have been a reacher fan from day one ,l was very disappointed with this book. Hope next one gets back on tract..

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Seriously Disappointing

    seriously disappointing entry in what was, until now, a fantastic series...and full of digital errors, making it a chore to read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    Read every book and was very disappointed. Drove left, drove right, saw a farm, drove some more... First 300 pages were very short on action, the only death was the plot. The "Battle Scene" was confusing and I found it hard to envision (one dot, two dot, think I'll fire another shot).
    On par with the book where Reacher punched a midget for the action highlight. Lee Child phoned it in, save your money...

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Former Fan......

    Wow-Wow - Where to begin. Let me start by saying I have been a real fan of Lee Child and the character Jack Reacher.
    What has happened in this book in particular is that the book has over 360 pages and 299 pages of filler!
    I'm not sure Lee wrote this book or some high school teacher want a be.
    Lee has now done what other authors have done to their "hero character", and that is age them when there is no reason to. Vince Flynn with Mitch Rap, Harlan Coben with Myron and Win, Michael Connelly with Harry Bosch. There are dozens of authors who have turned their "super hero" into a old and uninteresting character for no good reason. Robert B. Parker is one author who allowed Spenser to never age through time.

    So I recommend skipping this book and have Lee Child find a new character as good or better than Reacher!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    I LOVE Jack Reacher and have read the entire series with the exc

    I LOVE Jack Reacher and have read the entire series with the exception of this one. I have been so hopeful that the books would be made into a movie and was thrilled when I found out they were....UNTIL.....I found out that Tom Cruise would be playing Reacher. What a terrible choice! He does not fit the physical description at all and he does not fit the demeanor of Jack Reacher. I have always pictured a " Trace Adkins" like person as Reacher! (Yes, I know he is not an actor, but physically he fits Reacher to a tee!) As several have posted, I will most likely not go see the movies. Tom Cruise would completely ruin my perception of Reacher. Whoever chose him obviously has not paid attention to Reacher's description found in every single one of the books. Unfortunate!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Good but a little different...

    This was another good Jack Reacher story, but not the same ass-kicking Jack Reacher I have come to expect. When it came time to take care of business though, Reacher didn't disappoint.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Bummer of a Reacher book. Looked forward to it but there wasn't

    Bummer of a Reacher book. Looked forward to it but there wasn't much story here. And yes, we agree why is Tom Cruise playing Reacher? Hugh Jackman would have been perfect!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Reacher's Short Cruise

    Lee Child has gotten a bit lazy (e.g, the novella about the young Reacher, which has nothing to do with youth) and apparently greedy; I can't understand why he didnt buy back the movie rights instead of letting Tom Cruise' massive ego derail what should be the next Bond franchise. Compare Ray Stevenson to Tom Thumb Cruise, then hope that Nicole Kidman got the sequel options in the divorce. Its like casting PeeWee Herman as Batman .... but not nearly as funny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    An honest opinion

    By far the poorest of the series. I struggled to get to the end. Wish I didn't waste my time and money on this dud. Hopefully as an avid lee child reader I an hoping this is not the beginning of the end!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Fizzled

    This is the first Reacher book that I thoroughly disliked I found the plot disjointed and implausible and Reacher omniscient - poor Agent Sorensen had to be enlighten by our hero on the most obvious fact. I was very disappointed with this book as I've read all the other book in the Reacher series as enjoyed them and was looking forward to his next adventure. Alas,it fizzled.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Reacher is Back.....

    I read everything Jack Reacher related including the shorts. This is another great addition to the series and I just can't get enough of Reacher and the way that he handles the situations that are put in front of him. I loved the way that A Wanted Man took off straight after the end of Worth Dying For. I love reading series books because I get invested in the characters and I can't wait for the next installment of Jack Reacher. Thank you Lee for another great book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Reacher

    Not his best but readable

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26