Customer Reviews for

A Wanted Man (Jack Reacher Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 511 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This is a good jack reacher book. I would recommend to all fans of jack reacher.
But i have a question. Why is tom cruise playing jack in movies? Tom cruise is not 6' 5" tall nor does he weigh 250. He does not gave dirty blonde hair, hands the size of dinner plates...
This is a good jack reacher book. I would recommend to all fans of jack reacher.
But i have a question. Why is tom cruise playing jack in movies? Tom cruise is not 6' 5" tall nor does he weigh 250. He does not gave dirty blonde hair, hands the size of dinner plates or ice blue eyes and he certainly doesnt look rugged.
I dont thinj i can go see this movie. It would ruin my picture of jack reacher. Watch movie trailer nice well groomed cruise as jack? Doesnt work for me

posted by 8620495 on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Who knows

9/12 and not on my nook even though i paid for it.

posted by 2520411 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Being a die hard Reacher fan, I was disappointed with this book.

    Being a die hard Reacher fan, I was disappointed with this book. More of an intellectual Reacher book with minimal signature Reacher violence. Low impact until the last few chapters. Somewhat anti-climatic. My least favorite Reacher book to date. Not sure what's more baffling: this mundane release or Tom Cruise (5'7") as the big screen version of Jack Reacher (6'5").

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Seriously Disappointing

    seriously disappointing entry in what was, until now, a fantastic series...and full of digital errors, making it a chore to read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    I LOVE Jack Reacher and have read the entire series with the exc

    I LOVE Jack Reacher and have read the entire series with the exception of this one. I have been so hopeful that the books would be made into a movie and was thrilled when I found out they were....UNTIL.....I found out that Tom Cruise would be playing Reacher. What a terrible choice! He does not fit the physical description at all and he does not fit the demeanor of Jack Reacher. I have always pictured a " Trace Adkins" like person as Reacher! (Yes, I know he is not an actor, but physically he fits Reacher to a tee!) As several have posted, I will most likely not go see the movies. Tom Cruise would completely ruin my perception of Reacher. Whoever chose him obviously has not paid attention to Reacher's description found in every single one of the books. Unfortunate!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Bummer of a Reacher book. Looked forward to it but there wasn't

    Bummer of a Reacher book. Looked forward to it but there wasn't much story here. And yes, we agree why is Tom Cruise playing Reacher? Hugh Jackman would have been perfect!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Reacher

    Not his best but readable

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Pre-publish review!!!

    The book is not yet published, but it will probably be a good read.

    2 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    lame what happen to Child?, this and his last book are lame, plo

    lame what happen to Child?, this and his last book are lame, plot is all over the place, I finally sat it down, don't waste your time unless your into over blown plots...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Save your money!!

    This is the worst book, I have read from the Jack Reacher Series. For at least 1/2 of this book, it's about the scenery, the signs, the roads and all kinds of nonsense. It's hard to believe that Lee Childs wrote this. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Everyone has a favorite.

    This one is not mine. 200 pages of riding in a car, 100 pages of action.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    I just completed this book and I must say it the worst Jack Reac

    I just completed this book and I must say it the worst Jack Reacher book I have read. It went nowhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Just an ok book

    Pretty mediocre. His earlier work is better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    This one disappoints, is tedious and confuses itself. I started

    This one disappoints, is tedious and confuses itself. I started reading Child's books since day one. His average now is about 1 in 4. .333 batting average in good books getting released. not sure if cause the author is tired

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Not His Best

    I didn't like it as much as all of his other Jack Reacher books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    I love the Jack Reacher series however this book was somewhat di

    I love the Jack Reacher series however this book was somewhat disappointing. The ending lacked the high quality writing we've come to expect from Lee Child. It seemed to be rushed in order to make a publishing deadline.
    I have no objection to Tom Cruise starring in other movies but I agree with those who think that casting Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher is ridiculous. The whole Jack Reacher persona is anchored on his imposing physical characteristics. Tom Cruise does not fit the bill. Like so many others, I too, will not be spending my money on the movie.
    I hope the upcoming books in the Jack Reacher series show the level of excellence of earlier books such as The Hard Way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Disappointed

    My husband and I have read every Reacher book and this was the only one I would say was a disappointment. It dragged until the last part and had no interesting plot. Reacher was not being Reacher until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Just ok

    Not as good as his other books. But still one of my best authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Enjoyable light reading

    This book was typical Jack Reacher, which is why I read this series. The plot twists were smooth and not too contrived. There was just the right amount and type of action to keep the story moving along at a good pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Come on Mr. Child - You can do better than this!

    Not one of Lee Child's best. It takes too long to get into the story and then all the action is in the last 50 or so pages. Most of the book was boring and could not wait to get the plot resolved.

    I hope that Lee's next novel is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Disappointment!

    I have read all the Reacher books and am a big fan, but is Reacher going to retire or just getting old? This was my least favorite of the series. Nothing happens until the last 45 pages. I was very disappointed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Disappointing

    I have read all the books written about Jack Reacher and this one was not up to the standard I have come to expect. I felt it was confusing and hard to follow. In the end, I am still not sure what the crisis was and did not understand the explanation of the "big boss." I always look forward to a new Jack Reacher and hope the next one is much better. I am excited to learn that a movie called Jack Reacher is set to be released in December 2012! I'm not sure, however, that Tom Cruise is going to be a good Jack Reacher!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3