Customer Reviews for

A Winter Dream

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I do highly recommend this book

This book actually reminded me a lot of RPE's earlier book called, Lost December, but it was an excellent, excellent book none the less. It turned out to be one of those books that you almost hate, because you cannot put it down, so you keep reading, until the book end...
This book actually reminded me a lot of RPE's earlier book called, Lost December, but it was an excellent, excellent book none the less. It turned out to be one of those books that you almost hate, because you cannot put it down, so you keep reading, until the book ends too soon for your liking, and then you are upset, because you do not want it to be over, and all you can think about is, if i just would have put it down a couple of times, there would still be some of it left to read. The thing I love most about Mr. Evans books is that I can read them without being assaulted by page after page of foul language. Thank you, Mr. Evans! Write on!!!!

posted by Rayff on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beware!!!! The ebook is supposed to be 288 pages--but once you

Beware!!!! The ebook is supposed to be 288 pages--but once you pay for it and it loads, it's only 176 pages. B&N can't explain or fix this. Additionally, it says it will include an ecopy of the Christmas Box--also a lie. B&N knows it's a problem but hasn't g...
Beware!!!! The ebook is supposed to be 288 pages--but once you pay for it and it loads, it's only 176 pages. B&N can't explain or fix this. Additionally, it says it will include an ecopy of the Christmas Box--also a lie. B&N knows it's a problem but hasn't gotten around to fixing it. So I searched and searched for a book to read today, ordered this, paid for it, wasted 15 minutes on the phone where they only care about refunding my money-not fixing the problem.
So, if I want to read this book today, I have to borrow my son's KINDLE. Guess which reader I will buy next time???

posted by MRSDM on November 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I do highly recommend this book

    This book actually reminded me a lot of RPE's earlier book called, Lost December, but it was an excellent, excellent book none the less. It turned out to be one of those books that you almost hate, because you cannot put it down, so you keep reading, until the book ends too soon for your liking, and then you are upset, because you do not want it to be over, and all you can think about is, if i just would have put it down a couple of times, there would still be some of it left to read. The thing I love most about Mr. Evans books is that I can read them without being assaulted by page after page of foul language. Thank you, Mr. Evans! Write on!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Beware!!!! The ebook is supposed to be 288 pages--but once you

    Beware!!!! The ebook is supposed to be 288 pages--but once you pay for it and it loads, it's only 176 pages. B&N can't explain or fix this. Additionally, it says it will include an ecopy of the Christmas Box--also a lie. B&N knows it's a problem but hasn't gotten around to fixing it. So I searched and searched for a book to read today, ordered this, paid for it, wasted 15 minutes on the phone where they only care about refunding my money-not fixing the problem.
    So, if I want to read this book today, I have to borrow my son's KINDLE. Guess which reader I will buy next time???

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    A Must Read for Richard Paul Evans fans

    A wonderful modern story of Joesph that was sold into Egypt. I couldn't put it down. Wonderfully written and great story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Encourage everyone to read this book.

    As always, Richard Paul Evans captures the reader's interest and makes you feel like you're part of the story. Once you start reading, it's hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    highly recommened

    If you have never read books by Richard Paul Evans start with this one and work backwards All of his books give hope and joy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Didn't want it to end!

    One of my favorite Evans books! I had a hard time putting it down. His loyalty to his brother was inspiring. It really hit on the differences in people and how they lead their lives. I laughed and cried and wanted to meet this man!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    I just bought the book. It only has 176 of the 288 pages and I

    I just bought the book. It only has 176 of the 288 pages and I was supposed to get a copy of the Christmas Box but that did not come with the order. I am very upset. I wish I had read the review from MRSDM before I bought the book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Very good

    Purchased as Christmas gift. The recipient assures me "a Very Good Read"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Great story but the book is a gyp

    I usually give Evans' books a 5 stars and this story is really good and I enjoyed it. However, it was VERY short and then the Christmas Box is added to the book at the end!! I read Christmas Box a LONG time ago and would not have been interested in buying it again. So I was cheated by thinking I was reading a longer book and then it abruptly comes to an end! What a gyp. Therefore 3 stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Timeless, Highly recommend!

    Joseph, or J.J. is the son of Isaac Jacobson, an advertising executive and war hero. Joseph is also his father's favorite son. When his father gives him a very special jacket, it's too much for his brothers to except. They forced him from his job and home in Colorado. Joseph ends up in Chicago at another advertising agency working as a copywriter. It's here he meets April, a lovely, sweet woman with a big secret. I really enjoyed this feel good holiday rendition of a timeless story of faith, forgiveness and redemption.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Recommend

    A nice book to read over a Holiday Break. Good story and okay to pass along to your older teens when you are done. It's nice to find something to read that isn't full of bad language, inappropriate relationships, and vampires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I could not put this book down from the begining to the end.

    Great Christmas gift, evan for men.
    This book captures the heart of those who work to climb the
    ladder of success and find pit falls that seem to turn the
    path we are on and will place us where we don't want to
    be. Hard work and a little faith will take you a long way.
    Excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Awesome book, couldn't put it down.

    What a wonderful and enlighting twist to Joseph and his coat. Their were tears of empathy and joy, and have recommended to many friends. I am always anxious to start a new book by Richard Paul Evans. He has a unique way of sending a message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    loved it!

    loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    This retelling of Joseph and the coat of many colors was a very

    This retelling of Joseph and the coat of many colors was a very fun good feeling book. It was very similar to the other book I read from this author as far as what ultimately happens in the book. It had just enough differences to make it enjoyable to read. It makes you think about life in a different way and appreciate it a bit more.

    A very uplifting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Evans is a great storyteller!

    Richard Evans is a great storyteller and this was a modern version of Joseph and coat along with the brothers from the Bible returning home. (Liked the jealous step brother part as it is very realistic). The story was about overcoming obstacles and everything is not as it appears. We learn from our mistakes and the gift of forgiveness. Not crazy about the girlfriend who was running away from polygamist tie in and would have preferred a different take; however, all in all was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Worth reading

    This was used for my bookclub selection. It is a quick read & very enjoyable. The letter from the father is exceptional. Many of the "quotes" between the chapters are great advice...or bits of wisdom for life. If you know biblical old testament stories, you may recognise this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    a good Nook Book

    If you like a quick, easy to read, Bible-based story, this one's for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Good Read - Not great.

    I was particularly interested in reading this because I'd spent many years in the advertising agency business and dealt with much of what was written about. So I enjoyed the story though didn't think it was written with amazing prose or anything like that. The similarity to - or retelling of - the Old Testament story of Joseph and the coat of many colors was, in my humble opinion, a stretch and actually not really necessary to the plot - or, for that matter, very believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3