Customer Reviews for

Aaliyah: More Than a Woman

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Aaliyah was a good book!

    I think this book was good but it should of focus more on Aaliyah instead of all the other Artists and what they were doing.The but still is good. The Epilogue was the part that made me cry. Please go ahead and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    One Year Since You´ve Been Gone

    I just happenned to finish ¨More Than A Woman¨ last night, the day before the 1 year anniversary of Aaliyah´s death. I find it hard to be a critic towards a book that is about a person whom I have great love and admiration for, I think we all feel this way. Any new things that we may find out about Aaliyah is like finding a pearl in the ocean. I think that if we are to write about such a precious individual, we must treat a book about her as just that. I enjoyed reading the book because of Aaliyah, but was quite disappointed in the change of focus, which occurred quite often throughout the book. Too many facts about other subjects clouded what the book was really about. Mr. Farley´s work is appreciated though. We need a book about Aaliyah with more than 5 pictures, HARDCOVER to have for life in rememberance, and maybe some more time and effort venturing into who Aaliyah really was, an Angel. RIP Baby Gurl, One Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    the life of aaliyah

    This book was a really touching and meaningful book. But the author of this novel, Christopher John Farley spent more tiome talking about AAliyah's producers, movie directors, friends, family, and other people instead of the artist herself. To sum it all up, I enjoyed reading this book but the author should have stuck with the title of the book's topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    this is great!

    Aaliyah:more than a woman was remarkable. It gave good facts and details about this passined angel who touched people in many ways through here music and personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Aaliyah will forever be missed...

    As a long-time fan of Aaliyah, I was disappointed with the context of this book. I found that the writer went off in tangents and lost his focus. (He mentioned Lauryn Hill one too many times) I got a glimpse of what her life was like before she passed, but I wish he would have stayed on the topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Aaliyah always 'One In A Million'

    I read this book in 1 1/2 days with eyes full of tears every moment and I must say that this book touched on many other aspects of the record business than it did Aaliyah's life. I was disappointed because the author spoke as an outsider looking in and was unable to help us truly get a sense of who Aaliyah was. She was beautiful, talented, and a genuinely wonderful person. I hope that as time passes on and the Haughton family heals, someone will truly write a biography that reflects Aaliyah in totality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    It's all about her life

    It reminds me of my role model,and why I love and miss her so much. It lets you know if you put your mind to it, you can do anything. The book shows you what a beautiful person she was. Anything about Aaliyah I'll buy and this book is a must have. If your a true fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    The best book ever

    this book is the best book that i have read aaliyah is truly an angel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    Honor student from the bronx

    This book made me cry over & over. Each page had touch me deep. I would recommend this book to anyone that is an Aaliyah fan from around the globe. This book will touch you even if you didn't know her at all. The book will show you how much she was so admired by so many people. she got the up most respect from the top singers in the world and well admired by lots of people from around the globe. She truly stands for more than a women. SHE IS TRULY AN ANGEL, MAY SHE LIVE ON.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Driftin'

    ¿Aaliyah¿ , More than a Woman begins in just the right place , her first and most controversial album , Age ain¿t nuthin¿ but a number , telling about her very close relationship with super-producer / mentor Robert Kelly , and the lies stated upon them on marriage The book gets deeper, it talks about ¿One In A Million¿ album ,and then later the ¿Dr Dolittle¿ project ¿Are you that somebody?¿ that won her 1 Grammy Award and the ¿Romeo Must Die¿ projects ¿Try Again¿ and Back in 1 Piece¿ , which won her 2 Grammy Awards. As the story elevates , you hear more about the ¿Aaliyah¿ self-titled album , her relationship with Damon Dash , her role in Queen of the Damned But then , she went on to glory. The book was good , but Chris should have stayed on the topic that was set for him. Her life was not about 80 punk rockers neither was it about Lauryn Hill . The story would have gone together easier if her would have placed more emphasis on Aaliyah¿s life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    very wonderful book

    This book is great. You really should buy it if you havent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Aaliyah

    this book was good, but the author never really talked about aaliyah herself in the book, im gonna read Aaliyah and R&B princess in words and pictures and see if it stays on the topic. The author kept talking about othe rpeople instead of aaliyah. It wasnt written very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Aaliyah: Truly More Than A Woman; A Legend

    This is one of the most interesting and indept biographies that I have ever read. Chris J. Farley has outdone himself again on writing the life of a star. In this book he lets you inside of Aaliyah Dana Haughton's life. Things that you wanted to know about and things that you already knew. It was also insitful to get other people who knew her to speak on her behave like the great Missy Elliott, Beyonce' Knowles of Destiny's Child, DMX, Damon Dash and others. This book is one that will stay on my book shelf for decades and decades to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    about the book

    hey people, i thought that the book was really good when the author talked about aaliyah but he kept on drifting off the topic of aaliyah and was going and talking about other artist i mean hello the book is about aaliyah not other artist. i mean if i was writing a book about aaliyah i would be saying everything about her from beginning to end and i think they need a true author to do this book/ i give it 3 stars because the author drifted off of aaliyah especially about the love story about aaliyah and damon dash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    Aaliyah's True Self

    This book tells about Aaliyah and about other women. It makes me believe in her and to trust her orother people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    I cherish anything by princess aaliyah but...

    I wish he would have known a little more about her. He focused too much on other things, but not knowing a lot about her and writing the way he did was very good I must say. I am just thankful to have a book on our mysterious princess aaliyah only time will tell if a worthy, real biography will be written with never before heard of info and interesting facts on the beloved Aaliyah. A book written by some one who actually knew her or learned about her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    TRULY MORE THAN A WOMAN

    AALIYAH WAS THE 1 AND ONLY. IF YA KNEW HER U AINT GOT NO CLUE WUT YOU GOT THROUGH AALIYAH'S LIFE SHE SHOWED THAT SHE WAS TRULY MORE THAN A WOMAN. I PRAY YA LOVE HER AALIYAH RIP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    The Best of Aliyaah.

    My review is that Aliyaah could act and also sing. I just don't understand why she was taken from us a very beautiful and talented young women. When I first heard about her death I was very upset and so were alot of people espically her family.We will always love her dearly.God bless her family and at least she is where she belongs in peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2002

    Aaliyah The Flower that wa blossoming to become ......

    This book is excellent, I completed this book in three days because I was so amazed by this book. My thoughts on Aaliyah was that she was a flower blossoming but we will never know where she would have gone with the wonderful talent that she had . With the three albums AGE AINT NOTHING BUT A NUMBER , ONE IN A MILLION , AND HER ENTITLED THIRD AND FINAL ALBUM AALIYAH . The musc that this young diva created in only a couple of years will always be in the hearts and minds of all her fans across the country and worldwide. We will never forget Aaliyah,we will always have her in our hearts and memories until the day we are reunited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2002

    It's a nice keepsake

    This book was OK. But like someone else mentioned, it's seems to be more for someone who really didn't know who she was and just want to know a little about her background and life. The writer talks about other artists and their success and it is often long and drawn-out. I guess he was just talking about R&B in general, but to me there was just too much info about other artists for a book that was titled 'Aaliyah'. Hopefully someone will come out with a better book (or even a movie) in the future. Much love to Aaliyah, she will always be remembered..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4