Customer Reviews for

A Wicked Pursuit: A Breconridge Brothers Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The start of a new series this is the first story that surrounds

    The start of a new series this is the first story that surrounds the three sons of the Duke of Breconridge as they win and lose at love.  Starting with the eldest son, and heir to the title Harry is a bit of a spoiled prat: self-indulgent, self-aggrandizing and shallow.  Of course, this is not an unusual archetype for a first son in the Georgian era, and Harry is drawn cleverly, with a chance to grow and change as the story progresses. 




    His duty is to marry, and marry well: enriching the looks, bloodline and purse of the Dukedom, and his choice is the toast of the season: Lady Julia.  




    Julia is everything a prospective bachelor of the time would want, and utterly devoid of any qualities that are endearing.  When Harry is injured in a fall, and left to recuperate at Lady Julia’s family home, it is her younger sister who steps in to nurse and entertain the former suitor. 




    Augusta or Gus was a heroine that I found hard to appreciate. While there were moments where her brains and determination made her a clever character, her inconsistent behavior that vacillated between stridency with Harry and obsequious deference to her parents’ lack of respect or affection was confusing.  And, for his part, Harry was just as confused.  




    Gus had some growing up to do: in the shadow of her elder and beautiful sister she often was relegated to Cinderella status by the entire family, and her reaction to the discomfort made her interactions with Harry feel unbalanced.  She has one major trait in her favor, however, she is truly kind and goodhearted: wanting the best for everyone. And when they finally realize the connection between them, absolutely nothing will move her from his side. 




    Set nearly entirely out of London, the historical detail keeps the reader firmly grounded in late 18th century England.  The writing style is beautifully rounded, and while I had some issues with the characters, never once did I want to put this book down.  Fast paced with a sweetly developed romance that is a surprise to everyone BUT the reader,  this was a great start to a new series and I look forward to more. 




    I received an eArc copy from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Liked it overall. Good characters, fun story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Harry and Gus are great together.

    Very good read. The characters in the book were likeable and made the story come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Delightful story! A nice twist on the typical novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Historical Novel

    I find I enjoy the historical novels more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    enjoyable

    enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Recommend

    This is a fun novel to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Cute story......................................................

    Cute story...........................................................
    Can the earl find happiness with the plain jane sister after his dream girl dumps him.?  I don't want to give anything away but it does have a HEA.  Nicely paced story though her father seems a bit of a dumb twit.   Nice story. easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    I really enjoyed both characters. They are interesting, charming

    I really enjoyed both characters. They are interesting, charming and fun together. It isn’t an action-packed or drama-filled story. Instead it’s a slow burn – two people getting to know each other and slowly falling in love, discovering some truths about themselves and about each other. 

    Full review available at Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress.

    (Complimentary copy provided in exchange for an honest review.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    A Wicked Pursuit, by Isabella Bradford, is the first of a new se

    A Wicked Pursuit, by Isabella Bradford, is the first of a new series, The Breconride Brothers. And what a great first it is! The authors research of the country setting in late 18th century Georgian England reveals great knowledge of the time period and subjects throughout the book.
    The hero, Harry Fitzroy – Earl of Hargreave, is your typical arrogant, self centered, rake of the ton who always gets his way in whatever he wants and whose main focus is to find the perfect wife he deserves. The lady he decides upon is Lady Julia Barclay, a beautiful self-centered, wanted by all, shallow society’s sweetheart. Little does he know just how shallow she is. But he is blind to it all. He sets out for the country following Lady Julia to win her and make her his perfect wife, without a thought of his proposal being denied.
    Lady Julia, flirty and shallow as usual, engages him but thwarts him at every turn. Harry has a terrible accident, falls from his horse before he can actually propose. There is no way Lady Julia is going to deal with a hurt Earl as she, according to her, is way more important than any now not so perfect man. She leaves immediately and returns to town, without even waiting to see if the Earl is taken care of.
    Lady Julia has a half-sister few know about, and although not a classical beauty, is pretty Lady Augusta Barclay or Gus for short, is a genuine kind hearted, hard working, taking care of her family, and very over-looked wallflower who prefers the country to the high society ton of town. She takes care of the estate and runs the family household, taking care of everything and everyone.
    It is Lady Augusta who steps in, as always, and takes charge. She directs everyone as to what needs to be done to help the Earl as he lies near death after the accident which breaks his leg. His pride suffers as others must help him and he wants none of it. His recovery is hard and long, and after, with Gus’s help, learns to walk again leaves him with a limp.
    After long trials he begins to understand that beautiful self-centered and shallow people are not so perfect after all and may not be what he really needs to spend the rest of his life with. He begins to see reality with Gus’s tenderness, loyalty, and genuine feelings.
    This book is a light read must read sexy romance. The book does contain explicit but extremely tasteful love scenes. It is a kick-back lazy afternoon entertaining read that leaves you with a satisfied happy feeling. This is a first in what seems to be a great series!!! I would recommend this as well as any other book this author has written.


    In Isabella Bradford’s enthralling new trilogy, three noble brothers—London’s most scandalous rakes—are about to do the unthinkable: settle down. Harry Fitzroy, Earl of Hargreave, is the first to meet his match and lose his heart . . . to a lady who’s not all what he expected.

    As the eldest son of the Duke of Breconridge, Harry Fitzroy is duty-bound to marry—and marry well. Giving up his rakish ways for the pleasures of a bride’s bed becomes a delightful prospect when Harry chooses beautiful Lady Julia Barclay, the catch of the season. But a fall from his horse puts a serious crimp in his plans. Abandoned by Julia before he can propose, the unlucky bachelor finds himself trapped in the country in the care of Julia’s younger sister.

    Harry has never met a woman like Lady Augusta. Utterly without artifice, Gus is clever and capable, and seems to care not a fig for society. After a taboo kiss awakens passion that takes them both by surprise, Harry realizes he’d almost given his heart to the wrong sister. While London tongues wag, he’ll use his most seductive powers of persuasion to convince the reluctant Gus that she belongs with him—as his equal, his love, his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This story will go into my collection of favorite authors and bo

    This story will go into my collection of favorite authors and books. Isabella has a marvelous plot for a wonderful book. It was nice to read a story without spies or wars or deaths. Harry, a Duke's son, came home with Julia who he wants to marry. He meets her plain sister Augusta. Harry gets tossed from his mount and breaks his leg in 2 places. Julia and Gus have to decide who and how they care for Harry. No spoilers here. You must read the book. Does Harry marry? Are the parents OK with the idea of marriage? There are lots of plot diversions to keep you guessing until the end. Give the book a chance and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Wicked Pursuit is a fun, exciting, entertaining historical rom

    A Wicked Pursuit is a fun, exciting, entertaining historical romance. 

    As the heir, Duke of Breconridge must marry. Harry, the Duke has his sights on Lady Julia Barclay...a fair beauty and pleasant company. When he goes to her family's estate to propose, he is gravely injured.

    Lady Augusta Barclay, Julia's sister, takes up the reins of Harry's care when her sister can't afford his injuries. Harry quickly learns to depend on Augusta (Gus) for support and companionship during this long rehabilitation. He also sees just how shallow Julia truly is. 

    While society gossips about Harry, Julia and Harry's injuries, Harry is tucked away with the sister he'd like to know more. Now he just has to convince Gus.

    A Wicked Pursuit is an utterly charming romance. Harry's character development is marvelous to watch, while Gus's inherit character strength was bloody brilliant. Although I had a hard time with the female lead being named Gus, it was quite fitting for a character that masterfully handles everything that comes her way. This delightful story is a sure fit for the historical romance lover in us all.

    I received this ARC copy of A Wicked Pursuit from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication February 25, 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is book 1 in the Breconridge Brothers series, which is conn

    This is book 1 in the Breconridge Brothers series, which is connected to her Wylder Sisters series.

    The Earl of Hargreave, Harry Fitzroy, heads to the country to finally propose to the beautiful Julia Barclay. Once there, they go on an early morning ride where Harry will finally get his chance to propose. Unfortunately, things don't go as planned and Harry is thrown from his horse. Having broken both bones in his leg, Harry is forced to convalesce at the Barclay home.

    Lady Augusta, Gus, has always been in the shadow of her beautiful sister. But when Harry is injured, it is Gus and not Julia that steps up to make sure that his recovery goes smoothly.

    Julia has run back to London and Gus must make excuses to Harry. Forever the one to look after everything, Gus does her best to entertain Harry while he recuperates. As Harry spends time with Gus, he realizes that he almost proposed to the wrong sister. He would have been miserable with Julia.

    As he sets out to win the heart of Gus, he remembers how he became injured and is angry at himself. Because of his antics, he can not be the husband he would like to be for Gus. Can Gus convince him that he is good enough just as he is?

    I really enjoyed this story. Gus was the ugly duckling that turned into the swan with the love of Harry. 

    When Harry is introduced, I felt he was kinda of an @$$. When he was injured, he started inviting all these people to Gus's home and having a bunch of things delivered, including his dogs. I was a little taken aback by his high-handedness, but then thought about how the son of a duke would have been raised. As a future duke, everything would have been catered to him and his every wish fulfilled. Then he realized that his feelings for Gus were more than just friendship and his actions made me fall in love with him. He wanted Gus to see herself as he saw her, not as she had seen herself her whole life

    This is an awesome start to a new series and I can't wait for the rest of it to come out. This is the first book of Bradford's that I have read and I was impressed with it. I will definitely be going back and reading her Wylder Sisters series.

    Thanks go to NetGalley and Ballentine Books for a copy of the book in exchange on an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    **Provided a copy by NetGalley for an honest review*** I was so

    **Provided a copy by NetGalley for an honest review***

    I was so pleasantly surprised by this book! I absolutely loved it. I have to say, Harry & Gus are my new favorite couple. Their story was
    so special and really touches my heart. The strength that both of the characters show is amazing. I loved that we got to meet both of the
    families as well since they were so important to both of the main characters. The supporting characters were very well written, they
    were whole but didn't take over the story. Julia and her drama were even put in the proper place and I was so glad to see how the
    relationship between Julia and Gus played out. I would recommend this book VERY highly to any fan of historical romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A sweet and lovely historical romance, A Wicked Pursuit was a wo

    A sweet and lovely historical romance, A Wicked Pursuit was a wonderful book. I really enjoyed reading it and I totally loved it.

    Gus was a wonderful heroine. She was strong in her own quiet way. She was determined and loyal to her family (even when they didn't deserve it *coughJuliacough*). I really liked her. She was a genuinely kind character and I thought she was great.

    Harry was also great. He was a bit arrogant at first but, as the book went on, we see his true nature. He was sweet and utterly devoted to Gus. He struggled with accepting his new limp caused by his accident and I thought that made him a strong, more realistic character. I absolutely adored him.

    The romance was super sweet. Gus and Harry were wonderful together.  When they fell in love, nothing was going to stop them from being together and, when they met challenges, they both stood by each other. And, the attraction between them was constant. I thought they were wonderful together.

    The plot was okay. It was really the only weak point. It was a bit slow, so I wasn't able to get totally hooked. But, it never dragged and I was kept interested the entire way through. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was sweet.

    A Wicked Pursuit was a fantastic historical romance. I really liked this book. The romance was very sweet and the story was truly enjoyable. Romance lovers, this is a book you have to read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1