BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Week in Winter

Average Rating 4
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind

Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind the stories of very diverse people into a cohesive yarn. If you've read other Binchy novels, you may have noticed that, in the last several novels she wrote, she's picked up characters and places from form...
Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind the stories of very diverse people into a cohesive yarn. If you've read other Binchy novels, you may have noticed that, in the last several novels she wrote, she's picked up characters and places from former books. Although in this book, those former characters and places are less a part of the current story, you'll smile as you recognize a few of them. Remember Quentin's in Dublin? It's still doing well! And Holly's Hotel in Wicklow? It's also continued to succeed - perhaps too much. You'll also find Fiona and a couple of her friends,visit St. Jarlath's Crescent, and even Rossmore. Yet you'll spend almost all of your time with this book in west Ireland, where you'll meet several new characters, each of whom has an engaging story to share - and you'll find yourself wishing to hear their next chapters! Like a fine chef, Binchy has treated her readers to a full-course meal, ending her career with a scrumptious dessert. And like all great chefs, she'll send you away with your mouth watering for the next meal - if only she were still here to prepare it!


posted by 6895248 on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Cali

Hey yall!

posted by 9850060 on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 336 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind

    Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind the stories of very diverse people into a cohesive yarn. If you've read other Binchy novels, you may have noticed that, in the last several novels she wrote, she's picked up characters and places from former books. Although in this book, those former characters and places are less a part of the current story, you'll smile as you recognize a few of them. Remember Quentin's in Dublin? It's still doing well! And Holly's Hotel in Wicklow? It's also continued to succeed - perhaps too much. You'll also find Fiona and a couple of her friends,visit St. Jarlath's Crescent, and even Rossmore. Yet you'll spend almost all of your time with this book in west Ireland, where you'll meet several new characters, each of whom has an engaging story to share - and you'll find yourself wishing to hear their next chapters! Like a fine chef, Binchy has treated her readers to a full-course meal, ending her career with a scrumptious dessert. And like all great chefs, she'll send you away with your mouth watering for the next meal - if only she were still here to prepare it!


    65 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    BINCHY WAS THE BEST!!!! I have been reading the writings of Maev

    BINCHY WAS THE BEST!!!! I have been reading the writings of Maeve Binchy since 1981 when I discovered her mastery of story telling whilst I was quite pregnant. This last book crafted by her is once again a masterpiece of wonderful fiction! She has interwoven new and previous characters into this novel with exceptional grace and wit. Once opened to the first page, you will find this very hard to put down until finished!

    And once again, as with all Maeve Binchy novels, it will leave you craving for more! Thank you, Ms. Binchy for the many years of enjoyment you have given me. You will be sadly missed.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book and am sad it is the last. Maeve Binchy was b

    I loved this book and am sad it is the last. Maeve Binchy was blessed with the ability to make her characters come alive. I also love the way places and people from previous books pop up. I hope somebody can suggest a similar author for me.

    Ms Binchy may be gone, but I'll always remember her with great fondness.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This is to counter anyone who would actually rate a book accordi

    This is to counter anyone who would actually rate a book according to bad delivery service !!!!!

    20 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Ive read all of Maeve Binchy's books and I think A Week in Winte

    Ive read all of Maeve Binchy's books and I think A Week in Winter is one of my favorites. She has a way of drawing in characters from previous books that are easy to recall and she introduces us to new characters that we grow to love. Would love to visit a Stoneybridge for a week in a winter. May never leave. Sadly, this is our last treasure from Mrs Binchy and I will miss her and I have framed a post card that she sent years ago. Ive learned from her that for certain-everyone has a story and her characters are brought to life. Rest in Peace, dear lady. From Sandy Brown Poplar Bluff Missouri USA

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Wonderful writer

    All the familiar elements, lovely and satisfying, she will be missed

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Lovely story!

    Another great read from this wonderful author. So wish there could be more about these characters.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    A very enjoyable read

    Have loved all of Maeve's books and this one-her last is a joy to treasure. Sad that she is gone and will not have us looking forward to her excellent way of captivating her readers and anxiously awaiting her next book

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    This was a great book. Her stories always made you want more.

    This was a great book. Her stories always made you want more. I loved the way some of the characters would show up again (and continue) in the next book. You could almost see some of the people in this book continuing on. It's a shame there won't be any more and I will miss her.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    A Must Read

    This was her very best. I didn't want the story to end. Her last book before her death! I have enjoyed all her books so will start reading them again in a few years. Great book for discussion groups.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Maeve Binchy can "paint" characters in the most believable way. Her stories always give insights into the thoughts and actions of others. This is done in the most believable way.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Excellent!

    I hadn't read any Mauve Binchy in years. When I heard she had passed, I thought I would order her last book. It was wonderful. I remembered why I had loved her books so many years ago. I think I will now fill in with some I had missed. She was her best at character study. Highly recommend. Polly

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    HIghly recommended

    Classic Maeve Binchly- While reading you find yourself in Ireland- enjoying the scenery and totally involved with her characters

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    The best part of this book is the characters. Each chapter is d

    The best part of this book is the characters. Each chapter is devoted to a single character, and you really get to know them like old friends. But there is very little that actually ties the characters together, or to any real story besides staying at the same hotel during the same week. I wish there was more of a storyline weaved through the book that tied it all together.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    I very highly recommend this book and CD

    Maeve Binchy will be so missed by all who loved her work these many years. She writes so that the reader feels they are good friends with all her characters and can't wait to see what they do next. This book is a wonderful final legacy to this great Irish author. We meet and love the countryside and the people who inhabit it from Stoneyridge to Dublin. The story is one of so many people of all ages finding their walks in life and showing us the beauty of the wilds of the Irish seashore. Thank you Maeve for so marvelously completing the journey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Maeve Binchy's last book...A MUST READ

    While this last book of Maeve Binchy's was an excellant read, I found it to be somewhat similar to Rosamund Pilcher's 'Winter Solstice.' A B&B and how it was brought to be and the background of how the first weeks guests came to the B&B and how their week ends. I have read every single book of Maeve Binchy from Light a Penny Candle (I was quite young then and it was a Reader's Digest Condensed Book) all the way through to 'A Week in Winter'. Ms. Binchy never dissappointed me. She always drew me into her characters and to the Irish culture. God Bless Maeve Binchy. May she rest in peace. I will truely miss looking forward to future books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    This is a wonderful book. I have read all her books. I'm sorry this will be her last one. I would highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    The last words from this gentle author.

    It was difficult to conclude this book, completed a mere days before Binchy's death as I know this is the last delight I will receive from this quiet, yet wise author who has the ability to see others without judgment. As in so many of her other books, Binchy creates situations where her characters, often deeply flawed, survive and thrive. I wish Maeve Binchy had written the story of my life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    A Week In Winter is the 17th novel by popular Irish author, Maev

    A Week In Winter is the 17th novel by popular Irish author, Maeve Binchy, and was completed days before she died. It is the story of an old family home (Stone House) on the West coast of Ireland, which is turned into a hotel where guests find a warm welcome and the peace to face their troubles. Binchy’s strength is her characters and their interactions, and she gives a potted history of the crew (Queenie Sheedy, Chicky Starr, Chicky’s niece Orla, Chicky’s friend Nuala’s son, Rigger and his young wife, Carmel ) and the cast of guests (nursing sister Winnie and her formidable prospective mother-in-law, Lillian, American actor, Corry Salinas, doctors Henry and Nicola, Swedish accountant Anders Almkvist, competition aficionados, Ann and Charlie Wall, retired headmistress, Miss Howe and librarian, Freda) as she weaves their stories together. Along the way, Binchy gives beloved characters from many previous novels a small cameo or a mention, a device that always delights fans, who come to think of her books as a comfort, like a favourite pullover and a warm cuppa. These novels have that distinctly Irish feel and one can almost hear the Irish lilt in the dialogue. Binchy’s characters always have plenty of depth and appeal, and face real life problems and dilemmas. But for Binchy’s death, this could easily have become a series along the lines of Macomber’s Rose Harbour. Wonderful, as always.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Silentkit

    Ok.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 336 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17