Customer Reviews for

Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great!

    Another great CliveBarker book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Something you've never seen before

    This book is amazingly unique. Barker's ability to create and to inspire the imagination makes for a thrilling book. The language may start out a bit simple, but once the story gets rolling you find yourself lost in this book. I would recomend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Jonathan

    "Yeah..." (sa. Ill be bac at around 9:30.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Great

    Love it! The whole series is captivating and imaginative. I read all three books in a weeks time. I can't wait for books 4 and 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Jake Walton Part 21

    Heya guys. My nook is cooperating a little bit better. Qotp (question of the post) : What is your favorite sport if you could pick one? Mine probably soccer, its my passion. Alrighty you know the deal, comments at gods res. 2! Also next book at book 3!!!!!! I thank you all for your paitence. These next parts will get better i promise. Its been slow in the previous ones.---Hiss, hisss, hissss. We hear from Medusa. She unwrapped her head. I can feel her walk towards us. The hissing becomes louder. I grab my dagger in my pocket and keep my hand on it. A tear runs down my cheek again. I grip the handle harder on my dagger as my tears grow angrier. I open my eyes. Everything was fine until she saw i had my eyes opened. I quickly shut them before i could see her. I started to tremble and Sienna hugged me. I thought this would be the end so i kissed her for a long time. She understood it might be a goodbye kiss so she held it. I could feel she was trembling and crying. I felt bad that she was here. I should have gone alone. It was all my fault. I had my arms around Sienna when we heard the hissing stop. I wondered what was going on. We had all opened our eyes. I held up my dagger above my head and saw Medusa in the reflection. She was lying on the ground. With something stabbed in her heart. She layed there lifeless. "Its ok to look." I tell them. We see two guys standing behind her. Its Percy and Grover. We stare t them ad they stare a us. "Funny meeting you here." Percy says. "Yeah same." "Why are you here?" Grover asks. "I had a dream about Annabeth... so we are on a ques to gt her." I say. "So are we." Percy says. Silence comes between us. Then i guess we can all work together to gt her. But first lets find a way out of here." John says. "Good idea." Sam points out. We eventually find a back door to get out of. We step outside. "Ok what now?" I ask. "I have an idea!" Sienna says. "Follow me." We follow her to another hotel. My moms friend works here abd we could stay the night. We open the door to the hotel and step inside. "Sienna!" We hear a vpice. "Jessi! Hey can we stay here for a night?" "Shureeee!" Jessi says. "Thanks." We go upstairs to a room. We all get situated. There are two king beds and two couches. "Grover and i will sleep on the couches." Percy says. "Alright," Sam says. We all got ready for bed. John and Sam went to one bed. Sienna and i were left with the other. We got under te covers and started whispering. "Hey Sienna." I say to my new girlfriend. "Yes Jake." She responds. "I'm really glad you like me." I tell her. "Im glad you asked me out." Her sweet voice says. We meet in a kiss. I wrap my are around her. "I love you." I tell her. "I love you too." Se whispers back. We grab the tv remote ad turn it on silently. We watch for a little while until i realize she fell asleep. Then i start to drift off, with her in my arms, and thinking that i have a good life. Because of my new girlfriend, Sienna.---hey guys i will post really soon after this thanks for reading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! •JW :)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Sam to Sophie

    Done but can u hurry with the next part? - :) Sam

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Sophi

    Yes thanks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    SDA

    Great part! Please try to hurry on the next one!--- SDA ;-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An Addicting Magical Adventure!

    In my opinion, this was the best book of the series so far. I ate the whole thing up in a week (which is the speed of light, reading wise for me). Although I recommend that as you read this copy of the book, try to find the illustrations somehow (although coming up with your images as well is fun). I believe they are on Clive Barker's website. (***Possible Spoilers***) The Good: -The Pacing—all the events happen with just the perfect amount of detail, dialogue, and action making the book a delightful breeze to read. There isn't ever a time when the book drags. -Characters—If you read the first book, which is sort of mandatory to understand some detail in the book, such as Candy, Malingo, Christopher Carrion, Kasper Wolfswinkel, The Mischief Brother's, and all the other great character's, are brought to life on the page and their stories carry on so to me they were sort of like long lost friends. -Plot—the plot flows flawlessly and most questions are answered, but others aren't which will in upcoming books. -Writing Style The Bad: The only bad parts of this book is sometimes during some scenes like when Candy is fighting The Criss-Cross Man with the monkey Filth or when she is fighting the dragon like-creatures (I forgot their true names) on the boat can get rather confusing. Beside that I couldn't find any other bad things. I HIGHLY recommend you BUY THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great sequel!

    The journey into the fantastic world that Abarat is continues! This book was an excellent continuation. I highly suggest that you buy and read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Great book

    I have read many books by Clive Barker and picked this series up thinking it was his usual "Adult" novel. While it is geared toward teens and young adults, it is just as good as his hard core stuff. Definately worth the money and I will be getting Book 3 shortly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    LOVE IT

    The Abarat series is one of my favorites, made many friends read them and not one was let down. I also recommended them to some of my students who also fell in love. Its all about the paintings!! they are really amazing. cant wait to read the next 3 books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Beautiful

    It really is a beautiful book. All of Clive Barkers paintings that are about the story are in it as well as his poetry. The characters you will just love to love and love to hate. Barker created a very stunning world and it really is hard to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    AWSOME!!! book to read!!!

    Clive Barker has written many great books but by my opion, this series is the bets work hes done! I absolutely love how he made Candy's personality so independant and strong minded and fierce! Gorgossium's residents dont stand a chance!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Abarat spins a beautiful tale

    I absolutely loved this book! I fell in love with the characters and the world of abarat. They are described so well that they seem to really exist. While reading, I found myself wishing I was Candy and experiencing all the amazing adventures and people she encounters. I was never a true fan of Clive Barker's work because it didn't call to me in the past, so I was surprised to come across this series. Barker's writting style is there, but as far as content goes this is a whole new genre and he masters this genre as he did horror. I would recommend this series to anyone age 11 to adult, appropriate for young adults as far as content but definitely enjoyable for adults! You won't regret this wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    This book will keep you at the edge of you chair! it's just one of those books you cant put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    extravaganza!

    the wonderful arabat books are amazing! i was pleasantly surprised to see that the very dark (to say the least) clive barker wrote these incredible books that children can read! nothing dirty in them, just pure unadulterated fantasy & i recommend it for young & old! plus, the editions w/barker's paintings going along w/the story are just fantastic--he is a great artist & depicts his characters so that one can stretch his/her imaginination even more than just reading a description of the characters. and the characters are so diverse, it's unbelievably charming. one blurb i read about the books stated that they were like a cross between the wizard of oz and the chronicles or narnia. i would agree w/this but arabat is packed w/even more fantasy than both those awesome books combined! i have read almost all of barker's books & i know of no other author in my lifetime that has achieved the originality he displays in his writings. no two books are alike & i can't see that anyone could stamp barker as formulaic! i wish every voracious reader would check these books out. i think it's going to be a quartet, too, so that means two more editions of this spectacular adventure series. also, you will adore the heroine, candy...she is a very interesting character. enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was truly fantastic. Clive Barker thins the veil between good and evil, allowing speculation and doubt on the integrity of every character. His attention to detail created an unforgetable picture of a world seemingly so different but oddly the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    Clive Barker's Abarat.

    Incredible. Absolutely amazing, one of his best works, appealling to younger readers but still has some of his earlier works quirkyness. I've read some of his earlier books, and even in those you can see how he takes a little from each story and puts them together sometimes in a completely different way to what you were expecting. I've found that all of his books finds you asking yourself, 'How come I didn't think of that? It's such an easy image to concoct, so why didn't I see it first...?' Clive Barker has a way of seeing through our modern lives, pulling a in front of (or away from) his eyes and writing what we all WANT to see, but have just outgrown the ability to see it. Praise to Clive Barker! X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Ridiculously Good

    Wow. I won't go into detail about the plot for you have all the previous stuff to find it in but I will concur with a reviewer who came before me: this stuff is one of the most underated fantasy books in print and it should certainly garner more attention. Candy, the Islands of the Hours and the mystery shrouding the Twenty-Fifth Hour...the drama and horror and intrigue is all in this BOOK. I ate it up and now I own both and am waiting for the third. It is too good. Really, really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5