Customer Reviews for

The Abs Diet: The Six-Week Plan to Flatten Your Stomach and Keep You Lean for Life

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Abs Diet by David Zinczenko

    Most eye opening book I have ever read about food intake and exercise. I have lost 40 lbs in seven weeks and lost four belt sizes just by following the 12 power food combinations with exercising. Strongly recommend this book to anyone who had DESIRE to lose weight for good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best "Diet" book I've seen

    I read the Abs Diet for Women, but bought this version for my husband. I've perused many diet/health/fitness books- and this is by far the best overall. I learned a lot about the foods we eat, and how they effect our bodies. I also learned a lot about the importance of weight training. I still run a lot, but now I make sure to lift 3 days a week as well. I've seen great results. The diet makes complete sense and still allows for fully enjoyable and satisfying meals. My husband and I are now big fans of David Zinczenko!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Well Written! Good Instructions! Excellent Results!

    I have tried other diets that have helped me lose weight but have done nothing for my spare tire. This book explains why the others didn't work and then explains how this diet is different. In addition, recipes are provided and an exercise program that does not require a gym membership is also given. I have lost 10 pounds in less than 6 weeks and the gut is going away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    This book has helped me lose my abdomen in a very healthy way. A

    This book has helped me lose my abdomen in a very healthy way. Also, It comes in Spanish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    this book introduced me to my abs!

    I grew up as a chubby kid,23yrs old carrying ugly love handles while working two jobs and raising a family but the easy to follow meals and snacks put me in the game.The exercises even fits my hectic schedule yet i've lost 25lbs,shed my love handles and I can see my 6 pack now!I can even run shirtless outside,has more confidence and cant wait for next summer to showoff my new beach body!!!!Great job there David!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    WOW. The best diet book i have EVER read!

    This book is fantastic! I think the author should win a prize for being informative, AND substantiating everything with studies and facts without bogging us down. He's funny! That made me keep reading. It never got dry! I am not hungry at all. I have been incorporating slowly the things he said. I bought (organic-that was me) olive oil, am going to add flax seed oil. I'm going to do moderate aerobix but will add weights like he said. His writing TOOK AWAY MY FEAR of fats by educating me which fats in moderation helps me to lose weight, instead of the other fats which block weight loss. I knew some fats were bad and some good, but I had no idea that some added to our pants line more than others!! Also, I learned about high fructose corn syrup. This has changed my life as far as understanding and motivation is concerned. Thank you,thank you, to the author. I took the leap and purchased the book because the author is over Men's Health, and even though I'm a girl, I have incredible respect for the magazine, and, now that they have women's health out, I have my own subscription.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Where's the womens side?!

    After reading this book I was very pumped up to start changing my body. After reading all the before and after stories I was excited to see what I had lost when acually my stomach got BIGGER. I messured out the calories it had in one sandwich i was eating for lunch and it alone had over 600 calories! After being very dissapointed with my measurements I ordered the Abs Diet for Women just to find out that it was exactly the same as the regular one I had with a few extra pages in it. I did on the other hand gain muscle in my legs and a little in my arms but I am dissapointed to see that I had lost nothing and gained in the stomach. All in all i would say it's a waste of time to do if you are a girl because it is obviously made just for men.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    ABsolutely worth a look.

    This book reminds me a lot of 'Body For Life.' It has a very workable plan to lose weight. The diet and exercise strategies are clearly laid out and explained in sufficient detail. Readers will also find plenty of pictures too of the exercises. Motivational in nature, it's laid back writing style is very complmentary to the book and should appeal to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Best Diet Book I've Read!

    WOW! This book really lays it down for you in more ways than one. I've read several other books in the diet realm and this one by far is the best. What I like most about the book and the diet itself (3 wks strong and seeing results) is that it educates you about food, the good and the bad. It doesn't promote any sports supplements too look great, other than a multi-vitamin & some whey protein. And it is far from being a fad-diet. It is more of helping you change your eating habits and maintaining that lifestyle to look and feel great. When I first read the book I thought about Body-for-Life. I thought the books were similar, but the only difference is that BFL does not educate the reader about food and it promotes heavy on their EAS brand products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    OMG I love it

    I've tried every diet on Earth. lost 30 pounds with Weight Watchers, but a year later gained half back because I couldn't keep up with the logs and point tracking. I just bought this The Abs Diet book last week, and I've already lost 2 pounds. This is the first 'diet' I've been on that allows me to eat anough to fill me. In fact, I have to force myself to eat all three snacks because I sometimes don't have an appetite. Food is more costly because I buy everything fresh now, but it's so worth it. My hair already looks healthier, my skin is starting to glow again and I don't feel as tired as I used too. Thank God for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Worth the time and energy

    I have been doing a lot of reading about health and fitness. In comparison with others, this book is easy to read, provides fantastic advice and descriptions on working out and eating right. It's definitely worth the time and energy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    Excellent Book!!

    This book gives the common sense approach to healthy eating. I am not over weight and I am not looking to lose weight, however, I did want to learn more about eating healthy, understanding the labels on food packages and steering clear of harmful foods that can clog the arteries and cause other health problems. For dieters, this book helps the reader to understand why 'diets' don't work for long-term. It explains how to coordinate the timing of a snack and breakfast, lunch and dinner so your body does not run out of energy. It offers a list of (common) foods you should eat all the time, eat sometimes and eat hardly ever. This is the best book I've ever read about healthy eating!!! I could not put this book down!! I am on my second reading of it!! It's great!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Diet works

    I bought this book 3 weeks ago and have been trying the diet for the last 2 weeks or so. I haven't lost too much weight...but I have no one to blame but myself for that since I have cheated a ton of times on weekends. Even thought I am not losing much weight, my clothes feel loose. My metabolism seems to have increased and friends have mentioned that I look leaner. I have been hitting the gym about 4 times a week for a while, so betweent the diet and the gym I can see results. Prior to starting the diet, I struggled to keep my weight down, even though I was at the gym a lot. The book itself provides an easy plan to follow and gives a bunch of recipes to use. Finding interesting ways to cook dinner has been a problem though, since my wife is not on the diet. The book also provides a good explanation of how the diet works and the foods you need to boost your metabolism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Very Informative

    I just finished reading this book. It's focus is on dieting and the power of foods. The information is very informative. I've been using this new info for about 2 weeks now and I've lost seven pounds. The last part of the book talks about exercising and gives many examples with pictures. I strongly recommend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    BUY IT READ IT LIVE IT

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK, EASY TO READ AND APPLY TO YOUR LIFE, NO DIFICULT MEAL PLANS AND LONG HARD TOO FOLLOW DIETS. THIS BOOK IS FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    easy to read

    The book is easy to read and easier to understand. The book starts out at a gradual pace and you don't have to buy many things. Unfortunately, there is a lot of facts towards the last chapters that do not make very much sense when you're in a time crunch. The list of foods and the glycemic index is a good example. The testimonials are nice and so is the information regarding illness and problems that come with having a little too much padding on the midsection. All in all, this book is a good place to start, and with that bright orange cover, it is hard to lose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Here's what I think.....

    Actually a fun read. This diet book offers the reader a well laid out diet and exercise plan that is probably doable for most. Lots of pictures of the exercises, an easy writing syle, and a maintenance plan make this book worth a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    Must Have!

    This is a great book. It actually tells you which exercises to use in order to be succesful with the plan and shows them with pictures. A helpful and easy meal plan is also included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    Learn How to Eat

    I have been using the 6 small meals a day concept for a few weeks after reading about it in the 2005 Men's Health Total Fitness Guide. The Abs Diet is great! And yes, it is geared towards men. The cover doesn¿t exactly try to hide this fact either as it clearly shows off the author¿s credentials as the Editor-in-Chief of Men¿s Health Magazine. I would suspect that any book written by a woman editor of a woman¿s magazine might be slightly geared towards women¿ If you are looking to lose weight, get in shape, and want to put your fitness goals on auto pilot, you should get this book. The reason most diets fail is because people fail to really change the way they eat. Most people simply fail to change! Diets and most exercise programs are way too complicated! Unless you are trying to be a super model or Mr. Universe, you need a plan that is simple and works in every situation life throws at you. Most importantly you need to change the way you look at food and eating otherwise you wouldn¿t be reading this review right? This may be just the book to help you do it! If you have been struggling with your body and physical health and looking for an answer, this book has a great plan to help. The title should actually be ¿Learn How to Eat.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2004

    A great way to loose weight and get lean

    The Abs Diet is a great book for any reader looking to loose weight and build lean muscle. Even though the studies are not formally referenced, as a student of nutritional science, I assure you that they are all real (even those doubted by another reader). I have studied and tried other diets, mostly the highly promoted low fat diet and the Abs diet is a sensible diet without food cravings that other diets sometimes force. The exercise portion was actually the driving force behind my purchase, as I was looking for a way to build a lean body. However as I read through the book I realized the nutritional information is credible and sound. I highly reccomend this book to anyone looking to live a healthier life. Also, the one thing I didn't like is, that the book is clearly directed to a male audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4