Customer Reviews for

Abduction

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a good read

Robin Cook's books are normally a good read and I enjoy them. Have read about everything that he has written.

This book is as good as it gets. It is a good read for those who like novels with a medical background and mystery and suspense involved.

Cook is able ...
Robin Cook's books are normally a good read and I enjoy them. Have read about everything that he has written.

This book is as good as it gets. It is a good read for those who like novels with a medical background and mystery and suspense involved.

Cook is able to capture our attention very quickly and does not let us go until we have finished.

Enjoyed it.

J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

posted by whoizme88 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beneath Dignity

C'mon now. Journey to the Center of the Earth meets the Time Machine? This is OK reading for your trip to Metaluna, but both the science and the fiction of this booger is low.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    cheers of abuction

    It's a very good book. Not the usually fron Robin Cook. The fresh idea makes it more enjoyable. Not to mention it gives a different veiw about where the lost conteint may be. A must read book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    A Wonderful Change

    I've read every one of Robin Cook's novels and this was one of my favorites. The medical thrillers start to become very predictable, so this was a nice change. It started off very slow. I almost threw it out half way through. Keep reading. It's excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    Excellent!!!

    I thought this book was FANTASTIC! I applaud Robin Cook for trying something different and doing an incredible job of it! I really enjoyed 'Abduction', it was like he decided to dabble into Sci-Fi for this book and it was a refreshing change for me. I am an avid reader of all his other books and I couldn't put this one down! I highly recommend it to anyone who is a Robin Cook fan. In fact, I have passed it on to a few friends who have also enjoyed it! Bravo Robin!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Not what I expected.

    I am an avid Robin Cook fan. I have read Vital Signs and Acceptable Risk, and thoroughly enjoyed them. WIth the review of Cook on the front cover, and the title 'Abduction,' however, I expected a medical thriller associated with abduction. It was not that at all. While it was entertaining, I kept looking for more from the characters and the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    FANTASTIC

    This was the first book by Robin Cook I have read. It starts out a little slow, then all of the sudden I was pulled into the story and could not put it down. I am really looking forward to reading Vector and Toxin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    I Threw It Away

    While I love sharing my books and passing them on to someone else to enjoy, I threw this one away. I believe I've read every book Robin Cook has written and look forward to new ones as I've enjoyed them all. That is, until I read this one, which, of course, I bought expecting a medical thriller. There wasn't much to any of the characters and I thought the story line just didn't make sense. I'll be hoping that Mr. Cook returns to his previous genre that he does so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    Good, But not Good ENOUGH!

    I am a very timely reader of Robin Cook and own ALL of his books in paperback and most of them in hard back, also. Even though this book tends to stray from his normal involvment of medicine, I believe that it still has the same ability to pull a reader into the story. In short, it is really, really, really, really good but I've read some better things by him. It's not what it sounds like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    great book

    very interesting, exciting, great ending as well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Thought-provoking; not suspenseful

    I have only read two other Robin Cook books--of those, Toxin kept me from eating hamburgers for over a year. This one provokes a lot of thinking. The questioning thoughts of Suzanne were left hanging... like the idea of newborns having another essence put into it...what happened to the newborn's own essence? There was an answer, but I believe it was a throwaway. The characters seemed like caricatures at times--the adolescent navy divers...the detached business man...the gung-ho Donald...and the demure Ms Oceanographer. All seem to be stereotypical characters. I wondered a bit about the ending...if the Interterrans had the advance capability to put the men 'back' in time, why couldn't the Interterrans also go forward to see when in time the Second Humans would actually discover it? Perhaps that is the premise for the next novel in a series. It was easy reading, but not as exciting as Toxin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    Fast Read

    This was my first Robin Cook book. I read it in 3 days. The thought of a world that was underneath the earth rather than in the universe, made me really wonder. I did have many questions about Susanne at the end. I beleive the characters were developed enough to feel a sense of empathy for the boys who left Interterra. My next read will be Toxin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    NO...........I HATED IT!

    I was horribly dissapointed in the ending. Too abrupt, There was a whole lot of build-up to get to such a lackluster ending. I still love his other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    difference...

    Wow... I didn't really expect people to be this much against (for lack of a better word) the book. I didn't get a chance to read that much of it, but what little I read was actually pretty OK... It's true that I liked the medical thrillers more, but you can't really blame a person, especially an author, for trying to send out a different perspective on his writing. Keep an open mind, guys... and NO, that is NOT my real name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    You can do better, Mr. Cook.

    There are some interesting portions of the book, but I was not able to develop any feelings for any of the characters. The ending seems forced and the way it is left, makes little sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    Alternative Cook

    I loved it. I'm not a Robin Cook fan as I don't like medical thrillers but this was a great read. Plenty of aciton and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    What a disappointment.

    I can now see why this came out in paperback rather than hard cover. For those of you who liked this book, read 'Brave New World', 'Logan's Run' or 'The Matrix' (screen play) all of these are very similar and much better 'reads'. This book did not seem to have anything new to say. The only difference between 'Abduction' and those listed above is the location. The characters are not well developed either. There is not one character that you care about or wonder what becomes of them in the end. This was truly a waste of my time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    All of you are narrow minded and simple

    This was my first Robin Cook. Guess what? Loved it!! Do you have ANY idea the amount of creativity and imagination it took to create his world of Interterra? I was thrilled to enter this world. He made it come alive. I suspect and HOPE there might be a sequel. Open your minds and give the guy a break. Better yet, try reading something other than a medical thriller. Thank you, Mr. Cook, for a wonderful read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    Wish I'd read these reviews before I bought

    I have every book Robin Cook has written, and anxiously await his next medical thriller. When 'Abduction' was released, I couldn't wait to read it. Unfortunately, there was nothing on the jacket to warn me that this is not a medical thriller....it's just not Robin Cook. Unless he wrote it when he was twelve!! Not one character could I care about .. but I finished it. What a disappointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    Could have been better.....

    Personally I do not agree with any of the other ratings of this book. I personally liked his new style. Maybe because it was all based about things on the ocean. But, the one that thing really needs to be improved upon on this book is the ending. I had so many questions as to what happened to all of the charcters. He also could have developed each of the charcters plots a little better than he did. I have read better Robin Cook books but I have also read worse. Don't stop reading it in the middle it gets better.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    Very poor...

    This wasn't very well written. Characters were thin, plot was uninteresting, interest in story or characters never developed. This was the first Robin Cook I read. Although the author was recommended, I can only assume it was on the strength of other books. This was a loser...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    Not Robin Cook!

    I was disappointed because this was nothing like the Robin Cook books that I know and love. Get rid of this and read some of his medical thrillers! They are the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4