BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Analog Science Fiction and Fact

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Worth the money

Of the three magazines the I choose when I got my Nook this one I plan on keeping. Great stories for both the entertainment value and the thought value.

posted by dmkTX on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love the magazine; BN's version, not so much.

I have been reading Analog cover-to-cover in the print edition for 15 years. I tried the digital edition; the Barns and Noble version is substandard. Here's why:

1. the print edition has a layout and order-of-presentation that is created by the editors to provide a...
I have been reading Analog cover-to-cover in the print edition for 15 years. I tried the digital edition; the Barns and Noble version is substandard. Here's why:

1. the print edition has a layout and order-of-presentation that is created by the editors to provide a mix of short and long fiction, interspersed with science fact, poetry, and reviews, to provide a comfortable, varied reading experience. The digital edition (I have tried several; more on this below) does not; it groups content by type of feature (novella, short fiction, poetry, "other")--you're expected to navigate from the Table of Contents. Thus, you lose the magazine's organization completely.

2. the BN version of the digital edition has no single table of contents. Instead, each type of article from the magazine has a separate ToC, and there doesn't seem to be any way to navigate between sections except to scroll. In short, there's no way to get an overview of the magazine. This was the deal-killer for me. Note that digital editions from other publishers at least have a single ToC.

3. the digital edition costs somewhat more than a paper subscription costs ($37.95/yr paper vs. $3.44/issue digital).

4. the small artwork scattered through the print edition is mostly missing from all the digital editions I tried.

Same great content as in the paper edition, mostly, but substandard delivery. In short: not ready for prime time.

posted by 1046654 on February 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Worth the money

    Of the three magazines the I choose when I got my Nook this one I plan on keeping. Great stories for both the entertainment value and the thought value.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Love the magazine; BN's version, not so much.

    I have been reading Analog cover-to-cover in the print edition for 15 years. I tried the digital edition; the Barns and Noble version is substandard. Here's why:

    1. the print edition has a layout and order-of-presentation that is created by the editors to provide a mix of short and long fiction, interspersed with science fact, poetry, and reviews, to provide a comfortable, varied reading experience. The digital edition (I have tried several; more on this below) does not; it groups content by type of feature (novella, short fiction, poetry, "other")--you're expected to navigate from the Table of Contents. Thus, you lose the magazine's organization completely.

    2. the BN version of the digital edition has no single table of contents. Instead, each type of article from the magazine has a separate ToC, and there doesn't seem to be any way to navigate between sections except to scroll. In short, there's no way to get an overview of the magazine. This was the deal-killer for me. Note that digital editions from other publishers at least have a single ToC.

    3. the digital edition costs somewhat more than a paper subscription costs ($37.95/yr paper vs. $3.44/issue digital).

    4. the small artwork scattered through the print edition is mostly missing from all the digital editions I tried.

    Same great content as in the paper edition, mostly, but substandard delivery. In short: not ready for prime time.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Great magazine

    Don't waste your money on a subscription. Buy single issues; it's cheaper. The subscription is $2.99/month so the annual cost is $35.88. Since only ten issues are published annually, the annual single issue cost is $34.90. What a scam!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Top Dog

    The grand daddy of science fiction magazines, still rockin` after all these years!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    @Funslinger

    You're actually going to have a hissy fit over a dollar? What a cheapsksate!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Excellent thought provoking mind expanding science and fiction

    Great book, been reading it for 35 years.
    The best deal IS the subscription. Not monthly.

    The person who did the "math" was correct about there being 10 issues / year, but the 2 double issues count as 2 issues, so it does come out the 12. And 12 x monthly > subscription.

    Once my print subscription runs out I will switch to the nook.

    T

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Long time favorite

    He have been a subscriber for many years and can't wait to start getting it on my Nook. Dell was very helpful in change from print subscription to e-pub. If you like good science with your SF, this one is for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Back Issues are not available

    I let my subscription lapse as I moved it to Nook from another emagazine provider. I thought I would be able to purchase single copies of the missed issues. Nook does not sell back issues of this magazine. So, after 20 years of reading Analog, I've decided to check out other options. I will miss this great magazine, but apparently the ebook industry doesn't have it down yet. Hopefully I can get paper copies of the missed issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    B&S Service is terriible

    I tried to purchase 1 year subscription to this publication, but something went awry with my credit card info - EVEN THOUGH I HAD MORE THAN ENOUGH GIFT CARS CREDIT IN MY ACCOUNT! Now I can't cancel the order, and I can't get the latest issues! I have called customer support twice now, and both times after over an hour on the phone they were unable to fix it for me at all. I was promised a call back from Level 2 Support - weeks later that call has still not come. I wish I had bought a Kindle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    I just bought a year subscription and the stories look 5 star so

    I just bought a year subscription and the stories look 5 star so far. However, the first issue's Editorial was a self-congratulatory rant about "fools" who don't believe in evolution, global warming because they refuse to look at the evidence....and so on ad nauseum. I retired from the science/math world, and enjoy almost all things scientific, but the name calling editor was almost a deal-breaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Minerology: Intelligent; Flora: Beautiful; Fauna: Hypothetical Only

    When we discuss the evolution of a species, we are addressing certain, specific questions. We ask, What? What are we looking at? Is it an offshoot of a well documented species, from a well understood genus, in its recognized habitat, with its usual structure, displaying a logical but previously unencountered oddity? Or is it something else, something altogether new?
    Or we ask, How? Why did this animal need to develop differently from its fellows? What sort of environmental pressure, or shift in its food supply (or its supply as food), or genetic alterations caused it to change, over the course of millenia, from one sort of creature into another?
    For readers who find these sorts of stories that explore a sort of "behind-the-scenes" look at such questions, this short story fits their preferences. But further, and just as important, if the reader hopes for intelligence, and craftsmanship, and the beauty that comes from what may be called, nebulously, "high-quality" in the writing itself, then the reader ought to be well pleased with this selection by Analog, one of the few, proud magazines still around publishing literary-quality speculative fiction.
    The story follows an intergalactic science mission that once sent back to Earth streams of data collected from planets far, far away. In fact, the ship is so far from home by this point, it is exceedingly questionable whether the data broadcast ever reaches any ear to hear it anymore. But the mission pushes on, since it has all-along been a one-way flight.
    When one team is sent from the ship to yet another planet to explore, the crew members have no reason to expect anything much different from this planet from the dozens they have already explored, or the hundreds more they will in the future, now that their lives consist of long, long hibernations interspersed with a few days of basic planetary data collection, then back to the freezers. It's really the only way to keep humans alive for centuries needed for such a mission. Otherwise, can you imagine how many times the mission overseers would hear the hundreds of people needed for the flight ask them, "Are we there yet?!"
    But this mission turns out to be a little different. Do they find life? They have found life many times, at many different points along the evolutionary arc. Microbial life, celluular sea creatures, plant life, even animal life of different levels of sentience. But is their animal life here at all, or just a planet full of water and plant life? And even more thorny a question: is that even a question this team can or should even answer?
    But it is a question that seems perfect for one of the team, the elder scientist, fond of quoting lines of old poetry, and highly interested in finding interesting scientific questions. The questions posed by this planet, however, seem to have deadly potential. Is that something this hit-and-run science team wants to stick around to solve?
    And that may be the most interesting question the whole mission might ever be posed.
    Pick up this issue of Analog magazine. Read this story. See if you think they found the right answer. See if they found the right question.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6