BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Abduction

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a good read

Robin Cook's books are normally a good read and I enjoy them. Have read about everything that he has written.

This book is as good as it gets. It is a good read for those who like novels with a medical background and mystery and suspense involved.

Cook is able ...
Robin Cook's books are normally a good read and I enjoy them. Have read about everything that he has written.

This book is as good as it gets. It is a good read for those who like novels with a medical background and mystery and suspense involved.

Cook is able to capture our attention very quickly and does not let us go until we have finished.

Enjoyed it.

J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

posted by whoizme88 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beneath Dignity

C'mon now. Journey to the Center of the Earth meets the Time Machine? This is OK reading for your trip to Metaluna, but both the science and the fiction of this booger is low.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    a good read

    Robin Cook's books are normally a good read and I enjoy them. Have read about everything that he has written.

    This book is as good as it gets. It is a good read for those who like novels with a medical background and mystery and suspense involved.

    Cook is able to capture our attention very quickly and does not let us go until we have finished.

    Enjoyed it.

    J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Great book!!!

    Fell in love with this book!!! Fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the best books I've read in a quite a while. Wh

    This was one of the best books I've read in a quite a while. When I started it I thought it didn't sound like anything I would like but before long I was hooked. Absolutely an edge of your seat book. I couldn't put it down and when I was done I was disappointed that there was no more. Highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Good read

    I really enjoyed this book. Felt like a real adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    avid reader..........................(not!!!!!!!!!!!!)

    This was the book that turned me away from goosebumbs and animorphs, and all those other childish reads, towards a more mature book, evn if a bit above my reading level at the time. After reading other stories by this author, I've realized that this story is much diiferent from his other works, but nonetheless a gripping, suspensful, and exiting tale. That being said, different isnt always bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Different for Cook but still Wonderful!!

    Quite different than what I expected from Cook but wonderful none the less. It was a nice change in the usual medical thrillers that we've all come to expect. It surprised me when I expect a particular type of read from Cook and I get something totally different. It was very good and I think he did a great job with it. Go Cook!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    Awsome!!!!!~!!!!!!!!!!

    This was my 10th Robin Cook book and so far my favorite i read it in 3 days i could not put it down its so suspenseful. Words cannot discribe how truly awsome this book is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    Excellent Change of Stlye from Dr. Cook

    Abduction is a surprising twist in story line compared to his usual medical thrillers. This sci-fi thriller starts slow but builds to a very interesting, suspenseful, even disturbing middle, which grows to the climax that will shock you. Abduction closes with little falling action to come to a cliffhanger ending. Robin Cook finally expands his horizons with this new daring novel. Incase you¿re wondering, this is not about aliens, but something along those lines. Abduction is for those who are ready to try something different by Dr Robin Cook. I must warn the reader to expect something totally new and completely different, this is a big jump for Dr. Cook. Judging by others reviews, readers were upset at the change of style for they were expecting the medical thrills and something realistic, not sci-fi. Despite some childlike dialogue that certain charters say towards the end, I enjoyed this novel and recommend it to those who are willing to take the changed style in Abduction in open arms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    A GREAT BOOK!!!

    I love this book! I had never read a Robin Cook book before this, but now I'm hooked! I never actually would read but now I just want to read every Robin Cook book I can!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    FANTASTIC

    This was the first book by Robin Cook I have read. It starts out a little slow, then all of the sudden I was pulled into the story and could not put it down. I am really looking forward to reading Vector and Toxin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    great book

    very interesting, exciting, great ending as well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    All of you are narrow minded and simple

    This was my first Robin Cook. Guess what? Loved it!! Do you have ANY idea the amount of creativity and imagination it took to create his world of Interterra? I was thrilled to enter this world. He made it come alive. I suspect and HOPE there might be a sequel. Open your minds and give the guy a break. Better yet, try reading something other than a medical thriller. Thank you, Mr. Cook, for a wonderful read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1