Customer Reviews for

Abduction

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a good read

Robin Cook's books are normally a good read and I enjoy them. Have read about everything that he has written.

This book is as good as it gets. It is a good read for those who like novels with a medical background and mystery and suspense involved.

Cook is able ...
Robin Cook's books are normally a good read and I enjoy them. Have read about everything that he has written.

This book is as good as it gets. It is a good read for those who like novels with a medical background and mystery and suspense involved.

Cook is able to capture our attention very quickly and does not let us go until we have finished.

Enjoyed it.

J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

posted by whoizme88 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beneath Dignity

C'mon now. Journey to the Center of the Earth meets the Time Machine? This is OK reading for your trip to Metaluna, but both the science and the fiction of this booger is low.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I love the world that Robin Cook creates in this book.

    I love the world that Robin Cook creates in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Not his usual style but still a great read

    Although its not his typical medical thriller the story was still very entertaining. Ive read many of his books since but this was the first of his that i read and its still my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Cook at his best!

    Great story, almost believable sci-fi. Likeable characters. After a couple of disappointments this book reminded me of just how good Robin Cook can be. Here's a big welcome back Mr. Cook! Looking forwatd to your next read. Pinky

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Wow! what a ride...

    This is a wonderful book. Being an avid Cook Book collector, I found this book to begin in typical Cook suspense. Unfortunatley, as the story progresses I felt I was reading a underwater version of Logan's Run. The two books are so similar I was very disappointed in the parallels. Still, I found it to be a page-turner in Cook style. I've read it several times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    different but yet delightful

    if you're looking to settle down with the traditional Robin Cook book that you've come to know & love then this is not the book for you! But if you're looking to be mystified and love science fiction this is it! This is in no way the traditional Robin Cook. But it is just as enjoyable. a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    Interesting!!

    Finding out everything and not knowing what is going to happen is great. I really injoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    cheers of abuction

    It's a very good book. Not the usually fron Robin Cook. The fresh idea makes it more enjoyable. Not to mention it gives a different veiw about where the lost conteint may be. A must read book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    A Wonderful Change

    I've read every one of Robin Cook's novels and this was one of my favorites. The medical thrillers start to become very predictable, so this was a nice change. It started off very slow. I almost threw it out half way through. Keep reading. It's excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    Excellent!!!

    I thought this book was FANTASTIC! I applaud Robin Cook for trying something different and doing an incredible job of it! I really enjoyed 'Abduction', it was like he decided to dabble into Sci-Fi for this book and it was a refreshing change for me. I am an avid reader of all his other books and I couldn't put this one down! I highly recommend it to anyone who is a Robin Cook fan. In fact, I have passed it on to a few friends who have also enjoyed it! Bravo Robin!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    Good, But not Good ENOUGH!

    I am a very timely reader of Robin Cook and own ALL of his books in paperback and most of them in hard back, also. Even though this book tends to stray from his normal involvment of medicine, I believe that it still has the same ability to pull a reader into the story. In short, it is really, really, really, really good but I've read some better things by him. It's not what it sounds like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    Fast Read

    This was my first Robin Cook book. I read it in 3 days. The thought of a world that was underneath the earth rather than in the universe, made me really wonder. I did have many questions about Susanne at the end. I beleive the characters were developed enough to feel a sense of empathy for the boys who left Interterra. My next read will be Toxin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    difference...

    Wow... I didn't really expect people to be this much against (for lack of a better word) the book. I didn't get a chance to read that much of it, but what little I read was actually pretty OK... It's true that I liked the medical thrillers more, but you can't really blame a person, especially an author, for trying to send out a different perspective on his writing. Keep an open mind, guys... and NO, that is NOT my real name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    Alternative Cook

    I loved it. I'm not a Robin Cook fan as I don't like medical thrillers but this was a great read. Plenty of aciton and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1