BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Abducted

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Review from a Man's Perspective

This is the second book in the "Pacific Coast Justice" series by Janice Cantore. I had already read the first book, "Accused" and hounded Ms. Cantore to let me read "Abducted" and post a review about it. Since I'm such a great reviewer ( a legend in my own mind), she ...
This is the second book in the "Pacific Coast Justice" series by Janice Cantore. I had already read the first book, "Accused" and hounded Ms. Cantore to let me read "Abducted" and post a review about it. Since I'm such a great reviewer ( a legend in my own mind), she graciously accepted my request.

Carly is back and still getting the feel for her new christian body that she put on in the last book. Her relationship with Nick is improving, but there is still some friction between them. Carly is out patroling with her partner when they get a call to head to the hospital. They find out that her partner's wife and 4-month old baby have been taken to the hospital and his wife is unconscious. While they are tending to his wife, his son is taken upstairs for precaution. Overnight, the unthinkable happens. His son is kidnapped right out of the hospital. Thus begins a never ending search to find her partner's son, all the while tending to her relationship with Nick. Along the way, Carly stumbles upon an FBI surveillance on a person of interest in the baby kidnapping case. Nick begins pushing her away and reporter Alex is beginning to lend a supportive ear to her friendship. Her roommate is suspended for her role in the kidnapping, and now she's moving out on Carly. Do they find the baby? Will Andrea really move out? What's going on with Nick? What is Alex's angle in this? How in the world does ICE get involved? Where is the God that she has so recently been placing all of her faith in? WHEW! If that's not enough to get you interested in this series, you have some serious problems!

Ms. Cantore does a great job with her character of Carly. For Carly to be such a young Christian, she sure puts her faith in action. I love that Carly has such intimate discussions with God as she attempts to make sense of the things that are happening around her. I also enjoyed seeing how she molded the relationship between Carly and Nick throughout this book. Their relationship was definitely on a roller coaster as he struggled to deal with his injury and what it means for his future. The police procedures are so realistic, I appreciate it when an author does all of the extra research that gives me a little bit of knowledge and learning, all while I'm enjoying a book. The dilemmas that the characters get themselves into are all settled in believable ways. For example, the simple fact that she had the character of Joe shown as struggling between being out there looking for his son and being at the hospital to care for his wife was very believable. She gave him the solution of staying with his wife and trusting that his friends on the force would find his son. That's a great character trait that should be followed!

Is this a "guy's book"? There's no question about it. This book has police chases, arson, car wrecks, FBI, human trafficking, etc. If you would ever want adventure and intrigue, this book and series is definitely for you!

posted by libraryboy on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Christian mystery

I enjoyed the plot and was reading rapidly until I realized all the religious content. There should be something which advises that this has a Christian storyline. If I wanted to read religion, I would read the Bible. I thought the mystery was good, but was upset that ...
I enjoyed the plot and was reading rapidly until I realized all the religious content. There should be something which advises that this has a Christian storyline. If I wanted to read religion, I would read the Bible. I thought the mystery was good, but was upset that I had to read all the unnecessary devotional stuff. If you like Christian content, this book is for you. I would have preferred a warning! I like to know beforehand what I am getting!

posted by 14063116 on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from a Man's Perspective

    This is the second book in the "Pacific Coast Justice" series by Janice Cantore. I had already read the first book, "Accused" and hounded Ms. Cantore to let me read "Abducted" and post a review about it. Since I'm such a great reviewer ( a legend in my own mind), she graciously accepted my request.

    Carly is back and still getting the feel for her new christian body that she put on in the last book. Her relationship with Nick is improving, but there is still some friction between them. Carly is out patroling with her partner when they get a call to head to the hospital. They find out that her partner's wife and 4-month old baby have been taken to the hospital and his wife is unconscious. While they are tending to his wife, his son is taken upstairs for precaution. Overnight, the unthinkable happens. His son is kidnapped right out of the hospital. Thus begins a never ending search to find her partner's son, all the while tending to her relationship with Nick. Along the way, Carly stumbles upon an FBI surveillance on a person of interest in the baby kidnapping case. Nick begins pushing her away and reporter Alex is beginning to lend a supportive ear to her friendship. Her roommate is suspended for her role in the kidnapping, and now she's moving out on Carly. Do they find the baby? Will Andrea really move out? What's going on with Nick? What is Alex's angle in this? How in the world does ICE get involved? Where is the God that she has so recently been placing all of her faith in? WHEW! If that's not enough to get you interested in this series, you have some serious problems!

    Ms. Cantore does a great job with her character of Carly. For Carly to be such a young Christian, she sure puts her faith in action. I love that Carly has such intimate discussions with God as she attempts to make sense of the things that are happening around her. I also enjoyed seeing how she molded the relationship between Carly and Nick throughout this book. Their relationship was definitely on a roller coaster as he struggled to deal with his injury and what it means for his future. The police procedures are so realistic, I appreciate it when an author does all of the extra research that gives me a little bit of knowledge and learning, all while I'm enjoying a book. The dilemmas that the characters get themselves into are all settled in believable ways. For example, the simple fact that she had the character of Joe shown as struggling between being out there looking for his son and being at the hospital to care for his wife was very believable. She gave him the solution of staying with his wife and trusting that his friends on the force would find his son. That's a great character trait that should be followed!

    Is this a "guy's book"? There's no question about it. This book has police chases, arson, car wrecks, FBI, human trafficking, etc. If you would ever want adventure and intrigue, this book and series is definitely for you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Excellent read

    I was very impressed with the characters in the author's story. It is well written and keeps you interested in reading more. The story is well written also, and being a Christian I like how she was able to bring the gospel message in her story. Even if you are not a Christian I believe you will enjoy this book just from the good story line.
    Mike Swain

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Janice Cantore in her new book, ¿Abducted¿ Book Two in the Pacif

    Janice Cantore in her new book, “Abducted” Book Two in the Pacific Coast
    Justice series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us another
    adventure with Detective Carly Edwards. From the Back Cover: After
    solving the mayor’s murder and exposing corruption among the top brass
    in Las Playas, Carly Edwards is happy to be back on patrol with her
    partner, Joe, putting bad guys behind bars. For once, everything in life
    seems to be going right. But then everything starts going wrong. Slow
    to recover from an injury, her ex-husband, Nick, begins pulling away
    just as they were starting to get close again. Meanwhile, when Joe’s
    wife lands in the hospital with a mysterious illness, their baby is
    kidnapped. As Carly chases down every lead in a desperate search to find
    the baby, her newfound faith is pushed to its limits. Get ready for
    excitement as Carly Edwards runs into the FBI and a kidnapping that’s
    personal. Someone broke into the hospital while Joe’s wife was being
    looked after and kidnapped their son. Ms. Canore is a retired Long
    Beach California police officer of 22 years. She did what she now makes
    Carly do and her experience shines through the pages. “Abducted” is a
    thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. It is also a romance
    as Carley and, her ex, Nick are trying to reconcile their relationship
    and work out their new faith together. Janice Cantore knows how to
    weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I
    enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the next book from Ms.
    Cantore in this series. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received
    this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to
    write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am
    disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16
    CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and
    Testimonials in Advertising.”

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    T love ll

    I hope this book is good i got the sample so hopefully it gets me stared

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great read!

    I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Excellent

    Really well written. Great mix of mystery, good and bad guys , with reality mixed in. Nice reading about police having faith in God. The Christianity was believable abd not over done/rote like. Once started, hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A great book, you will like it.

    Abducted kept me interested in what would happen next. I really liked the Christian inputm
    We do need to trust in God!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    Abducted is another solid read from Janice Cantore. The suspense

    Abducted is another solid read from Janice Cantore. The suspense / mystery elements were strong. I was so curious as to how the various cases were going to pull together in the end. I was just sure they would! I think I liked Carly better in this novel than in the first one ... maybe because I felt like she'd grown quite a bit and her faith really shined through. The romance was a little "light" in this as Nick and Carly are still navigating their rocky relationship, but I thought the relationship itself was interesting. Fans of mystery / suspense / police procedurals will surely enjoy Abudcted! [4.5 stars]

    I was not asked to review this book. I offer my review freely. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    A very good book, easy to read and follow!  Great story line!

    A very good book, easy to read and follow!  Great story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    highly recommend

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Love the book/

    Great read, exciting and well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I have always enjoyed a good mystery book and this story does no

    I have always enjoyed a good mystery book and this story does not disappoint. I have found myself pulling more and more away from the main-stream mysteries because of the gore and sexuality in most of the books. "Abducted" was a wonderful story without all that stuff.

    This story had lots of twists and turns and just when I thought I had it figured out, something new would happen to pull me into the mystery of the story again. I really liked how the author wove the faith of Carly and Nick into the story in a real way. They are new believers who are finding their way. They are not who they were and are still figuring out who they are. It was believable to those of us who remember those days of living our lives in a new way for the Lord.

    I also liked the complexity of Nick and Carly's relationship. Divorced because of his infedelity, they are working toward a reconciliation, however, Nick's injury keeps him pushing Carly away. I kept wondering if I really wanted them to get together at times. I also liked the relationship between Carly and her room-mate, Andrea, who lives a wild life that Carly finds hard to accept. Because of Carly's faith, Andrea starts to turn on her because she thinks all Christian's are hypocrites and judgemental. The author delves deeper into this issue as the book goes on and it was very real.

    The kidnapping of baby A.J. keeps you riveted to the book in hopes that he is found alive and healthy. So many twists and turns in the pursuit of the kidnapper keep you on the edge of your seat. There are also questions about loyalty within the department that are finally answered at the end of the book in a very dramatic way.

    All in all, I really enjoyed this book. If you like mysteries and/or police dramas with a touch of relationship thrown in, you'll love this book. I really enjoyed it and it was one of those books I had a hard time putting down. I highly recommend it.

    *This book was provided to me by Tyndale for my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1