Customer Reviews for

A Week in Winter

Average Rating 4
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind

Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind the stories of very diverse people into a cohesive yarn. If you've read other Binchy novels, you may have noticed that, in the last several novels she wrote, she's picked up characters and places from form...
Another Maeve masterpiece! Once again, she has managed to wind the stories of very diverse people into a cohesive yarn. If you've read other Binchy novels, you may have noticed that, in the last several novels she wrote, she's picked up characters and places from former books. Although in this book, those former characters and places are less a part of the current story, you'll smile as you recognize a few of them. Remember Quentin's in Dublin? It's still doing well! And Holly's Hotel in Wicklow? It's also continued to succeed - perhaps too much. You'll also find Fiona and a couple of her friends,visit St. Jarlath's Crescent, and even Rossmore. Yet you'll spend almost all of your time with this book in west Ireland, where you'll meet several new characters, each of whom has an engaging story to share - and you'll find yourself wishing to hear their next chapters! Like a fine chef, Binchy has treated her readers to a full-course meal, ending her career with a scrumptious dessert. And like all great chefs, she'll send you away with your mouth watering for the next meal - if only she were still here to prepare it!


posted by 6895248 on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Cali

Hey yall!

posted by 9850060 on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    A very enjoyable read

    Have loved all of Maeve's books and this one-her last is a joy to treasure. Sad that she is gone and will not have us looking forward to her excellent way of captivating her readers and anxiously awaiting her next book

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    Interesting style

    I like Maeve Binchy. Since we're going to Ireland, it has been very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    highly recommend

    I have not yet completed this book but it is so difficult to put it down. The characters are most interesting and by descriptions of various settings, makes you feel like you are there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Anonymous

    An enjoyable book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    A Must Read

    Maeve Binchy has done it again--caught us up in her well-defined characters. This book kept me interested from beginning to end.
    I have read (and own) several of her books and this will be a favorite. I have recommended it to my book club leader for book discussion and to several of my family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    Typically satisfying Binchy

    A delightful read. Interesting characters and the description of the wild Irish coast makes you want to go there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Charming Book

    I have not read one of Ms. Binchy's books in such a long time. Really enjoyed the book and the characters in the book. I will need to go back and read more of the author's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Great escape

    Wish i was there, heartwarming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Exellent

    I've read a lot of Maeve Binchy, and she never disappoints. I haven't actually finished yet, but I'm loving it. I really like how she weaves in characters & locations from previous books into the story. In this book she involves people and a couple of resturants from "Minding Frankie". The lives of these people are ordinary, but the relationships can get very complicated, so it keeps your interet. The characters are realistic and you can put yourself in their place. Over all it's very uplifting and I know I'll be sad when I've finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Her books are always enjoyable.  

    Her books are always enjoyable.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Interesting

    Each chapter introduced a new person and they came together with all the other characters. Very interesting. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    A feel good read

    Loved the writing and each story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Different than most of her books

    I haven't read Maeve Binchy for a number of years because I found her books to be pretty much the same. Because we were given A Week In Winter to read for a bookclub I belong to, I am reading it and enjoying it very much. It is well written and enjoyable and might just change my opinion of Ms. Binchy by the time I hae finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Winterclans nursury

    Winterclans nursury

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    I had not read one of Maeve Binchy's books in quite some time. W

    I had not read one of Maeve Binchy's books in quite some time. When I read the jacket description it drew me in. It is written in a way that left if open for sequels which of course, unfortunately now will not happen. She introduces a range of characters - that made me wonder if she had hoped to write books about them individually but knew that she wouldn't get the chance to so she placed them all in this book. Readers will also revisit locations from her previous books like Quentins...always good to check in and see that things are going well! Binchy books have a tremendous number of fans. She will be missed. Her descriptions of Ireland and the people there make you want to book your trip there as soon as possible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Wonderful!

    This is a delightful book concerning different people coping with
    their problems in satisfactory ways. It is heart-warming, readable & enjoyable. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Another lovely one from Maeve

    It's hard to imagine that we'll have no more books from Maeve Binchy. It's always so nice to relax and lose yourself in her stories. This book is typical Maeve... interesting characters that's lives all become woven together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Fun

    I got this as an audio book to listen on my car rides to work. It was an interesting book and I enjoyed listening to it. I love how the book was read and the accents used by the person in the recording of the book. I have never read a Maeve Binchy before but I will now based on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Juglnjd

    Xbbxxd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    A True Maeve Binchy work!!

    This is Maeve Binchy back to her best. All of the characters are well worked and although the book is somewhat predictable, it is , neverless, one that captures your interest and holds it to the very last page. Charming, well written, old style Binchy in the character of The Copper Beech, and the earlier works of this author. I recommend it for a relaxing, entertaining, interesting, and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4