Customer Reviews for

ADD and ADHD Answer Book: The Top 275 Questions Parents Ask

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    I had a feeling for a long time that something wasn't "ok&q

    I had a feeling for a long time that something wasn't "ok" with my son. I was getting progress reports that stated he was unable to focus, constantly out of his seat, and doing poorly in English and written language. I told myself that if he got another bad report card, I was going to look into the possibility of ADHD. My son's problems just weren't with school, but at home too. He couldn't focus on getting dressed by himself, everything I asked him to do was a challenge because he would have a temper tantrum. Doing homework at home was very frustrating because he would just get up and run away or start playing or talking about something that had nothing to do with his homework and an argument would ensue. He was also having trouble with making friends, he would do things that annoyed people and when asked to stop, he wouldn't. It broke my heart because He is such a loving child and so full of life. I then had a parent/teacher conference and found out he was being retained in the 1st grade. I went to the library and checked out every book there was on ADHD and my son had all of the symptoms.
    This book was the best book I have read. I learned a lot about 504 and IDEA and what steps to take to get my son evaluated by the school. In this day and age, we don't have insurance and getting the school to help with an evaluation is very big help. I fear that he will repeat the 1st grade only to have the same situation happen again. I want him to have special education with a smaller class with a teacher who can take the time to help him. This book also talked about the different medications and what to expect in terms of diagnosis from each type of doctor, ie. psychologist, psychiatrist, pediatrician..etc. I am just starting the process of having my child diagnosed, but I know in my heart and based on what I have read, that it is ADHD. I highly recommend this book to anyone who may suspect their child is ADHD: It is very straight-forward, easy to read and understand. Good Luck!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Stop looking for a magic answer....the answers are in this book!

    After spending many years, thousands of dollars, countless hours and many wasted emotions of hope on supposed cures, I find it a relief to read the truth in this book. Fact of the matter is, there is no cure for ADD or ADHD and this books tells you like it is, which is basically that we as parents have to get down to learning the appropriate ways to help our children and quit looking for the easy solution in a pill, a brain machine or an herbal remedy. This book has given many different ways that I can help my child and I wished I'd had it years ago.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    This is the one book for all your answers

    I have read many books on adhd to help my son. This one has straight forward, honest advice that comes from the scientific research. Dr. Ashley gives helpful advice from the beginning to the end. It covers everything from diagnosis to the good and bad about medication, schooling and behavior. I liked this book in particular because it seemed to have a balanced approach. Good for parents, teachers and grandparents. I even gave my child's therapist a copy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Finally!

    Finally, there's a book that actually answers what I need when I need it. This is straightforward and objective. It doesn't sell a plan or a fad, it just gives information that I'd otherwise have to go to two or three people to find. If you're a teacher, please take a look at this and save yourself some frustration. (Your kid's parents will thank you!)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    A great Book!

    I read a book by an author that was on Dr. Phil and I was surprised that his advice contradicted that of my child¿s doctor. Our behaviorist¿s strategies worked much better. Much of what is in this book is what we did I picked it up and I learned a few new things. I¿m careful not to loan it too often because it seems that everyone is now asking for it. And I don¿t want to lose it. Hands down, I would recommend this title to anyone who needs quick information about what¿s going on, who to see and what to do.¿ Pat

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    Extremely Helpful!

    Educational, informative and well researched. Focuses on long-term solutions and not just a quick fix. Excellent!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Every Parent, Teacher, Counselor, Principle should READ THIS BOOK!

    I wanted to better understand my son with ADD/ODD. This is the best book I have found. It answered my questions, plus told me things I never thought to ask. I have been able to understand my son better and I have more sanity. I don't wonder why he doesn't do his schoolwork & homework but passes all his tests. I don't wonder why he does the things he does (or doesn't do) anymore. It's just the way he is due to the ADD/ODD. I had to learn how to treat him with this as he is not like "every other kid" in the way he learns, acts and reacts. I highly recommend this book to every parent with a child with ADD/ADHD/ODD. Teachers should read this to understand their students with better also. I am so glad I found it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Recommended

    Easy to use. Very Helpful. Lots of good information.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Good Resource

    This is a very good resource. Easy to read. Very helpful.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    Easy to Understand and Well Thought Out

    I enjoyed the writing style of the author and her presentation. The question / answer format works well for me. I would highly reccommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    ADD and ADHD Answer Book: The Top 275 Questions Parents Ask

    This book is very well written, well researched and very informative to anyone who is in need of answers on AD/HD. Dr. Ashley does a great job of discussing various topics pertaining to AD/HD. I personally recommend this book to parents seeking information.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    ADD and ADHD Answer Book: The Top 275 Questions Parents Ask

    This is the book for anyone that has questions about AD/HD. Very insightful and gives hope to anyone who beleives that medication isn't the only answer. Very easy to read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    Extremely helpful

    Written in a way that is easy to understand and follow. Answers most questions parents may have about ADD/ADHD. Well worth the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    ADD and ADHD Answer Book: The Top 275 Questions Parents Ask

    As I read this book I thought the author was actually writing about my child! I found many helpful techniques to help my child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    ADD and ADHD Answer Book: The Top 275 Questions Parents Ask

    This book answers all the questions I have and ones I didn't even know I needed to know! I would definitely recommend this book to any parent who has a child with AD/HD or thinks their child might have it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    :b........................................................................................................

    I have adhd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2