Customer Reviews for

Abandon (Abandon Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Download Abandon by Meg Cabot For Free

Download Abandon by Meg Cabot For Free From Here goo.gl/e9gwy

posted by 9805747 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I have hope for the next book....

** spoiler alert **

I really wanted to love this book. I adore Meg Cabot. Fantasy is currently one of my favorite genres. Cabot's Mediator series is one of my all-time favorites, and her Twlight (last book in that series) beats the "other" Twilight any day of the we...
** spoiler alert **

I really wanted to love this book. I adore Meg Cabot. Fantasy is currently one of my favorite genres. Cabot's Mediator series is one of my all-time favorites, and her Twlight (last book in that series) beats the "other" Twilight any day of the week, in my opinion. However, the first book in her new series, Abandon, just didn't quite do it for me.

For the most part, it was the main character, Pierce. I really didn't like her for most of the book. She was quick to judge, never knew when to keep her mouth shut, and just was generally all-around self-absorbed and unlikeable. It is a complete mystery to me how John ever fell in love with her in the first place, let alone stayed that way. And her switch from never wanting to see him again to total blissed-out in love with him? Where did that even come from?

I'm hoping she'll calm down, cut the drama, and be more likeable in the next two books. I'll keep reading the series, but it will be more for Meg and John than for Pierce. Quite frankly, I was almost wishing he'd left her to the furies toward the end there. My favorite part was when he just calmly read his book while she threw her major hissy fit...I was totally with him on that one. Ugh. Get over it, chickie.

posted by beckymmoe on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Download Abandon by Meg Cabot For Free

    Download Abandon by Meg Cabot For Free From Here
    goo.gl/e9gwy

    19 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I give it 4.2 Stars

    This book was not amazing but it's pretty good. I have to say first one of the things I didn't like about this book. This book was slow. Like I'm already reading half the book and there still on the same day. It the whole book only 2 days pass. I mean really, if this book was turned into a movie it would probably be rushed since it's only based on two days. I did like the ending and I did like the romance between Jhon and Peirce.Looking forward for the next book called underworld. Although I hope the next book has more romance and adventure. This book was good but lacking in all themes that I like. Romance, Action, and Adventure. I don't highly recommend it but I guess I kinda recommend it. I mean it wasn't the worst and it wasn't bad but then again it was great or amazing. It was just...good.

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    YA Sisterhood Review: Swoon-worthy!

    Reviewed at: YA Sisterhood Book Blog
    Release Date: April 26th, 2011 (Get your Pre-Order on, kids)
    The Sisters say: Spooky, Swoon-worthy, and Scintillating

    Abandon all hope ye who enter here?

    Try abandon those attempts at sleep and read this book in one sitting!

    It's hard to remember the first YA book I read that captured me all those years ago, but I do remember the first YA paranormal romance I ever read, and that was The Mediator series by Meg Cabot. If you have a thing for ghosts, especially swoon-worthy Spanish ones, you should check it out. I feel a little bit as if Meg Cabot has come full circle with her latest book. The Mediator featured ghosts stuck in the world of the living, while Abandon features a young girl, who faces the prospect of being stuck in the Underworld.

    Pierce's story is told in pieces throughout the book with the past and present interwoven, but this much you glean early on-Pierce died, and in the Underworld she attracts the attention of John-the keeper of the Underworld. He's not quite Hades, but rather has inherited this job. Pierce was determined to get back to her old life, and she succeeds, but John has to pay the price.

    Things I loved about the book:
    1. Once again. Greek Mythology. In case you can't tell-we love the Greeks here at YA Sisterhood! When I heard that this book was a re-telling of the Persephone myth, I was a bit reluctant to dive right into it honestly. I'd just read the Goddess Test (See our previous review) and I wasn't sure that I wanted to read two books with the same plot within a two-week period. But they couldn't be more different! I would say Abandon is only loosely inspired by the Persephone myth. This story is entirely it's own.

    2. John. I liked scary, keeper of the underworld John. I liked sweet "I talk to children" John. I liked strong, dangerous "I ride a giant horse, don't mess with me" John. And I LOVED "I suffer endlessly because of you, but I don't care" John. I just loved John. John. John. John. (I'm hoping he'll be like Beetlejuice and suddenly appear when I say his name three times). John really made this book for me. Pierce was an interesting narrator, and I enjoyed her story, but John had all my attention. He is at once profoundly human and utterly inhuman. He gets the worst of both worlds. He experiences all the pain and suffering of the human world (more so, in fact), but has the detached, hardened emotions of someone who controls where you go in the afterlife. And he has the immortality of the gods, which only gives him longer to stew in his loneliness. I can't wait for the next book to learn more about him-how he became the keeper of the Underworld and what he had to go through after Pierce left.


    3. The setting in the Florida Keys. When I think Florida Keys-I think sunshine and summer and bikinis and fun. This book had all of that, but it also had a layer of darkness and danger. The setting was lush and decadent and fascinating.

    4. The twists! Oh, the twists!!! I can't tell you much more except that it's pretty. twisted.

    I've seen some people complain that the book takes too long to get going. And it's true, that you don't really get the full story of what exactly happened to Pierce until fairly late in the book, but I actually liked the mystery. It was like puzzle-Meg Cabot gives you these little patchwork pieces, and the intensity only builds as the pieces start to fall into place.

    I, for one, am ecstatic with Meg Cabot's return

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I have hope for the next book....

    ** spoiler alert **

    I really wanted to love this book. I adore Meg Cabot. Fantasy is currently one of my favorite genres. Cabot's Mediator series is one of my all-time favorites, and her Twlight (last book in that series) beats the "other" Twilight any day of the week, in my opinion. However, the first book in her new series, Abandon, just didn't quite do it for me.

    For the most part, it was the main character, Pierce. I really didn't like her for most of the book. She was quick to judge, never knew when to keep her mouth shut, and just was generally all-around self-absorbed and unlikeable. It is a complete mystery to me how John ever fell in love with her in the first place, let alone stayed that way. And her switch from never wanting to see him again to total blissed-out in love with him? Where did that even come from?

    I'm hoping she'll calm down, cut the drama, and be more likeable in the next two books. I'll keep reading the series, but it will be more for Meg and John than for Pierce. Quite frankly, I was almost wishing he'd left her to the furies toward the end there. My favorite part was when he just calmly read his book while she threw her major hissy fit...I was totally with him on that one. Ugh. Get over it, chickie.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: Abandon

    As a young woman I was introduced to a wonderful series that grabbed me, and led me onto this wonderful journey of reading. That wonderful series was the Mediator Series by Meg Cabot. When I heard the Meg Cabot had immersed herself further into the genre with a new series I knew that it was a must read for me. Abandon is proof that this author has done it yet again. Cabot is a born writer with the ability to carry readers on a journey that they will never forget. Most of Cabot works surround the teenage girl romance and drama, but Abandon does not show any reflection of the books that many have come to love from this author.

    Abandon was a mixture of romance and fantasy that will satisfy both fan bases without question. Pierce is a bright and innocent character that seems to draw danger. Since her unexpected encounter with John is seems that danger and his mystery seems to lurk around every corner. Pierce senses danger, but finds herself in constant turmoil with her true feelings for this dark and dangerous man. The story seems to jump in right in the middle. While the story continues to progress the readers will learn about the past through various memories of the main character. The intensity of this novel was slightly lacking, but I contribute that to the storyline and feel that the next book has potential to overcome this slight challenge. With John remaining such a mysterious for the larger part of this book; I believe that it was fairly impossible to focus on the relationship between our main characters in the book alone. Upon conclusion is appears that future books will overcome the mysterious and unknown boundaries, and offer some much more the romance lovers. With such an inventive storyline readers can savor the originality of this story in such a rapidly growing genre.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Wow!!! 10 (**********)s

    I <3 this book!!!!!i love it!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved this book! It is so exciting and can't see how someone could actually get their head out of Abandon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    In my top ten book series

    I am not a huge fan of paranormal romance or greek mythology, but for some reason this book really did it for me. I absolutely adored the romance between John and Pierce and have re-read every scene with both of them in it. I really liked Pierce's character and felt like I could be friends with her in real life. I thought that this was a modern twist on the myth of Hades and Persephone and that it worked out really well. I hadn't read any books by Meg Cabot but now I think I am entilted to after how much I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    :o OMG

    This book was just really amazing with all the romance and funny parts. This book just proves John loves Pierce and thier love is big!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    OMG

    Ok so this book is the 1st in a trilogy. That is a very good thing. This book has just a hint of greek mythology and a few concepts that are different than we are used to.

    The lead doesn't know it at first but he is really in love with her. I would date him if I wasn't creeped out by the fact that he is like 200 and somthing years older than us. (Being born in 1842 or somthing like that.)

    Anyway if you are fine with those things than this book if as near to perfact as a book can get. I would recomened it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Fast read.

    I enjoyed this book and ordered the second. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Read.read.READ!!!

    If you dont get this book ur an idiot.it is the GREATEST!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Amazing

    Couldnt put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    The best book ever

    I love this book sooooo much i cant wait for the next one which is called Underworld. I highly suggest this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Next book

    Next book comes out in may i think :) cant wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    ....

    When is she going to wright the next book?!? Grr....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Meg Cabot!!

    She has done iit again!! Luv it......wwhen does underworled come out????

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Best eve

    When does underworld come out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    HUH??

    I absolutley fell in love with this insatiable love story. Every time John kissed Pierce i wished i was in her shoes. I imagine him as a dark prince with a soft side. If you love strong plots, goregeously written romance tales and beautiful tradgedies then this book is deninetely for ya

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Sooo good!

    This book was really good i loved it all the way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20