Customer Reviews for

Abbey Road [Remastered]

Average Rating 5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last being one of the Best

    After the chaos and hurt feelings leftover from the Let It Be sessions it was doubtful that The Beatles would ever record together again but George Martin got the guys to agree to let him record them like they did in the 'old days' and the result is this surprisingly united and terrific swansong to their career (Let It Be came out after Abby Road, but Abby Road was recorded last). A surprisingly modern sounding album.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Of The Best, Too bad it was also the end

    Abbey Road is te best selling Beatles Album of all time. In my oppinion it is also their best album.<BR/><BR/>George Harrisons "Something" has become a standard and his "Here Comes the Sun" another classic.<BR/> <BR/>The continuous tracks of "Abbey Road" are the real Gem of this album starting with "You Never Give Me Your Money" and Ending with "The End"<BR/>My favorite lyrics from a song are included in this Album "And In The End,<BR/>The Love You Take Is Equal To The Love You Make"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Album of the Century

    We shall never again experience four artists with this much talent together on one record... a masterpiece to say the least!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A CLASSIC

    MY FAVORITE BEATLES ALBUM., GREAT BUY !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Album

    This is definitely my favorite Beatles album. "Here Comes The Sun" is my favorite song by them. Just an all around good album, and one of the best by the Beatles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I am going to go to a place I haven't heard from anyone else, having to do with Abbey Road. First off though I know this was truly their last album together, never mind that LET iT bE came out last. What I would like to add to their legacy is this: Many will remember that on the White Album, Charles Manson said he heard the Beatles were talking to him, telling him to set about a race war with the Blacks. He heard these messages in "Piggies" "Helter Skelter" and bits of others. Well...I hear the Beatles actually taunt the idiot Manson on Abbey Road. At the LaBianca murders not only did Manson's followers write "Helter Skelter", they also wrote "1,2,3,4,5,6,7, all good children go to heaven." On the fade out to "You Never Give Me Your Money" Paul sings the very same thing. On another McCartney song "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" the character Maxwell is a serial killer much like Manson, with the line "Rose and Valerie screaming from the gallery he must go free, he must go free". That sounds like his followers at the trial. The Beatles were wagging their collective fingers at the nut job who tried to tell the jury the Beatles had told him to kill people. As he was going to prison they got theirs on back at him. I don't think anyone ever mentioned any of this. Rather than telling you what the last 47 reviewers have said, I wanted to share something different...oh and this is one of the greatest rock albums of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Although the boys are not bowing on the sleeve, (they are in fact walking) they might as well be. This is the end of a great era. Music that changed the world. Come Together, Carry that Weight and George's Something. Dig Paul's bass line on that tune. Wow! George Martin is steering the ship too. Nice strings their, mate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Beatles Rock!!!

    The Beatles r 1 of my favorite bands. I simply love Them! I can't wait to get a new album from u guy's!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John Lennon Called It "Slick"

    Recommending the Beatles is like recommending Shakespeare. Everybody's heard of them and knows they are the measure of all that is rock and roll. This album is great, as most people reading this will agree. I think of it as an anticipation of the music of the seventies. The Beatles were about to disband, but the lengthy guitar riffs, the repeated musical phrases (common to several songs on this album) are signature qualities of seventies concept albums. It's ahead of its time, it's timeless and it's the Beatles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the best.

    In my opinion this is absolutely the best album ever recorded. I remember when this album came out. When I listened to it the first time, I was awestruck and still feel the same way today. I cannot tell you how many copies of this album/disk I have worn out. God, they were good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    and in the end....

    This has to be the most sober album in the Beatles catalogue. Abbey Road turned out to be their swan song. And what a song it was.... Eventhough the group was finishedm they still gave it their all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fab Four Finale

    Maybe you've heared of this one. It's an immaculate Beatles record go figure. :) I've been to Abbey Road, but that's beside the point. It's very short but the camera angle on the cover is low to the ground and therefore provides an interesting illusion..... But anyway, I have come to the conclusion after listening for about five years that this is the best Beatles album in my book. It's a mature and brilliantly executed album statement with perhaps the most lush and tasteful production of the band's career. Harrison comes into his own as a songwriter and Ringo even gets an admirable drum solo. Lennon and McCartney contribute a few numbers as well, as usual. It simply has the feel of being the climax of The Beatles as a worldwide pop culture phenomenon. The End, for instance. Or Her Majesty, the tongue-in-cheek hidden track that has since been spoiled by it's listing on CD versions.....oh well. So yeah, not the obsessive Beatlemaniac I once was, but that does not mean I don't enjoy returning to the music occasionally. You have to take breaks from this band if you are a music junkie. Most of them already have albums like Abbey Road encoded into their brain anyway. Hahaha. But yeah, anyone can get this album, I don't care who you are. Perhaps the most accesible and rewarding album from the band rock grew up with. What's not to get?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Abbey Road

    The Beatles are at their peak performance. Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a way to say goodbye!

    This may or may not be the Beatles best album, depending on your tastes and perspective, but it definitely is both my personal favorite Beatles album and my favorite album of all time. Abbey Road is a beautiful piece of music, all the more remarkable given that it was the last album they recorded together. From beginning to end this record provides a fitting epitaph to their career. Let it Be, their last album to be released, was such a heavy hearted project that it is good that they decided to do it again one more time. Abbey Road evokes the magic and comraderie of the early days while still continuing the band's musical evolution. Everyone is in fine form on this record. "Come Together" is arguably John Lennon's finest composition during his time in the Beatles next to "A Day in the Life." "Oh, Darling" recalls the young Paul McCartney while "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" shows that his sense of humor was still intact despite the circumstances of the time. George Harrison delivers two of his best and most beautiful compositions, "Something" & "Here Comes the Sun." Ringo's "Octopus's Garden" is his first composition that can stand next to anything by the other three, especially Lennon & McCartney. Its the final seven tracks though that prove to be the biggest surprise that this album has to offer: a series of unfinished demos beginning with Lennon's "Sun King" and ending with McCartney's "The End" that serve to comprise a modern rock symphony. "The End" in particular proves to be an excellent coda to the band's career summing up their personal philosophy rather nicely: "And in the End, the love you take is equal to the love you make." With Abbey Road the Beatles come full circle and prove all the more why they are The Best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best album of all time!

    Is there a song on Abbey Road that isn't worth listening to over and over again? The answer is no!This Album is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect Beatles album

    Talk about going out in style, Abbey Road is as perfect a pop / rock n roll album you could ever want. Even knowing well that the Beatles had become a fractured group stressing individual personality and taste ('the White Album' being the perfect example of what happens when a band goes their separate ways together), 'Abbey Road' has all four Beatles shine on all tracks - George's "Something", arguably his best song, has quite possibly the most beautiful guitar solo ever, with one of Paul's best bass lines happening at the same time. John's "Come Together" will forever be one of the most grooviest tunes with the most baffling lyrics this side of "I Am the Walrus" , and "I Want You (She's So Heavy)" just taking the top off your head... Paul's "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" and "Oh! Darling" being great entries in the McCartney songbook of novelty (the former) and Little Richard-inspired soul belting (the latter) ... and Ringo comes up with his first really good tune "Octopus's Garden" (and with Harrison's excellent solo, rescuing it from being a total novelty song)...this is all before you get to (what was on LP) side 2 ... considering how much of the long medley is comprised of White Album and Get Back session castoffs, that in their original forms didn't seem like much, on Abbey Road, they take flight to new musical heights. No other group has ended their career with such a positive and engaging album, especially how it finishes, and just sounds like the soundtrack to the end of something, with such resolve and closure. Besides, the message of "and in the end/the love you take/is equal to the love you make" was far easier to take than John Lennon's "I don't believe in Beatles ... the dream is over" from Plastic Ono Band (which was too honest for most people to handle, however serious Lennon meant it at the time). If you're fan who only has best of's like the '1' album, make Abbey Road your next Beatles acquisition, then Revolver! (I'd give the album over five stars if B&N would allow for that)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Beatles Album

    Perfection. Every Song is perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rock's best!

    This album has to be the Beatles crowning achievement. For once, George gets his dues with "Here Comes the Sun" (his best song). I love how the last 6 tracks or so are all pieced together like one song. The Beatles are the best band ever! No one will ever come along and top this album or any others! Excellent addition for any music fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best at their best

    This is the best pop/rock album by anyone at anytime. The Beatles were the best at what they did and this is a crown jewel in their impressive resume. Along with Sgt. Pepper's, Rubber Soul, and Revolver, you can't go wrong picking this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Abbey Road

    Favorite tracks: "Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End" "Something" "Here Comes The Sun" Least favorite: "Her Majesty"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4