Customer Reviews for

Abandoned: The true story of a little girl who didn't belong

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Abandoned: What i thought of it

I thought that this book was very good and sad of what i got to read of it at least. If i had the entire book i probably wouldve been crying when i had finushed reading it.

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hi

Sad book

posted by 16984367 on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Abandoned: What i thought of it

    I thought that this book was very good and sad of what i got to read of it at least. If i had the entire book i probably wouldve been crying when i had finushed reading it.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Sad story

    This is a very good book about abuse and the effect it has on the victim which follows them their entire life. Kudos for the author pulling herself back together and trying to get on with her life. The ending just kind of drops off though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended non-fiction about child abuse

    This book is a heart-breaker! Anya writes very eloquently about her life. It is hard to imagine that so many children are so very abused by the adults in their lives. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about behavior, child abuse and the reasons SOME children grow up to abuse drugs and end up homeless on the streets. Although it is difficult to read this book is worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Sounds great

    Idk if it is a good book for my age i mean im 12 but idk wat i should do plz help

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Hi

    Sad book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Ive been abused by my step dad jc..

    Ive been hit and misstreated. Even my sister Jojo. Ive been treated worser than her. Ive been dragged an thrown across the room on the garage door . Even at the same time my sister got pushed on it hard. Jc left a mark on my neck of my GAP? hoodie being draged back from the door into the house. So as normal we wen to day care erly in the morning at seven for the busses to arrive. They own the busses that take us on field trips in the summer. But Mris. Moe oure teacher said Ember whats that awful mark on your neck? Then i said i don' t want , to talk about it and told them its nothing. And then i started crying and ihad to tell them the truth. And i did. So she sent me and my little sister up front where we check in and get a piece of paper that has first and last names of coming and going kids. So a wooman at front called my mom from work and told then what hapend. So my mom said stop crying. So i did. And at home jc he was very furios and angry. And if i hadin't told the truth nothing would've hapend. This story is true. AND I MEAN IT.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Amazing

    Really enjoyed reading your story. Its sad to see how cruel the world can be looking forward to reading your blog.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Amazing

    This book touched my heart in a way i never thought imaginable. Anya thank you so much for writing this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Stupid

    I wasent satisfied and would like my money back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Wonderful writer

    I was surprised by how well-written this book is. Most autobiographies aren't as eloquent and yet straightforward. For all the horrors she revealed, I feel they're likely many more. I highly recommend this. She describes sexual abuse, but only enough to give you a general insight into her experiences. But I do feel anger towards her family and want to throw that pile of an uncle under a steamroller.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1