Customer Reviews for

A Week to Be Wicked (Spindle Cove Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This was a great story...couldn't put it down. loved how Minerva

This was a great story...couldn't put it down.
loved how Minerva was book smart but inexperienced in life...and Colin was wild and crazy. Total opposites. And they taught each other how to come out of their shells...the adventure to Scotland was fun to read and I coul...
This was a great story...couldn't put it down.
loved how Minerva was book smart but inexperienced in life...and Colin was wild and crazy. Total opposites. And they taught each other how to come out of their shells...the adventure to Scotland was fun to read and I couldn't wait to see what else they were going to get themselves into. The ending was a little predictable but that was ok. the love scenes were wonderful and even humorous which totally worked. Funny, Heartwarming, Sexy, & Adventurous - who could ask for more?!

posted by KerriVerri on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

G

To the plot spoilers...please learn how to write a review. Read the others. They are short, concise and to the point. They do not ramble on and on telling every detail that happens. If you wish to belabor every plot point, go to a blog site or web site, but please stop ...
To the plot spoilers...please learn how to write a review. Read the others. They are short, concise and to the point. They do not ramble on and on telling every detail that happens. If you wish to belabor every plot point, go to a blog site or web site, but please stop ruining the books here. Most of us hate to have our books ruined by you. We actually prefer to read the books ourselves and be surprised by what we read, not already know what happens by rude ppl like u.

posted by 8888649 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    G

    To the plot spoilers...please learn how to write a review. Read the others. They are short, concise and to the point. They do not ramble on and on telling every detail that happens. If you wish to belabor every plot point, go to a blog site or web site, but please stop ruining the books here. Most of us hate to have our books ruined by you. We actually prefer to read the books ourselves and be surprised by what we read, not already know what happens by rude ppl like u.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    This was a great story...couldn't put it down. loved how Minerva

    This was a great story...couldn't put it down.
    loved how Minerva was book smart but inexperienced in life...and Colin was wild and crazy. Total opposites. And they taught each other how to come out of their shells...the adventure to Scotland was fun to read and I couldn't wait to see what else they were going to get themselves into. The ending was a little predictable but that was ok. the love scenes were wonderful and even humorous which totally worked. Funny, Heartwarming, Sexy, & Adventurous - who could ask for more?!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    The latest in the Spindle Cove series this novel is one of the b

    The latest in the Spindle Cove series this novel is one of the best romances I read in a while. Minerva Highwood is determined that Lord Payne does not marry her sister. In an attempt to deter the apparently pending proposal, she proposes they travel to Scotland to present her latest geological findings to the scientific community so that Payne can keep the prize money. They seem like an unlikely match, Payne a handsome womanizer, Minerva a bespectacled bluestocking with a love of rocks. Yet in the author’s hands it is believable that opposites attract. The dialogue is great and even better is Minerva’s character. You’ve got to love a heroine who embroiders extinct sea creatures onto her wedding trousseau.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Easily my favorite romance of the year! This book was by far my

    Easily my favorite romance of the year!

    This book was by far my favorite book of the series. I don’t know if it was the unmarried traveler’s plot (always works for me) or the scientific mind/sexual exploration combo, but I found A Week to be Wicked a sexy and witty read – Something I’m coming to expect from a Tessa Dare book. I’ll admit that pre-read I wasn’t sure I was going to like Colin as my hero. Form the outside view of A Night to Surrender he came across as immature and slightly annoying. Inside this tale know that instead, he appears charming, sexy, and emotional scared. Also, the man is constantly encouraging Minerva to be herself! Confident and sexy; who doesn’t love a man who does that.

    “He gave her a searching look, and Minerva marshaled the strength to hold it. Level, confident, unblinking. After a moment, his eyes warmed with an unfamiliar glimmer. Here was an emotion she’d never seen from him before. She thought it might be…respect. “Well,” he said “certainty becomes you.” ” (13)

    It’s the interplay between Minerva’s scientific nature and Colin’s excess of irreverence and charm that keeps the dialogue sharp and moments funny and endearing. They both have confidence issues. Hiding it at opposite ends of the spectrum. He shields himself with a devil-may-care attitude. She keeps her nose in a book. Both are lonely souls who desperately need someone to knock them out of their shells and expose their true selves to the world.

    “Perhaps, she thought, people were more like ammonites than one would suppose. Perhaps they too built shells on a consistent  unchanging factor – some quality or circumstance established in their youth. Each chamber in the shell just an enlargement of the previous. Growing year after year until they spiraled around and locked themselves in place.” (184)

    I would be doing a review of this title an injustice if I failed to mention the amazing sex scenes Dare creates. Just know that my favorites all happened before either character rounds 3rd base. They were unique and sweet and titillating  And somewhat more realistic a physical premise than most. Who among us went from naive virgin to a home run with out some exploration of bases 1-3? I’d say the 0 to 60 experience is rare. Yet, it’s what happens in a lot of the historical romances we read. It was fun to see Minerva and Colin explore the sexual landscape slowly (well for a week-long road trip!) and thoughtfully. Gaining confidence and compassion along the way.

    Rating: 5/5 Easily my favorite romance of the year!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent! Funny, passionate, engaging! Loved it!

    Excellent! Funny, passionate, engaging! Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    I enjoy the Spindle Cove books, this one had quite a twist that took it out of the Spindle Cove setting. Very good read and an entree into the next book? Fina!lly the 'geeky' girl gets the guy! Yay!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Wonderful

    Can't wait for the next one!"

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Loved it !!

    This story of Minerva ( A SELF PROCLAIMED GEOLOGIST ) and Lord Colin Payne ( Rake) was inspiring. Two very different people set out ona trip and find all sorts of adventure to get into. But along the way they discover they both can bring out the better qualities in each other and loved each other flaws also. I loved this book along with the other Spindle Cove books by Tessa Dare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Love

    This is such a wonderful story. I loved it and found parts humorous. Great, easy, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Bookish, awkward Minerva and carefree Colin both have their inse

    Bookish, awkward Minerva and carefree Colin both have their insecurities and I loved reading about their struggles to overcome these insecurities on their own and as a couple. I also liked that the author allowed them to have a little time to get to know one another before their eventual, eventful journey. Tessa Dare throws in some snappy, really funny dialogue and situations, but she truly shines when they finally declare their love for one another. Colin's declaration is wonderful, lovely and romantic, in the best sense of the word. Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great read

    Strong characters and new story line you wont be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    GREAT READ

    GREAT READ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    A definite read!

    As usual from Tessa Dare, it was AWESOME! An extreamly good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Very enjoyable read

    I am loving Tessa Dare's characters from Spindle Cove. I enjoyed reading Colin and Minerva's story and look forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down. It was sexy, romantic and very entertaining. Tessa Dare is becoming one of my favorite authors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    great

    i have read this series in order, i loved them all, but especially this one because i relate to this woman, historical romances are so much fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    The second in the series and Colin proved himself to be a great

    The second in the series and Colin proved himself to be a great hero. Minerva was awesome. I liked that she said things as they were. Didn't matter that she was smart and wanted to be acknowledged as a geologist. As in the other two Spindle Cove books I have read. I truly loved this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Good book, predictable, but good.

    This author delivers a predictable love story. Well written romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Very entertaining, a must read in a great series.

    Be sure to read the "Spindle Cove" series by Tessa Dare. The stories are delightful, filled with interesting characters and well developed story lines. There is plenty of humor too. I look forward to each book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9