Customer Reviews for

Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think about Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment

Average Rating 4
( 786 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(414)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not too shabby...

This book, written by funny man Steve Harvey, is about letting women into the male's mind, how he thinks, why he ticks like he does. The author knows his stuff and simply puts it out there for all of us. It's a good read that is at times eye-popping. I'd recommend this ...
This book, written by funny man Steve Harvey, is about letting women into the male's mind, how he thinks, why he ticks like he does. The author knows his stuff and simply puts it out there for all of us. It's a good read that is at times eye-popping. I'd recommend this to my girlfriends, that's for sure.

posted by readsalot50 on January 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

102 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

No self esteem or requirements for your dates, then you should read, otherwise pass. 200 page excuse for why he cheated on his wife.

Okay.. so there is validity to the information Steve says about men being very simplistic, the three P's as he refers... If women have low self esteem and have no requirements for how men treat them and no expectations of their dates then maybe this could be a useful re...
Okay.. so there is validity to the information Steve says about men being very simplistic, the three P's as he refers... If women have low self esteem and have no requirements for how men treat them and no expectations of their dates then maybe this could be a useful read for them. Women definitely need to limit the crap they put up with and scratch men off their potential list if men can't raise the bar. Steve suggest why would you want this man if he cannot show he's "all in", but really, it does not drive home to women they are worth more than the man who's not "all in". The Book "He's Just Not That Into You" is far better with all of this! After my laughing through the first 55 pages of obvious anecdotes about men and how they think (women get a clue) the next 172 pages felt like Steve writing an excuse and justification for why he once cheated on his wife.. This book contradicts itself so many time it's head shakeable, suggesting one thing and then suggesting it again completely different. I know Steve has come across all kinds of people in his line of work but perhaps his cushioned lifestyle that he's had these many years now has given him a false sense of what real dating these days is like. He's writing the book as a tool for us women to use to get a man and hopefully keep him from cheating on us, therefore I guess he felt absolutely no responsibility to also suggest (accept for one line) that not only should women turn on the honey for the "cookie" (physical intimacy) and to keep their partners but men should as well. Yeah, perhaps if you are a stay home wife/mother you can heed all the advise herein suggesting that you date yourself back to the Leave It To Beaver Days, but if you are a hard working woman who's also bringing home the bacon, it takes two to tango the home into cookie giving harmony. The language it's written in is so elementary it will not challenge your vocabulary at all. The book, if you can get it 2nd hand for a few bucks is worth a read, dropping $25 to read 225 pages of excuses for an affair is not worth the money. Again there is validity to Steve's words, that men have basically not evolved much past caveman days, but I'd say... Steve it's been a long time since you have been on the market, not only have I seen some men who've slightly evolved beyond what you suggest but I also know that women are not the only one's who need to keep up the sweet appreciations towards their partners.

posted by beart72 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    Explanation + Understanding = Inner Peace! Yes!

    I read the book in about 5 hours, which brings me to what I most loved about the book... It was to the point. A lot of self help books are packed with a lot of fluff and reiterating - you have to read about 3 chapters just to get down to the nitty gritty. Not Steve's book. He was very insightful, and when I finished the book, I knew exactly what I needed to do... Rid myself of Fear!<BR/><BR/>Also, I am now crystal clear on why men behave the way they do. And I understand why things in my past relationships happened the way they did. <BR/>Explanation + Understanding = Inner Peace! Yes!<BR/><BR/>Thanks Steve!

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Excellent Read!

    I purchased this book Friday evening at 6pm. It's Monday morning at 8pm and have about 30 pages to go. I just wanted to let you all know that this book is worth the money!

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Act Like a Lady

    Wish I would have had this book in my 20s. Very few men now a days act like the real man that Steve describes. Many have their wife acting like a mother instead of a wife/lover and don't even seem to mind. It is frustrating making more money than your man and he has no motivation because eveything is being taken care of anyway. I needed my man to be a man - provider, protector, and profess that I am his one and only, not act like a boy. Hind sight IS 20/20. Recommend for teenage girls and women in there 20s looking for a good man. Helps recognize signs of someone playing them.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Awesome Book

    I read this book on a business trip and was sharing the information and jokes he uses in the book. It was awesome. Would recommend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man

    Humorous, true to life, advice on female/male relationships. Great read for young females starting to date and older ones who just do not get how a man thinks.
    Wake up call to women who have lowered their standards.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Great relationship tool

    This book could have saved me a lot of grief in previous relationships. Helpful, funny and easy reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    A fun book

    I enjoyed reading this book. I don't know how much of an expert Steve Harvey actually is with relationships, but he is a guy, and with me being a girl, I wanted a guy's point of view when it comes to dating and relationships. It's been my experience that most guys don't want to talk over things, they would rather disappear and move on, leaving you to wonder what is going on. Steve gave good advice on a lot of things. I'm not sure if I agree with most 100%, because all of us are going to make our own choices. But I do see where I've made some unintentional mistakes and won't repeat them in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Its all right to be picky

    After reading this book, I found it to be very informative because personally I had no clue about the behavior of men. It doesn't matter who he is or what he does, his education status or experience he may have under his hat or belt. Men are men, their personality make them who they are and this book explains it in layman terms. The language is basic like the subject which makes it a good read for young ladies to mature women who just need a little guidance and an idea about the type of man they want in their life. It is what it is because it's simple and to the point. Steve Harvey, a man who has been there and done that is shedding the light on the mentality of men and then some. If you have had such problems, it will definitely open your eyes and make you think.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    He's an inspiration (From Author Dapharoah69)

    I love this book because he is the epitome of excellence. Because of him opening doors and listening to his radio show...about us not being perfect, I built my own publishing company and now my book is ranked in the top 200 best selling books on barnes and noble.com and I continue to use Steve's example as my own. Thank you Steve for helping me to accept myself, for what and who I am, and to keep striving and to keep GOD first!!!!<BR/><BR/>The King of Erotica<BR/>Dapharoah69

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    Well done Mr.Harvey

    Initially, I was not going to buy the book, but I got it and read the book in one afternoon. For a comedian, the book is very well written and organized. (I am an avid reader; I read at least three books a month.) This book is informative, motivating, and an overall good read. Its actually a boost to the female ego, too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    The light came on!

    From the first page I was stuck. It was a shame this book wasn't written 10 yrs ago when I really started in the dating game. I thought because I had mostly male friends that I knew men. WRONG!! Steve truelly dumbed it down for me and told me exactly what men want, need, and desire from women! And within 24 hrs of completing the book the information given to me was proven! All i could do was laugh! It was right in front of my face the whole time and I never saw it. Then within 48 hrs of reading the book I applied some of the things he wrote about and bam, I got rid of 2 potentials, that of course after reading the book I realized were in it for the "cookies". And I was able to recognize the 1 true man in the bunch. Completely amazed! If you are a single women "looking for Mr. Right" and tired of the "game" read this book. And if you are a women who can't understand why he left you, this will tell you why. And if you are married this will help you learn how to keep your man from straying. Wonderful book!! Kudos Steve kudos!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Must read for ALL who want to understand the male mind!!!

    I could not put the book down! It is a must read for all who wish to understand the majority of men's minds, behaviors, attitudes. If you have dealt with jerks, losers and smartholes for too long! get the book!!!
    It is the real deal! It isn't racially biased. He talks about all men, "white, black, yellow, orange, purple" (his words, not mine!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    The common sense conversation every woman should have with her father

    I really enjoyed this book because of the conversational style of Mr. Harvey's writing. The information he presented felt like a conversation between a good father and his daughter more than a self help book for women. I really appreciated his honesty and the things he explained in the book. It was most definitely a worthwhile read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Most men won't buy a cow when he's getting the milk free

    Since she was a little girl, it's what I've been preaching to my daughter all her life. Wake up sistas!

    I saw Mr. Harvey on GMA a week ago, he answered a viewers question," How do I tell my lady that I think Britney Spears looks hot?"

    Steve answered, "Is he stupid, why would you tell your woman that?" I think what Steve said was right on hit! She is YOUR lady. If anything you want tell her, "Ain't nobody bad as you." Steve tells what we men have been thinking, and does it in a funny way too, buy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FUN & CRAZY

    THIS WAS VERY STEVE HARVEY WITH HUMOR & FUN ADDRESSING REAL ISSUES!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    What a way to make dating a little easier and respecting yourself a little more.

    Steve Harvey really hits the nail on the head. His insight and realistic view on how men think is funny and true. Women really can learn a lot about the way a man thinks. Women can also learn a lot on how men will respect and treasure them more by following some common sense rules and by putting a value on themselves that is accurate.

    I've read the book several times and each time I learn a little bit more about myself and how valuable I am as a woman and as a person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Very good advice for women who are dating men for the first time and getting back into dating for the second time.

    Steve Harvey's book has very good advice for young single women or for women getting back into dating who have been married previously. He
    especially promotes women's actions so that they don't forget to demand respect from men and tells women of all ages how men think and encourages women to keep their self-respect regardless of what else they do.
    An excellent book to give your daughter, sister or mother if she
    is single and dating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Good book

    I have 3 daughters and purchased each a copy. Great job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    worth every single penny,very interesting.

    Very informative, fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    interesting and entertaining

    very simple writing, some good advice

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10