Customer Reviews for

AAAARGH!!!

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    Very entertaining book for tweens! Lots of zany mishaps as Tuna

    Very entertaining book for tweens! Lots of zany mishaps as Tuna and Herby, two 23rd century time travelers mess things up for TJ. But TJ does learn a good lesson on how cheating can change your whole life so it’s best to not cheat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    When her room is filled with two dozen pirates from the 1700¿s

    When her room is filled with two dozen pirates from the 1700’s sword fighting, TJ Finkelstein yells! The bumbling time travelers Tuna and Herby are at it again. This time they are trying to help TJ write a book report. Unfortunately, the plans don’t always work well for TJ! This is a crazy book that should appeal to elementary aged kids and it has a message of don’t cheat in a fun way to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Bill Myers's books are so easy to relate to, and the action deli

    Bill Myers's books are so easy to relate to, and the action delivers every time.

    His new series deals with common issues young teens face...specifically in "AAAARRGH!!!", it's honesty. Too often what we say as parents and adults seems to go in one ear and out the other...

    But let TJ, Tuna and Herby in on the lesson, and this is one that will stick! I love, love LOVE these new characters, and can't wait to read the entire series and share them with my now grown kids!

    "TJ and the Time Stumblers" is a keeper, and no one asked me to say it...I picked up this copy myself! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AAAARGH!!!, by Bill Myers, is book #2 in the TJ and the Time Stu

    AAAARGH!!!, by Bill Myers, is book #2 in the TJ and the Time Stumblers 6 book series. As in #1, The New Kid Catastrophes, these time traveling kids kept me engaged and amused. The chaos is endless, which keeps readers attention, and Bill Myers manages to sew a thread of a message throughout, without it feeling like ‘this is the moral of the story.’

    The ‘lesson’ taught in this tale is the repercussions of cheating. Sometimes twisting of the truth may not seem so bad, but it catches up with you. There are always better choices, and they’re shown in amusing, yet meaningful ways.

    TJ, Tuna, and Herby are fun, unforgettable characters. Although they are middle-schoolers, I feel younger kids could easily relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    (To begin, let me say that I'm over a decade out of the target a

    (To begin, let me say that I'm over a decade out of the target audience age range, so that definitely affects my opinion of the book.) 

    "AAAARGH!!!" is the second book in a "juvenile" series about a modern-day junior-high student, T.J., and her from-the-future pals, Herby and Tuna. The book follows her adventures over the course of a crazy week as she deals with one catastrophe after another resulting from the chaos of having two 23rd century companions and all of their sci-fi gadgets. There is a lot of ridiculousness and humor in the book that caters to the target audience, what with pirates coming alive from books and talking animals, etc, and I'm sure that's fun for preteen readers. I found it a little obnoxious, but again, I'm an older reader than the author intends. ;-) I did find it interesting (if at times slightly annoying) how the author uses font size and shape to get his point across. That, combined with his written sound affects, would probably help the unimaginative reader to get into the story. 

    Overall, "AAAARGH!!!" is an interesting story and the author teaches a good lesson about the dangers and consequences of cheating, both immediate and far down the line. For that reason, and because I'm sure younger kids would love the wackiness of the story, I'm giving it 4 stars. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    The second book in the series TJ and the Time Stumblers, "A

    The second book in the series TJ and the Time Stumblers, "AAAArgh!!!" focuses again on 13 year old TJ Finkelstein, who is being observed by two characters from the future (23rd century!), who have chosen her as a case-study for their history project.




    In this episode, TJ's decision to use the well-meaning Tuna & Herby's book report on Treasure Island (written by Robert Louis Stevenson himself, time-ported in!) has long reaching decisions from her cheating.....will she finally do the right thing?




    Meanwhile, next door neighbor Chad has his own problems, as Doug Cloudlouper is pressuring him to use his special jet-engine surfboard in the upcoming competition.  Chad thinks it's like cheating, but Doug repeatedly tells him, "It's only cheating if you get caught!"




    A great life lesson on consequences of cheating told in an enjoyable and non-preachy way - I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    This is the second book of the TJ and the Time Stumblers series.

    This is the second book of the TJ and the Time Stumblers series. Like the other books in this series, the author takes readers from one catastrophe to the next and in the midst of the chaos manages to teach a lesson. In this book the lesson is cheating and overcoming the temptation to take the easy way out by cheating. TJ has a unique opportunity to see how the results of her choosing to cheat negatively impact her life so she can make better choices. For readers, they can learn that cheating might make things easier at the moment, but can have unintended consequences.

    These books are all entertaining to read because of the funny experiences, dialogue, and futuristic devices used by Tuna and Herby. I also like the way Myers plays on contemporary fads and celebrities in a funny way. I would recommend this series to kids and adults who have kids. Very funny at parts with a good message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all)

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all) for my classroom, and they quickly became hits with a lot of the kids. A Christian riff on Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, the Time Stumblers series features Herby and Tuna, two silly guys from the 2200’s who travel back in time to the twenty-first century in order to get some first-hand data for their history project on TJ Finkelstein, a great world leader from their past. They end up stuck with a seventh-grade version of TJ in her own time, and while they work on finding their way home they help TJ learn many of the biblical virtues and life lessons that will make her a godly and revered leader one day. My female students love that the books feature a godly heroine who, though destined for greatness, struggles with the same hardships, homework, and heartbreaks as them; and the boys get a kick out of Herby and Tuna’s antics.

    In AAAARGH!!!, TJ learns a valuable lesson about the consequences of cheating and the uncontrollable nature of lies when the guys try to help her with a book report by getting the book’s author to write it for her. The important of obedience and confession are highlighted, and the subject matter was especially appropriate for kids reading the story in a school setting. Lots of laughs and lots of wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1