Customer Reviews for

A Week in Winter

Average Rating 4
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind

Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind the stories of very diverse people into a cohesive yarn. If you've read other Binchy novels, you may have noticed that, in the last several novels she wrote, she's picked up characters and places from form...
Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind the stories of very diverse people into a cohesive yarn. If you've read other Binchy novels, you may have noticed that, in the last several novels she wrote, she's picked up characters and places from former books. Although in this book, those former characters and places are less a part of the current story, you'll smile as you recognize a few of them. Remember Quentin's in Dublin? It's still doing well! And Holly's Hotel in Wicklow? It's also continued to succeed - perhaps too much. You'll also find Fiona and a couple of her friends,visit St. Jarlath's Crescent, and even Rossmore. Yet you'll spend almost all of your time with this book in west Ireland, where you'll meet several new characters, each of whom has an engaging story to share - and you'll find yourself wishing to hear their next chapters! Like a fine chef, Binchy has treated her readers to a full-course meal, ending her career with a scrumptious dessert. And like all great chefs, she'll send you away with your mouth watering for the next meal - if only she were still here to prepare it!


posted by 6895248 on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Cali

Hey yall!

posted by 9850060 on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Puzzled

    After reading this novel, I had to wonder why the author had been a best selling novelist. Each chapter devoted to a different character felt almost disjointed. The book ended with a whimper, with a unfinished feel to it. Yes, I got that everyone was changed for staying at the bed and breakfast, but I felt storylines were abruptly ended. Even if I'd found out there'd be a sequel, which there won't be, I'd not be interested in reading it.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Grateful for this one last book.

    I've never been disappointed with a book by Maeve Binchey. I'm always carried far away to meet new people and visit old friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    READ

    All young scientists go to "science" result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    A Must Read

    Maeve Binchy has done it again--caught us up in her well-defined characters. This book kept me interested from beginning to end.
    I have read (and own) several of her books and this will be a favorite. I have recommended it to my book club leader for book discussion and to several of my family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    Typically satisfying Binchy

    A delightful read. Interesting characters and the description of the wild Irish coast makes you want to go there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Classic Maeve Binchy

    Enjoyed this book very much. Love the way the author weaves together the lives of her characters. I only wish Stone House were a real inn that I could visit, and find Maeve Binchy at the table along with fellow guests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Charming Book

    I have not read one of Ms. Binchy's books in such a long time. Really enjoyed the book and the characters in the book. I will need to go back and read more of the author's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Great escape

    Wish i was there, heartwarming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! I did not want it to end. Read it on Nook.

    I loved this book! I did not want it to end. Read it on Nook. So sorry this was her last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    A Week In Winter

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Slow starter

    I really like maeve binchy's books. They always have a wonderful insight to people. This book was very slow in capturing my interest. So bad in fact that I almost tossed it. Hang in there, she finally starts to develop her characters after page 60 and once that's done you really must continue to read to find out what happens to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Exellent

    I've read a lot of Maeve Binchy, and she never disappoints. I haven't actually finished yet, but I'm loving it. I really like how she weaves in characters & locations from previous books into the story. In this book she involves people and a couple of resturants from "Minding Frankie". The lives of these people are ordinary, but the relationships can get very complicated, so it keeps your interet. The characters are realistic and you can put yourself in their place. Over all it's very uplifting and I know I'll be sad when I've finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Carter

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Hally

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Her books are always enjoyable.  

    Her books are always enjoyable.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Interesting

    Each chapter introduced a new person and they came together with all the other characters. Very interesting. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Another great Maeve Binchy book

    A young woman from Ireland falls in love and runs off to America with her man. She becomes pregnant and is abandoned but seeks out jobs to support herself and her son. She eventually goes back to Ireland to run a hotel that people flock to for a needed rest or escape. It's the story of many people including the lead character and how their lives intertwine once they meet at the Irish hotel on the cliffs of the Atlantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Such an excellent story. Once you pick this book up, you won't w

    Such an excellent story. Once you pick this book up, you won't want to put it down - a telltale sign that it's a Binchy! A Week in Winter is filled with numerous characters who are cleverly intertwined. Binchy provides her readers with their respective backstories and elaborates on their reasons for coming to Stone House, all of which are different, of course. Highly recommended for any and all Binchy fans and those who love good quality, detailed storytelling without the raunchiness or vulgarity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Joyful Reading

    This is a absolute delightful read! Like curling up with a good friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    A feel good read

    Loved the writing and each story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17