Customer Reviews for

The Abduction (Theodore Boone Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Amazing! Grisham for a New Generation!

This book is awesome. But, you've gotta read Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer first, because that's where it all started. I got this the day it was released, because I pre-ordered it, and I finished it in one sitting! The plot is about Theodore Boone, 13-year old child of mot...
This book is awesome. But, you've gotta read Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer first, because that's where it all started. I got this the day it was released, because I pre-ordered it, and I finished it in one sitting! The plot is about Theodore Boone, 13-year old child of mother and father lawyers, so he would be a legal whiz, and he helps people when they have legal troubles. His best friend, April, is abducted, and he sets off to find the truth and uses his legal knowledge to save his friend. I am a die-hard Grisham fan and I have not been disappointed by a single novel of his that I have read except for one, and this is NOT the one! His two Theodore Boone books that have been released might be a wonderful start in reading his novels.

posted by manoftheworld on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Slow and Predictable,Mr.Grisham,you could have done better

This book did not live up to the original. This one had barely any suspense and had a slow plot. It was so predictable, on the first sentence I figured out who kidnapped April (no joke!).The way the kidnapper abducted April was very dull. There were also descriptions of...
This book did not live up to the original. This one had barely any suspense and had a slow plot. It was so predictable, on the first sentence I figured out who kidnapped April (no joke!).The way the kidnapper abducted April was very dull. There were also descriptions of a corpse which were very graphic,that included very detailed descriptions of decomposition.If I were you,I would stick with the first one.

posted by LukeMadeleineCahill98 on June 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing! Grisham for a New Generation!

    This book is awesome. But, you've gotta read Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer first, because that's where it all started. I got this the day it was released, because I pre-ordered it, and I finished it in one sitting! The plot is about Theodore Boone, 13-year old child of mother and father lawyers, so he would be a legal whiz, and he helps people when they have legal troubles. His best friend, April, is abducted, and he sets off to find the truth and uses his legal knowledge to save his friend. I am a die-hard Grisham fan and I have not been disappointed by a single novel of his that I have read except for one, and this is NOT the one! His two Theodore Boone books that have been released might be a wonderful start in reading his novels.

    29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    That was great. I enjoyed every minute reading this. HOpe there will be more

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book for teens

    This book is intended for teenage readers. It is fast moving and holds your interest. I would highly recommend it. Even though I am way past my teens, I enjoyed it too.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great but I prefer the first one

    I was amazed how John Grisham created a kids book, but this is actually aimed for teens. However, Grisham portrays the main character as a perfect thirteen year old teen who is a straight 'A' student who is a hero, solves crimes, gives legal advice, and wishes to practice law. He is the type of kid who isn't afraid to speak up but is respectful to his peers and to his parents. Grisham starts off with the harsh reality of child neglect, drug abuse,and alcohol problems. When Theo's best friend, April,disappears from her bedroom in the middle of the night, it is up to Theo to solve the mystery and to find her. Grisham does add some scary moments like when the police found a body in the river with a similar clothing Theo gave to April. Overall, this novel is a great sequel to the first book, Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer, but the first one is better

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Awesome

    I love supsense awesome book it was lovely ;);;)

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was totally awesome!!! I actually read the first book,kinda boring at the beginning (like most books I read)but it was overall a great book!!!! Keep writing Theo Boone books Mr.Grisham!!!!!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow and Predictable,Mr.Grisham,you could have done better

    This book did not live up to the original. This one had barely any suspense and had a slow plot. It was so predictable, on the first sentence I figured out who kidnapped April (no joke!).The way the kidnapper abducted April was very dull. There were also descriptions of a corpse which were very graphic,that included very detailed descriptions of decomposition.If I were you,I would stick with the first one.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great read

    This book is awesome good book for wannabee detectives

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Great read!

    Thought provoking and a page turner. I love John Grisham's books and each one is an addicting read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    More boone grisham!

    Read the furst this looks really good. More cases for theo!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    The abduction

    This book was the best i have ever read by far. All his books are insanely good. If you like juvenile fiction, this is the book for you. I recommend it for anyone who likes mysteries.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    *Excellent - Great Read *

    Loved the book. Mr. Grisham is a never-ending well of talent.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Although these books are written with children in mind, I find them as good a read as anything John Grisham writes. I never miss an opportunity to read him!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Love

    I love this book now if your a person who said 2 stares and donw you suck and booooooooo at YOU

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    This book was great! Alot of my friends read it and said they loved it!!!!!!! I hope there will be another book!!!!! Couldn't put it down!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Very good book

    if you read the first one, you have to read this one. couldnt put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    YES GRISHAM

    Great stories (both this and the first) i highly reccomend to ages about 12-14.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Awesome

    The book wass great people who didnt like it are crazy

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Yes, it's wrote with kids in mind!

    That is the purpose of the book, stop giving it negative reviews!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Great aleady.

    I only read the sample and the previous book but I already know this book is great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10