Customer Reviews for

Aaliyah: More Than a Woman

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book is awesome i love aaliyah and wish she was still alive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    A star that will never be forgotten

    Aaliyah:More than a Women,written by Christopher John Farley,tells about the life of Aaliyah from when she first started acting and singing until her tragic death on August 25,2001.This book really tells the reader about Aaliyah's determination to become the best that she could be, and the way she strived to reach to the top .It explains about how she went to a school of the performing arts, and how she started acting when she was in the first grade in a production of Annie, and she would rehearse three hours a day, four days a week.Also the book tells how Aaliyah went to from a singer to an actress. The book also has quotes and stories,and memories about Aaliyah from many famous actors, producers, video and movie directors, music artists, and family members. I would recommend this book to Aaliyah fans. But I would also recommend this book to people who never thought about reading about Aaliyah because her life is really interesting. The only thing that I did not like about this book was that the author sometimes went off topic. The book is about Aaliyah, but he also started writing about other people, and subjects that didn't have anything to do with Aaliyah. But, besides that the book was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    A Fallen Angel

    The book that I was reading is called Aaliyah more than a woman, by Christopher Farley. This book is about Aaliyah throughout her young childhood to her untimely death. Aaliyah was a shy and quite girl from Detroit, Michigan and went to a Catholic school Gesu Elementary. After school she would work on her acting and singing, she was very involved with the theater productions around her town. She got a shot to go on the hit show back then Star Search, but she lost but soon got discovered and worked on her first CD for her unique sound. Later she went on and made more CDs and soon did some movies; her last on was called Queened of the Damned before her untimely passing. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about hip hop artist. I liked this book because I read stuff about her that I didn¿t know she did. It is a very easy reading book and were knowledgeable. I also liked how in the beginning of each chapter there would be a little quote from artist who knew her and what they loved about her. Overall I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who misses a fallen angel Aaliyah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    He should of stayed on point instead of drifting off

    The book was cool,street but sweet and a little of a drag.well this writer just doesn't know aaliyah the way her blood family and extended family does so if He/she decides to write about aaliyah understand her the way we do the family in general! yeah also i know every female said they can play aaliyah's life.... me i really think so well to her mom god bless you and rashad Dont worry aaliyah loves you two very much; how do i know well she came to me in my dream and expressed her feelings through her quite body language etc.(sept.01) P.S. I did not intend to disrespect aaliyah's family trust me and that I deeply love her R.I.P. BABY GIRL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Aaliyah was a good book!

    I think this book was good but it should of focus more on Aaliyah instead of all the other Artists and what they were doing.The but still is good. The Epilogue was the part that made me cry. Please go ahead and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    the life of aaliyah

    This book was a really touching and meaningful book. But the author of this novel, Christopher John Farley spent more tiome talking about AAliyah's producers, movie directors, friends, family, and other people instead of the artist herself. To sum it all up, I enjoyed reading this book but the author should have stuck with the title of the book's topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    this is great!

    Aaliyah:more than a woman was remarkable. It gave good facts and details about this passined angel who touched people in many ways through here music and personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Aaliyah always 'One In A Million'

    I read this book in 1 1/2 days with eyes full of tears every moment and I must say that this book touched on many other aspects of the record business than it did Aaliyah's life. I was disappointed because the author spoke as an outsider looking in and was unable to help us truly get a sense of who Aaliyah was. She was beautiful, talented, and a genuinely wonderful person. I hope that as time passes on and the Haughton family heals, someone will truly write a biography that reflects Aaliyah in totality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Driftin'

    ¿Aaliyah¿ , More than a Woman begins in just the right place , her first and most controversial album , Age ain¿t nuthin¿ but a number , telling about her very close relationship with super-producer / mentor Robert Kelly , and the lies stated upon them on marriage The book gets deeper, it talks about ¿One In A Million¿ album ,and then later the ¿Dr Dolittle¿ project ¿Are you that somebody?¿ that won her 1 Grammy Award and the ¿Romeo Must Die¿ projects ¿Try Again¿ and Back in 1 Piece¿ , which won her 2 Grammy Awards. As the story elevates , you hear more about the ¿Aaliyah¿ self-titled album , her relationship with Damon Dash , her role in Queen of the Damned But then , she went on to glory. The book was good , but Chris should have stayed on the topic that was set for him. Her life was not about 80 punk rockers neither was it about Lauryn Hill . The story would have gone together easier if her would have placed more emphasis on Aaliyah¿s life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    I cherish anything by princess aaliyah but...

    I wish he would have known a little more about her. He focused too much on other things, but not knowing a lot about her and writing the way he did was very good I must say. I am just thankful to have a book on our mysterious princess aaliyah only time will tell if a worthy, real biography will be written with never before heard of info and interesting facts on the beloved Aaliyah. A book written by some one who actually knew her or learned about her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Aaliyah, a great legend!

    Aaliyah was well known through out her home land. It was such a shame that she had to be killed so harshly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    The book is good .

    I loved Aaliyah's whole style. Aaliyah was a true talent that was taken away from us, but she will never be forgotten. Don't forget to see her in 'Queen Of The Damned' in February. But about the book, it was good their were pages that didn't pertain to Aaliyah but I thought that was different because anybody that knows Aaliyah knows that she was a versatile person. I recommend everyone that loved Aaliyah, buy the book and read this book. Rest In Peace Aaliyah, you will forever be the 'Most Exhalted One' ~ Sharron

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    Aaliyah........... I.Came....To.. Give.... LOVE.... To.. You... .

    Aaliyah's more than a woman is a good book. Yes, the author did focus on others in the book but, there was a message behind what he was saying so think about. Aaliyah gave a part of her heart to each and everyone of her fans, and I thank her. So I not going to say that I was her number one fan because, I believe that Aaliyah felt everyone of her fans were number one. I recommended you pick up the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    R.I.P. Baby Girl

    I was so excited to read this book. I started reading it and was very disappointed to find that the author went on and on about other artists and people that really had nothing to do with aaliyah. He had to go into depth to explain simple phrases and it draged on and on. But don't worry, it's all good in the end. The last 5 or 6 chapters really capture her life and what she was about. The chapter about her funeral and details about it was very das, i cried about the part when her mom sang for her. I would recomedn this book to any tre Aaliyah fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2002

    I was ok

    I Love Aaliyah (R.I.P) I will always, but this book didn't give info about aaliyah you could go pages without even seeing her name and often the book has run on PAGES about anything most of the time really not much to do with aaliyah so basicaly if you took out all the pages that were not about aaliyah you might have about 50 pages out of 200 on aaliyah. If you an Aaliyah fan your should read it but dont get your hope up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2001

    Aaliyah:More Than A Woman

    I enjoyed the book, even though it did not reveal but a small portion about Aaliyah that the many tribute shows had not revealed. What I did not like was all the bragging that Mr. Farley does to let everyone know who he has interviewed. Some of the chapters were run-ons, with several pages having nothing to do with Aaliyah, but about himself and his career. But, if you are a true Aaliyah fan, then you would want this to have a keepsake of her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1