Customer Reviews for

Abby the Witch

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Avidfantasyreader

What a wonderful book. Abby, Penbrake, and Charlie the cat are wonderful characters for this very pleasing fantasy. Abby th witch of Bridgestone, along with a reluctant Pembrake, and her trustworthy car Charlie, are thrust back in time 28 years to prevent the assisinati...
What a wonderful book. Abby, Penbrake, and Charlie the cat are wonderful characters for this very pleasing fantasy. Abby th witch of Bridgestone, along with a reluctant Pembrake, and her trustworthy car Charlie, are thrust back in time 28 years to prevent the assisination of a prince that leads to the Witches Ban. They stumble their way through the past, to change an apocolyptic future. Suprise ending. A must read

posted by 9522273 on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Aimless

Sixty pages in. I understand driving a point home. But if an author really needs almost ten pages just to tell me that a storm is coming they are simply over reaching and trying too hard.

Another problem is that there is way too much rambling and aimless self reflecti...
Sixty pages in. I understand driving a point home. But if an author really needs almost ten pages just to tell me that a storm is coming they are simply over reaching and trying too hard.

Another problem is that there is way too much rambling and aimless self reflective thought with the main character. It does not even make much sense or have a point. I suspect that at some point it might lead somewhere but I am not interested enough to find out.

I am not too into the talking cat either. Too Sabrina the Teenage Witch for me. Plus the cat emphasizes the main character's directionless thought meandering by having to startle her out of her reverie at least two or three times in as many pages.

I thought about making myself finish this. But sixty pages in, it has already been stated that the main character dislikes heroes, adventure, excitement, love, etc. In other words she is boring and not very likable. This book is over 600 pages long. I will move on to other things.

posted by 6028603 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Avidfantasyreader

    What a wonderful book. Abby, Penbrake, and Charlie the cat are wonderful characters for this very pleasing fantasy. Abby th witch of Bridgestone, along with a reluctant Pembrake, and her trustworthy car Charlie, are thrust back in time 28 years to prevent the assisination of a prince that leads to the Witches Ban. They stumble their way through the past, to change an apocolyptic future. Suprise ending. A must read

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Great story....

    Really amazing witch book but I really disliked the ending, I left me hanging. I want a sequal....

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    loved it. just a light, cozy book - perfect for a rainy afterno

    loved it. just a light, cozy book - perfect for a rainy afternoon.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Enjoyable story

    Enjoy this 600+ page book. Story is well written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Fun read!

    Love Abby! Want more of her story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Very good read

    I enjoyed the book immencly. I look forward to reading more like it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Awesome read

    Awesome read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Witches

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. 600+ pages of well written story. Characters were believable. Flowed well! ENJOY!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Very good

    Very nice story line. Has you laughing and crying and even screaming along with the frustrations of the characters! Would highly recomend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Enjoyable cliff hanger

    Enjoyed the storyline alot..left me with intense feelings of..anything is possiable..thank you so very much for that..cliff hanger for another in this series..wanting more..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    I do not give an exceptional rating very often, but I loved this

    I do not give an exceptional rating very often, but I loved this story. I was rooting for Abby every step of the way. Loved her cat too and all the characters. Wish they would make a movie of this. Wish Odette C. Bell would write a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    cute

    this novel was alittle slow to begin with , but drew you in to care about the characters, great endibg!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Fun

    Very entertaining...nice light read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great start to a series

    Captivating

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Good read

    This was a good story but different from what I usually read. It actually read like a rambling narative, which took some getiting use to. I think it could have been a great deal shorter if it didn't ramble so, but then it probably wouldn't have been as good. Not sure, so I guess it's best left as is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Really good read

    Loved loved loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    :)

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great!!!

    Love these characters! Left wanting more info and adventures. I am sure Charlie can stir up some dust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    okay

    cute

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2