Customer Reviews for

A Wicked Pursuit: A Breconridge Brothers Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 3, 2015

    Isabella is a great author - Harry and Gus are well developed ch

    Isabella is a great author - Harry and Gus are well developed characters - I thoroughly enjoyed this book & the 2nd one as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Liked it overall. Good characters, fun story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Delightful story! A nice twist on the typical novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Historical Novel

    I find I enjoy the historical novels more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This story will go into my collection of favorite authors and bo

    This story will go into my collection of favorite authors and books. Isabella has a marvelous plot for a wonderful book. It was nice to read a story without spies or wars or deaths. Harry, a Duke's son, came home with Julia who he wants to marry. He meets her plain sister Augusta. Harry gets tossed from his mount and breaks his leg in 2 places. Julia and Gus have to decide who and how they care for Harry. No spoilers here. You must read the book. Does Harry marry? Are the parents OK with the idea of marriage? There are lots of plot diversions to keep you guessing until the end. Give the book a chance and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is book 1 in the Breconridge Brothers series, which is conn

    This is book 1 in the Breconridge Brothers series, which is connected to her Wylder Sisters series.

    The Earl of Hargreave, Harry Fitzroy, heads to the country to finally propose to the beautiful Julia Barclay. Once there, they go on an early morning ride where Harry will finally get his chance to propose. Unfortunately, things don't go as planned and Harry is thrown from his horse. Having broken both bones in his leg, Harry is forced to convalesce at the Barclay home.

    Lady Augusta, Gus, has always been in the shadow of her beautiful sister. But when Harry is injured, it is Gus and not Julia that steps up to make sure that his recovery goes smoothly.

    Julia has run back to London and Gus must make excuses to Harry. Forever the one to look after everything, Gus does her best to entertain Harry while he recuperates. As Harry spends time with Gus, he realizes that he almost proposed to the wrong sister. He would have been miserable with Julia.

    As he sets out to win the heart of Gus, he remembers how he became injured and is angry at himself. Because of his antics, he can not be the husband he would like to be for Gus. Can Gus convince him that he is good enough just as he is?

    I really enjoyed this story. Gus was the ugly duckling that turned into the swan with the love of Harry. 

    When Harry is introduced, I felt he was kinda of an @$$. When he was injured, he started inviting all these people to Gus's home and having a bunch of things delivered, including his dogs. I was a little taken aback by his high-handedness, but then thought about how the son of a duke would have been raised. As a future duke, everything would have been catered to him and his every wish fulfilled. Then he realized that his feelings for Gus were more than just friendship and his actions made me fall in love with him. He wanted Gus to see herself as he saw her, not as she had seen herself her whole life

    This is an awesome start to a new series and I can't wait for the rest of it to come out. This is the first book of Bradford's that I have read and I was impressed with it. I will definitely be going back and reading her Wylder Sisters series.

    Thanks go to NetGalley and Ballentine Books for a copy of the book in exchange on an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    **Provided a copy by NetGalley for an honest review*** I was so

    **Provided a copy by NetGalley for an honest review***

    I was so pleasantly surprised by this book! I absolutely loved it. I have to say, Harry & Gus are my new favorite couple. Their story was
    so special and really touches my heart. The strength that both of the characters show is amazing. I loved that we got to meet both of the
    families as well since they were so important to both of the main characters. The supporting characters were very well written, they
    were whole but didn't take over the story. Julia and her drama were even put in the proper place and I was so glad to see how the
    relationship between Julia and Gus played out. I would recommend this book VERY highly to any fan of historical romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1