Customer Reviews for

Aaliyah: More Than a Woman

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Aaliyah more then a woman

    This month we continue to do book report so its book number 3. This time i read a biography on Aaliyah. Writen by a man name Christopher John Farley. This book was picked out by my reading teacher she was a very good help to me. since its a biography i would have to say its not really a main character in dis book but on the other hand i can say Aaliyah is. Aaliyah was a hip hop singer, singing was something she loved to do. one day she had to go to the bahamas and shot her video no one new it would be her last video, after the video was shot she was ready to get back home to her family on the way back she was killed in a plane crash she was only 22 years old. i could relate to it cause when i was told she was dead it really effect my life cause i looked up to her. it was good book and would recomended anybody that is or was a fan of Aaliyah to read this book it was perfect length. and i gave it a 5 star rating

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    She was an amazing women

    Still today i will always love aaliyah she had an amazing voice even if she wasnt here today she will always be in our hearts.with her music we can celebrate with her music.
    R.I.P Aaliyah
    From yoada zeleke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Aliyah the queen

    Tht is a great book it says everything in there we miss u aliyah

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Love

    Hhahah my name is aaliayh im 12 i luv this singer she is more than a woman shes an angel

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Miss U

    We miss u BABYGURL!!!!!! We will have u in our hearts always. U are THE BEST!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Ehhh

    I love Aaliyah's music but this book is simply boring and seems like the author spends more time talking about other artists in comparison to her, rather than just focusing on her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Megan to aliyah

    If you are blocked we can go to the next res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Vikila posey l.a cali

    I love aaliyah she my idol she inspire me to do things :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Do yall know

    Do you guys know aaliyah died from a plane crash and lisa lopes (left eye tlc) died from a car crash and they are both amazing singers who were young, beautiful women who died at the age in the twenties i feel ba they both got in th worst crashes ever i cried when mh mom told me about aaliyah and lisa lopes so this book can teach me more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Did anyone know

    That r. Kelly married her when she was 15? Ew

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book is awesome i love aaliyah and wish she was still alive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Vvrkkeb

    I dont know

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2005

    Unapproachable

    This was a very outstanding book. I think the book was very well written. It has so much information, some ot knomn and aswell as unknown. I'd recommend this book to any and everyone if they like to learn the life of an angel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    A star that will never be forgotten

    Aaliyah:More than a Women,written by Christopher John Farley,tells about the life of Aaliyah from when she first started acting and singing until her tragic death on August 25,2001.This book really tells the reader about Aaliyah's determination to become the best that she could be, and the way she strived to reach to the top .It explains about how she went to a school of the performing arts, and how she started acting when she was in the first grade in a production of Annie, and she would rehearse three hours a day, four days a week.Also the book tells how Aaliyah went to from a singer to an actress. The book also has quotes and stories,and memories about Aaliyah from many famous actors, producers, video and movie directors, music artists, and family members. I would recommend this book to Aaliyah fans. But I would also recommend this book to people who never thought about reading about Aaliyah because her life is really interesting. The only thing that I did not like about this book was that the author sometimes went off topic. The book is about Aaliyah, but he also started writing about other people, and subjects that didn't have anything to do with Aaliyah. But, besides that the book was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    A Fallen Angel

    The book that I was reading is called Aaliyah more than a woman, by Christopher Farley. This book is about Aaliyah throughout her young childhood to her untimely death. Aaliyah was a shy and quite girl from Detroit, Michigan and went to a Catholic school Gesu Elementary. After school she would work on her acting and singing, she was very involved with the theater productions around her town. She got a shot to go on the hit show back then Star Search, but she lost but soon got discovered and worked on her first CD for her unique sound. Later she went on and made more CDs and soon did some movies; her last on was called Queened of the Damned before her untimely passing. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about hip hop artist. I liked this book because I read stuff about her that I didn¿t know she did. It is a very easy reading book and were knowledgeable. I also liked how in the beginning of each chapter there would be a little quote from artist who knew her and what they loved about her. Overall I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who misses a fallen angel Aaliyah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    It's Okay......

    This book was a good book, but it wasn't anything special. If u're a fan of Aaliyah, like i am, u will enjoy...But if this is the last of ur money don't waste it on this book, this is a book compiled of a bunch of facts that r common knowledge to a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Aaliyah

    Aaliyah was my hero i know all her songs and when i was little i wish i could grow up just like her she is my heart and her music the one i gave my heart to that cheered me up cuz i lost my father when i was 8 yrs old and i heard her song and then it got me thinking maybe it was his time but it was not aaliyah time cuz she still had a whole life ahead of her and just what to said no matter what happen to u you will always be alive in my heart but to tell you the truth i do not think that she is died it is just to hard to believe something like that and it hurt me so much to think that she is gone and now music won't never be the same without her cuz they really need her but when i grow up i what to become a singer so i can be like aaliyah and write a song about her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    Wonderful, beautiful, talented, great voice, only 22 when she left our world, but not our hearts.

    I will simply say that there are too many words to describe the wonderful Aaliyah. I will just say that she was a great person and her spirit will always live in every single one of our hearts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    An Angel that was once on earth, Is now at home!

    Aaliyah was truely an angel on earth and will be missed. Her legecy will continue through-out the years.She was a very determined, beautiful, talented,and positive, person. Thats one of the reasons she was my role model and will continue to be! Like DMX said "it's hard to except the fact that your(Aaliyah) gone,so I won't". She'll forever be in my heart,R.I.P. Aliyah Dana Haughton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    He should of stayed on point instead of drifting off

    The book was cool,street but sweet and a little of a drag.well this writer just doesn't know aaliyah the way her blood family and extended family does so if He/she decides to write about aaliyah understand her the way we do the family in general! yeah also i know every female said they can play aaliyah's life.... me i really think so well to her mom god bless you and rashad Dont worry aaliyah loves you two very much; how do i know well she came to me in my dream and expressed her feelings through her quite body language etc.(sept.01) P.S. I did not intend to disrespect aaliyah's family trust me and that I deeply love her R.I.P. BABY GIRL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4